Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition

Barbour Publishing Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition

In a world of speed and noise, Roberts's devotional is a quiet oasis for the weary soul. For more than 30 years, her lyrical, conversational reflections have helped believers hear God speaking encouragement, hope, comfort, and conviction---directly to them. Includes KJV Scriptures. 256 pages, imitation leather from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Review 1 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value!

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:New Carlisle, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've loved this book for years. This new printing is easy to use. I gave them as gifts this Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DANGER!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
HisForever
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Pg 226
"I have called you to come into the secret chambers of solitary communion. They are dark, but the comfort of My Person is there. Out of darkness comes great treasure." LIE FROM THE PIT OF HELL!
Scripture verse for this? NO, BECAUSE THERE ISN'T ONE! I John 1:5 - "This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all." THIS IS THE TRUTH
Pg 250
"a multitude of souls are searchiing for Me and would never come into contact with Me in a personal way through the channels of the organized church."
Really? Jesus established the church. Anyone who subtly, or not so subtly, woos you away from a Jesus-ordained church is an enemy of Jesus.
Pg 236
"This knowing Me in secret is an experience alien to the world. This union with Me is the source of your life, of your strength, of your health and vitality. Nothing can substitute. Prayer is good, but prayer cannot substitute for solitary communion."
Hello! She has found another way to communicate with God other than Biblical prayer called solitary communion? I don't think so. There is no such mention of anything like this in the Bible. She is recommending an experience that is meant to put you in an altered state of consciousness. BEWARE!
Pg 232,233
"I call you through the trees. In the soughing of the pines, it is My voice speaking. I call you in the wind. In the breaking of the waves, it is My voice you hear. In the tumbling waters of the brook, it is I, calling, ever calling."
"Let the voice within you answer the voice without. Be at one with the trees, with the waves, with the flowing brook."
"So the trees would say to you, Speak. Speak to Me, speak of Me - for I am always speaking. And the lake would say to you, Be Still. Be still before Me in the communion, and be still at times even in the company of others, so may enjoy the lesson of the lake in mutual fellowship."
Please - if you want to call this a new age, panenthestic devotional - go ahead. BUT PLEASE DO NOT CALL IT A CHRISTIAN DEVOTIONAL! God does not talk through nature; He doesn't want us thinking in terms of being 'one' with nature. God talks through His Word, the Bible. Read that! That is where you will find the comfort you are looking for - not through some creepy devotional where a woman is talking as if she's God, saying things God has never said.
Charles Spurgeon said, 'Discernment is not simply a matter of telling the difference between what is right and wrong; rather it is the difference between right and almost right." Wake up, church! "He who is spiritual judges all things." I Corinthians 2:15
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DaniC
Location:Washington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great devotional for a closer more intimate relationship with the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This little book is tender and thought-provoking.

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Beaverton, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this book so much that I have purchased several copies to give to friends. I started by reading the Spanish version, "Ven Conmigo, Amada Mio," and then bought the English one just to make sure I was getting every little nuance correctly. I also gave the Spanish version to a bilingual friend who was going through a very difficult time. It was exactly what she needed.
The tenderness of Jesus talking to me in this book is breathtaking. I want to read it over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Book

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teacher
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little book for anyone, who wants to consider God's ways. I got it as a gift and now I pass it on to others. An inexpensive gift but one that is priceless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has so many subjects.

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Victorville, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book 20 years ago as a new Christian and it touched my soul. It is still just as significant as it was then. I give others a copy of this book when they share with me that they have discovered an intimate relationship with the Lord. I know the Lord will speak to them through this book because their heart is open to Him.......and He always does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome book!

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
blueeyedblooms
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given a copy of this book. It has been such a blessing to me that I have purchased copies and given them out. I also have recommended it and others have bought and are enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanne Foss
This book is just awesome, thank you for having it in stock. Its truly an anointed piece of work, and is very easy to pick up and put down in a short time. I gave my daughters one each too, they love it! Thank You!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Stilley
A copy of the updated version of this book was given to me from a lady whom I met while vacationing. It was given as a little reminder of our visiting time there. Anyway liked it very well and so inspiring are the verses used throughout that I ordered several of the original version at a very reasonable cost. The many I have given away well I know of a few who liked them so much they too began ordering this original version to share with family and friends. I just recently have ordered 3 more upon a friend's request for more. Would highly recommend this book by Mrs. Roberts book Come Away My Beloved to anyone who may be looking for a little extra lift through a devotional. One can soon see that Mrs. Roberts must have had quite a relationship with Christ her Lord while journeying through this life. Thankful for her time in writing and sharing it with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jere Bond Pace
Allow me to join in with the rest of the 5 & 4 score reviews. I discovered C.A.M.B. some weeks ago looking for a God's Promises book at Borders. The size of the book with imitation leather attracted me to it and after opening the book and reading a couple of the writings, I was overflowed. I purchased the one book on the shelf and immediately went searching for it online and that's when I found CB who sells Come Away at the best price of other sellers. When searching I discovered an updated version, without the Elizabethen lanquage, with a blue imitation leather cover. I purchased both to compare and my favorite is the original with KJ's language. Also, in the updated book, there is scripture reference which is not in the original at the beginning of the writing. The original burgandy covered book has large print and an index for each section. I suggest buying both versions - for the people who prefer the simple language and for those of us who like the thee and thou.I have given away two books already;one of each and I bought several journals at a manificent price. You will be richly blessed with either and you will have conviction in your soul, tears in your eyes with hope and joy for your future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel Besson
This book is like reading a love letter from Jesus himself. When I read it it's like I can hear Him saying the words to me. If you need to hear a word for the day read this book. You will feel loved!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nelda Cunniff
I wore out my first copy (King James language) and had to adjust a little to the current one. It is still so comforting to me after 20 years and recently I have been able to gift it to special friends and hurting people and get such good feedback. I do miss the page from the original where there were no words, only a dove. That brought me such peace on days when I didn't want to hear any more words for the day. I found it on a day when I justprayed for some peace and quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Woods
I have had a paperback copy of this for years. It is a treasure to me. I ordered this for a friend because she was looking for it. She has given away many copies. It is a real blessing to your spiritual walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Wakeland
I was given this book by a friend 16 years ago. It changed my life. Recently, I was going through my books looking for something to read while my husband had surgery. I choose to reread this book. I was writing notes from it to my sister when I decided just to get her a copy of the book. It is an outstanding book that I read and reread. I recommend it to anyone who wants to grow in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Deer
This is an excellent little devotional. Very encouraging and the old English is very endearing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Bell
So easily read.....and so personal are the messages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hazel Samuels
This book is up lifting it is encouraging there is something for every one who open this little book of power.God bless the writer; he was truly inspired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Come Away, My Beloved--Classic Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
HAH
This is one of my absolute favorite devotional books and this paperback edition was a great way to have copies to share with others. Francis Roberts other books are wonderful also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.