Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BMG The American Heritage Series on DVD

BMG The American Heritage Series on DVD

Experience the true untold story of our nation's godly heritage! From the separation of church and state to the civil rights movement, from the courage of our Founding Fathers to the building of our nation's monuments, historian David Barton explores the spiritual, educational, judicial, and cultural influences that molded America's Judeo-Christian values. Twenty-six 30-minute episodes on 10 DVDs. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
30 out of 3683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Review 1 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Things have sure changed...

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dana Vanscoy
Location:Murrieta, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't viewed the entire set yet but what I've seen, really makes me steam. I can't believe that history texts have been allowed to rewrite what we and our children learn about American history in school. But it really won't matter how much Christians protest, the people in charge, who really want to change the face of America into a purely secular nation, will say that the words spoken aren't really what the speaker meant, etc. etc. It's just good to know these things for your own satisfaction - the truth.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Information and interesting subject- BUT!!

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
wendst3
Location:Springdale, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the information and subject was very interesting, each disk so far contains about 20 to 30 minutes of actual info, and the other 1 hour plus is info commercials and plugs for other products available.
I was very disappointed in the DVD's.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too much repetition

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Location:Piedmont, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed in this series! I had waited a long time to purchase it and it was a real let down, As mentioned in other reviews there were constant commercials to purchase this and other items as well as the same intros and quotes over and over and over. Hard to tell when the info actually began. After watching disc 1 and part of disc 2, our bible study group agreeded to look for something else.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too many commercial interruptions in the program

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
PastorTim56
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As I began watching DVD #1 I couldn't tell when I was watching the actual DVD or listening to a commercial urging me to get the series. The actual content was scarce and the constant interruptions urging me to buy the entire series was irritating to say the least. I bought the series because I wanted to learn about America not be bombarded by more commercials. I love 99% of everything I have ever purchased from CBD but, I would NOT recommend this series - I was very disappointed with it even though I appreciate David Barton's knowledge on American History. They need to take out all the commercials and stick with content. Needs to be re-done.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The history we don't always hear.

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD series explains the real history behind our Founding Fathers and the documents they penned for us. Especially in today's culture, I believe we need to be reminded just what our important documents say and how they are being changed to fit our society's values today.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sher
Location:Yakima WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a video set that would be a good resource for all churches to study. Our church has had this taught through a series of classes and it is excellent. It is nice to have the set to watch at home. American's need to watch this to understand our history and how much of a role God played in it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not recommended

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prdeabo
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Be aware - this 10-disk series is from TV programs from a religious network in a studio interview setting with frequent commercials promoting the series. Alternatively, the 7-disk “American Heritage COLLECTION” covers the same material, and features only David Barton, in various historical locations.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelby
Location:Mariaville, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The information in these videos should be important to every Christian family. The Christian values of the founders of our nation are not only valuable to Americans but every Christian who desires to live a godly life.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
beardfamily5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great American History Series. You can use this for one full year of curriculum or break it up into several years by really digging into to information with the use of other resources.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should have this information!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Louise Garner
Location:St. James, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Everyone should have this information about our country and the Christian Influence of the founding fathers.
Thsi documentary is so well done and so very interesting and of course informative.
In fact we just ordered three more to give to family.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every family in America should have a copy

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
fritz
Location:Torrance , Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of Washington DC Politicians and President should View and Live out our Real Foundation this country was founded on!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rufus
Location:Stow OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this point we've only seen part of the first CD but we are already hooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was very captivating and resourceful

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:orlando, florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never heard history explained this way. I think that everyone needs to know the truth and it will provide them answers they probably have asked and just never knew where to turn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eye opening

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Canaan, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe that every school in the nation should be showing this to their students. To see how much our history has been changed in order to lead us in a direction of some elses choice is really scary. It was also really surprising to me that it has been happening for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent history source

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this dvd set. My daughter is in 7th grade and it provides excellent historical information on the founding of this country however I would recommend removing all the commercials within the program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Ruprecht
Location:Saint Cloud, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing this series a few months ago, I reordered three extra sets for gifts as this is truly a series that every person living in America should see. Really was informative. Shared it at our church with about 10 members in the class and everyone wants to get the series. I;ve encouraged people to tell others about the series and keep sharing what they have learned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY REVEALING

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
JOAN
Location:SHAVERTOWN, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
INTERESTING TO KNOW WHAT I DIDN'T KNOW!
I VIEWED THIS WITH A GROUP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The content is an absolute must for every American

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Irving
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a college educated lawyer of 58 years of age. The wonderful information regarding American history; our founding fathers; and their lives, thoughts, and deeds as contained in this series was all new to me. As a younger adult, I had wondered why I did not know anything about the beginnings of our country. Well, it was not taught in our school system in the 50's and 60's and 70's. I did not learn any of the information in law school either. I suggest all Christians and all Americans and all parents see these dvds and share them with all the persons with whom they have influence. We need truth to live well in this country in these days and times. We need to care enough to look at original documents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good series should be seen in every church

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
concerned
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The American Heritage Series by Dr. David Barton should be shown in every church and school in America. It is a great series by a very articulate historian who doesn't mince words.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The American Heritage Series on DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
anna
Location:california
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I believe this series could have been done with less dvd's. The introduction or what appears to be the introduction is misleading due to it occurred before every open discussion, and there was no way to skip that portion. The teaching segments of the series was very informative. I cannot recommend this series until it is fine tuned.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.