Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concordia Publishing House ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover

Concordia Publishing House ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover

Engage in devotional, Christ-centered Bible reading and study with the distinctive, comprehensive notes and practical application of The Lutheran Study Bible.

This new Bible is the first in English to be developed from the ground-up with notes that are distinctively Lutheran, prepared by Lutheran theologians and pastors from over twenty Lutheran church bodies. Current Lutheran scholarship, insights from the Church Fathers, and rich devotional commentary provides meaningful perspective for both young and mature Christians.

The Lutheran Study Bible features:

  • 26,500-plus uniquely Lutheran study notes.
  • Over 2,000 application notes and prayers for every part of the Bible.
  • 80,000 center column cross-references.
  • Over 900 cross-references to 120 full or half-page maps, charts, and diagrams.
  • 220-plus articles and introductions to biblical books and topics.
  • Insights from early church, medieval and Reformation era church fathers.
  • Uses the English Standard Version translation, one of the most precise English translations available.
  • Durable Smyth-sewn binding.

The Lutheran Study Bible uses paper certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), a decision that promotes our ongoing commitment to care for God’s creation.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True to Lutheran theological tradition.

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
kmjc
Location:Vilseck, Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the commentary which is so rich with Luther's insights. I am really enjoying reading from a perspective of so long ago. Wonderful insight on how a family is to respond to the Word together in harmony with each other.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding Lutheran doctrine

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
deweydon
Location:Prescott, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint is the size of the print, even compared
to my regular ESV study bible.
Where else can you get the meaning of what Luther tried
to convey, when linked to the Bible as read as the Word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
R.C.
This is the best Study Bible I've ever owned. I have the original Concordia SSB, ESVSB, NASBSB, NRSV Life Application...but this is the one for Lutherans, no matter if you're LCMS (as I am), or of another Lutheran body, or want to learn about Lutheranism. The scholarship is exceptional, and the ESV translation is reliable. Well worth the purchase.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Buckmaster
We bought this Bible as a gift and he loved it.It was for a retreat leader and the team was able to sign and share their favorite verses. He is a diehard Lutheran and was very pleased to receive this Bible. It was the perfect price and the personalization was wonderful.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
I recently purchased the TLSB Larger Print directly from Concordia. It was serveral months out for its publication when I first became interested, I regularly visited Concordias web-site and viewed the PDF file of the Bible. When it was released in Decembeer I had my order placed. Receieved promptly and it has not been closed since. The print is 10.75,format is clean and easy on the eye, notes are great & if you enjoy the ESV it is the whole package. Hoping CBD will include it in their inventory soon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steven Crownover
I agree with Roger and Charles in their reviews. However, I am greatly disappointed in the quality of print in both size and boldness. For those of us who need help with our sight this is not a good form to have to try and read. Please consider the large print edition.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger
Amazing. I invested in the ESV Study Bible but was disappointed by its misrepresentation of Lutheran beliefs and teachings, so I invested in this one as a supplement. After spending a couple of weeks of reading The Lutheran Study Bible (TLSB) and comparing it with the ESV Study Bible (I ordered my copy of TLSB directly from CPH), I must admit that it is not what I had expected. In fact, it exceeded my expectations and has since become my primary / preferred Study Bible. In some aspects, it is unlike any of the other Study Bibles that I have in my collection; it has prayers and quotes from the Church Fathers, but notes and articles also respond to many modern questions, challenges, and struggles in our every day lives, in our families, in our society, and in our churches. Most notes and articles often include historical context, theology, and some neat tidbits from archaeology. Common to Lutheran theology, the theme of justification and the Gospel flow throughout, while also retaining the proper distinction between Law and Gospel. While being written and published entirely by Lutherans, it also has quotes and references to non-Lutheran writings and authorities. And did I mention that they actually add SOURCE references to their quotes?! No more "Where is that great quote taken from?" They tell you so readers can check it out!My only lament is that TLSB lacks the quantity and quality of maps and diagrams found in the ESV Study Bible. (I admit it, I've been spoiled by them!) Otherwise, this is a top-notch Study Bible for Lutherans and on-Lutherans alike!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Lutheran Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles
The notes in this Bible are consistent with Paul's true explanation that forgiveness of SinAnd Accounting of Christ righteousness as though it were our own, comes by the works of Christ alone and through Faith alone, andnot in any measure by works.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.