Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Holman Bible Publishers KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather

Four hundred years after the King James Version of the Bible was completed in 1611 by the Church of England, it still ranks among the top two or three best-selling translations of Scripture in the United States each month.

Just in time for 2011, the KJV 400th Anniversary Bible celebrates this passionate rendering of God's Word, presenting it in a highest quality format for those who love the translation's rich heritage and reverent language.

Features
  • UltraClear Print, 13-point type
  • End-of-verse cross references
  • Old Testament Messianic prophecies indicated
  • New Testament Messianic prophecy fulfillments indicated
  • Original KJV preface: "The Translators to the Reader"
  • KJV 400th Anniversary Essays:
    • Introduction To the KJV Anniversary Bible
    • "The Historical Impact of the King James Version of the Bible" by Leland Ryken
    • "Steps to a Classic: The Making of the King James Version of the Bible" by Ed Blum
    • "The Ongoing Power and Place of the King James Version of the Bible" by Jerry Vines
  • Bible study helps
    • "How to Read the Bible Through"
    • Favorite readings from the Bible
    • A harmony of the life of Christ
    • Appearances After the Resurrection
    • Miracles of Jesus
    • Parables of Jesus
    • Giant Print Concordance
    • 8 full-color maps covering each key epoch of Bible history
  • Words of Christ in red text
  • Ribbon marker
  • Two-piece gift box
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Review 1 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Quality

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Mark
Location:Northern Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The leather, paper, and printing of this Bible are top-notch, although my copy suffered a scratch and minor ding on the gold-foil page edging at some point prior to or during shipment. The inclusion of the original preface "The Translators to the Reader" in large print is, in my opinion, the best of the additional front matter that Holman Bible publishers chose to include in this 400th anniversary edition of the KJV. The Large print Bible text is clear and easily read, and seems to conform in spellings and content to the common Oxford KJV printings. Some of the reviews that I read before purchasing this Bible remarked that the red letter portions were more like pink lettering; such is not the case in my copy. As a pastor I have several copies of the KJV I keep in various locations; I have Holman's regular printing of the same KJV text as this 400th anniversary edition and that Bible was less than half the price, albeit the leather on that Bible is much stiffer and took some "break-in-time" before it became flexible enough to lay somewhat flat on a desk or pulpit. So, I think the pricing could have been a little lower on the 400th anniversary edition; nevertheless, it is an excellent Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, high quality, well bound KJV Bible

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:South East Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at this Bible for a couple of years, and was reluctant to buy it because of some of the reviews. I am glad I took a chance, and purchased this Bible, because it is a beautiful, well bound high quality Bible. The leather feels good in your hand. The print is 13 point font, and very easy on the eyes. I like the color of the red used in the red lettering. Mine is not pink as stated by another reviewer. God Bless you in your study of His Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Bible for the Money

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
DougB
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I have realized this year I am picky when it comes to Bibles. There, I said it!
Seriously, I just really appreciate good type, good bindings and features. And the more I am willing to pay, the more I expect. And I use lots of Bibles- a favorite for study, another for the car, one for morning prayer...
This Holman edition is a great compromise. If you have been wanting a KJV with a nice, real leather cover and large print, I would highly recommend this model. It's large but not overly thick or heavy. The leather is soft, like you see on much more expensive Bibles. In my opinion, if you can hold it open with one hand (the way I'm doing in the pic) right out of the box, it's a soft leather. The print is large, very crisp and dark. Also, the red letters are not as "pink" as they appear in the product photos.
Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and wish I had tried this one earlier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Ron
Location:Trafalgar, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Bible is okay. It states that it is a red letter Bible but it is actually a Pink Letter Bible, the pink lettering is quite annoying. I like most things about the Bible as far as features are concerned but the quality of leather is a disappointment.
I have the other KJV 400th Anniversary Bible and have found it to be of far better quality than this one. I am a Pastor and purchased the Bible to preach from because I didn't want a lot of notes in it, didn't want the thumb index and wanted a larger print. I assumed that this Bible was much the same as the other only black instead of brown and without the afore mentioned features. Wrong Assumption.
I feel therefore that the Bible is a little pricey for what you actually receive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Quality Leather!!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the highest quality bible that I have purchased...and I have several. Right out of the box the leather is very soft and flexible...feels like a well broken-in bible, also lays flat when open. The short essay's are brief, but very well written, I really like that it has the Translator's to the Reader as well. The print is large enough to read even without my glasses. It has a concordance, maps, words of Christ in red, end of verse references, yet it's still not too big or bulky to carry. What more could you ask for? I highly recommend this to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quality issues

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
preacherboy
Location:Rodney, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm enjoying this new Bible. The simple format and large print make it great for pulpit use and for daily reading. I have one large complaint that a page in 2 Samuel was folded and crumpled. When I flattened it out I had to retrim the page because it stuck out. A more thourough quality check might have avoided this problem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This handsome bible feels great in my hands.

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carl
Location:Buford, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The leather is not glossy and has a soft feel that slides smoothly in my hands and not a eruethane feel that grips too much. This bible has a masculine look. The gold lettering on the spine is slightly darker than normal, but not a copper color. This makes it stand out, somewhat, when lying next to my other bibles, which also have gold lettered spines. My only disappointment is a small one: the words of our Christ are pinkish. It has interesting study help charts on the life of Jesus and detailed, shaded releif maps.
This is a beautiful bible, easy to read and fun to carry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Douglas M. Anglin
Location:Doniphan,Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was needing a new reading bible and this one completely filled my expectation's, would definitely reccomend it to anyone!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV 400th Anniversary Bible, Black Genuine Cowhide Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, except for the thin paper.

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Ratliff
Location:Hopewell, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a grest Bible in all areas but one. The paper is much to thin, as with other Holman Bibles. The bleed through is more than I would like see on a Bible in this price range
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.