Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2

Barbour Books Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2

Amid the war of 1812, Baltimore farm girl Rose McGuire is rescued by the least likely of heroes--British Naval Lieutenant Alexander Reed. How will she keep this enemy officer hidden from her family and friends? Alex didn't plan on getting shot while rescuing a maiden in distress. Now at her mercy, he wonders if Rose will turn him over to the Americans or if his own troops will find him and charge him with desertion. As their attraction grows, a British invasion of Washington begins. What role will these young lovers play to change the course of history forever?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Review 1 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Historical Novel

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Reader
Location:NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The War of 1812 is a fascinating time period in America’s history. I have read very few, if any, novels set during this time that take place on American soil. MaryLu Tyndall’s, "Surrender the Night", does a lovely job of capturing snapshots of the war from the soldier’s perspective, as well as, that of the civilian’s trials, patience, sacrifices, and some suffering.
A fresh viewpoint in this novel is that the hero, Alexander Reed, is fighting for the British Navy! Speaking of heroes, I fell for Mr. Reed right off. My respect and admiration for him grew as the novel progressed. Alex is a gentleman that is tender, romantic, and gentle, but tough when the situation calls for it. Giving him a personality of this nature sets Alex apart from the heroes of some of MaryLu’s other books. He stands out. I appreciate that, because every man isn’t going to have the exact same personality as the next one.
On the spiritual side I love the way Alexander begins to trust and follow God by learning from the godly example of the heroine’s Uncle Forbes. Alex has never been around someone like him and develops a hunger for God and family. We never know who is watching us and making choices under our influence. Are we being like Jesus to those around us? This really made me think.
Our heroine, Rose McGuire, is just loveable. I thought her affection for the various farm animals was endearing and made her unique from other ladies. Rose is brave when she needs to be, but doesn’t insist on running everything her way. Even though she has faced several hurtful situations, Rose is kind, loving, and has to learn lessons in forgiveness and fighting her fears.
I loved, loved, loved Uncle Forbes. He might even be my favorite character in the whole novel! I would love to read his story in another book some day. Rose’s aunt was okay, but seemed a little clueless and strange at times. We were told how much this couple loved one another, but I didn’t really feel it.
Amelia as a supporting character that I could have gladly done without. I know she was supposed to be a companion for Rose, but she didn’t seem to have any reason to be in the book. Amelia did accompany Rose a couple of times in public, but never did anything and didn’t add to the story. I kept waiting for something to happen to her, good or bad, but nothing ever did. She was just an extra body taking up page space.
The villain was unoriginal and carbon copied from other works. I thought, “Here we go again. Another unpleasant, despicable suitor to whom the heroine is forced/obliged into forming an attachment.” He was simply annoying; a thorn in the side of Rose. I think a suitor that could have been taken seriously would have given more depth and plausibility to this section of the novel. He was almost, but not quite, comedic and I’m not certain if that was the intention of the author.
A beautiful romance grows between Rose and Alex. MaryLu Tyndall does a lovely job of showing us the progression of this romantic, tender, and sometimes heart-breaking relationship.
"Surrender the Night ‘s" climax and conclusion with the war scenes is described so authentically. I felt like I was really there.
Reading "Surrender the Night" leaves me with a feeling of more patriotism and gratitude to all those Americans who fought to give us a free country here in the United States of America. We are so fortunate. God bless America.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful, adventurous read!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Katy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, what a read. This second book in the Surrender to Destiny series was such a great read! Compared to the first book, Surrender the Heart, I might just like Surrender the Night a wee bit better. Not sure why, I just found it impossible to put down! (Always an awesome sign! ;-)
MaryLu has a wonderful talent for crafting her characters and the perilous adventures they go through. While this adventure doesn't take place on the high seas (as is MaryLu's custom), she made up for it by making this a wonderful, romantic, and adventurous landlubber read!
My attention was easily grabbed from the very beginning and, as I said, it was just too hard to put down. I ended up staying up into the wee hours of morning, just to find out "what happens next"...which ended up meaning that I stayed up to finish the book! But even though I felt the hours of sleep I lost the other day, it was worth it!! Another awesome read by MaryLu!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An American Farm Girl & A British 2nd Lieutenant

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very much enjoyed reading MaryLu Tyndall's second book "Surrender the Night" of the "Surrender to Destiny" series! Rose McGuire, an American farm girl, who has lost both of her parents at a young age due to the British heading into war against her country, now alone on her family farm with her uncle and aunt, and now having to deal with a British 2nd Lieutenant who defends her against a brutal lieutenant in the processes of getting injured. Alexander Reed, a British 2nd Lieutenant, who is at war by trying to become a better person where his own family back home will accept him, gets injured by saving Rose from a brutal lieutenant, and as he is healing he tries to keeps his true identity secret.
After reading, "Surrender the Night", I noticed how two people of the opposing countries could really have an effect on the war. Rose is always being so nervous, and very afraid throughout the war that is going on. She does not want to venture outside her farm home area with her aunt to help others in need during the war. She is also having a hard time to trust anyone especially Alex while she treats him of his injury. Alex is trying to make up for his past back in his home country. After he recovers from Rose's treatment of his injury, he is too stubborn and won't go back to where he suppose to go. As time goes on, Rose starts to let go of her fears, and Alex starts to realize what a true family is like and is feeling more at home with Rose's family than his own. See how God works through both Rose and Alex when more trails and dangerous situations arise just as their relationship starts to grow. Just as the first book to this series, "Surrender the Night" is also filled with lots of action, adventure, drama, and a love story that makes you keep on reading to find out more and more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, Romantic, WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best book of the series (at least so far!). I absolutely connected with Rose and I found her to be a very real person. Her character was wonderfully written and I admired her very much. Alex Reed was another amazing character whom I totally loved. I found myself staying up well into the night, unable to stop myself from reading and reading and reading this masterpiece! The author did a great job. All together, this was an AWESOME book and a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best book by MaryLu! She is such an amazing author, and gets better the more she writes. This one is so different than some of her other novels, but they never fail to touch you. I liked the way the two main characters related to each other, and how God can create friendship among the worst of enemies. I have had all my friends read it, and they all love it! Good job MaryLu
I just finished reading this novel again and I must say that I fell in love again. The characters are so real, and so is their pain! Hard for anyone not to relate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of love and war by MaryLu Tyndall!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahjmcb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose is a shy farm girl living outside of Baltimore. Alex is a British naval officer sent onto American soil to gather information and plunder the local homes and farms. When he becomes wounded, Rose hides him and takes care of him. Amidst war, betrayal, and love, Rose and Alex must decide what they believe in and fight for it to the end, even if it really does mean the end... of their budding attraction, of their homes, or even of their lives. This is an amazing and exciting book, very different from any of MaryLu's other books, as it all takes place on land, and a lot of the story happens in one place - Rose's farm. That's not to say that it lacks adventure. Believe me, there is plenty of that! I highly recommend this book and the entire Surrender to Destiny trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance on the high...land?

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Two, Surrender to Destiny Series
Baltimore, Maryland (1814)
With the British militia determined to claim American soil during the War of 1812, Rose McGuire has ample reason to despise the enemy. They killed her father, and thereby were also responsible for the horrors she endured after his death.
Living now with her aunt and uncle on a farm outside Baltimore, Rose is afraid of everything. The events of her life have defined who she is—an insecure girl who rarely leaves her home and is more comfortable with her horses, pigs and chickens than with people.
During a terrifying attack by a British sailor, Rose is rescued by British Naval Lieutenant Alex Reed. When the handsome enemy sailor is shot during the fight to keep her safe, Rose is honor bound to care for him until he can care for himself. Not even her aunt and uncle can know she’s hiding a member of the British militia on their property. If he is discovered, Rose and her entire family will be tried for treason.
Hailing from wealth and pedigree, Alex finds conditions on the farm only tolerable at best. But as he comes to know Rose and her family and friends, he discovers some surprising truths about the things that truly matter in life, and the things that aren’t so important, after all.
Despite Rose’s bitterness against the British and Alex’s contempt for Americans, the two find themselves drawn to one another, though any kind of relationship between them is utterly impossible.
Or is it?
Set amidst historically recorded events, Surrender the Night is a gripping, enthralling romance that keeps the heart pounding, the mind spinning, and all five senses sharply at attention. It deals with serious, difficult issues and handles each of them with ingenuity and aplomb. Number two in the Surrender to Destiny Series, this novel is the first Tyndall book I’ve read that is set entirely on shore, despite the hero being a naval officer. The author’s talents shine every bit as brightly on land as they always have at sea. She shows great insight into the difficult task of forgiving those who have terribly wronged you and brought chaos and destruction to your life…even when they show little or no remorse. It’s about trusting God and knowing He loves His children, even when bad things happen to good people. Absolutely amazing, insightful, un-put-downable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surrender the Night, Love, Forgiveness, Romance

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
everett1951
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
Orphaned when she was a young child, most of her inheritance taken by her caretaker, and a horrible experience on the way to her aunt and uncle’s, life hasn’t been easy for Rose McGuire. She has lived at the farm for 5 years now, and loves farm life, and she makes the farm animals her pets. Being in midst of the war of 1812, it is not always safe being alone on the farm. British soldiers could attack at any time, and this is just what happened to Rose this one day in their family barn. Although Alexander Reed was there and saved her life, he was seriously wounded during the attack, so Rose had no choice except to hid him and nurse him back to health. Rose started feeling an attraction to Alex as she helped him, but then she hated him at the same.
Alexander Reed was a British 2nd Lieutenant and had no idea he would have to defend a young woman from his superior 1st Lieutenant Mr. Garrick, but he had no choice, it was either Garrick or the woman. Now he was here, in the enemy’s barn, the woman having removed a bullet from his leg, facing death if he was found. Yet as the story unfolds, he was later forced to be hired by Roses family as farm help, and he grew attached to the love and family he never had. And Rose was a huge attraction as well, that just kept growing.
Surrender the Night, with the historical setting in the war of 1812 was filled with love, forgiveness, family, war, hate, romance, suspense, and patriotism all blended with a cast of characters that pull you into the story and make you feel as though you are right there with them. This is my first book to read of Mary Tyndall’s; I can’t believe I haven’t found her books before now!! My heart went out to Alex, as he was trying to choose between a family that disowned him because he wasn’t good enough in their sight and Rose, a young woman he loved and adored, with a family that treated him like one of their own. And Rose’s grandfather was a great humble, wise gentleman, full of love, wisdom and knowledge for anyone that needed it. He was just a sweetheart! And I love how the author uses these characters to show that God is with us in each situation we face, even when we cannot feel his presence. And God can and will work each detail of our lives for our good and His glory. Just as Alex and Rose were at the right place at the right time, it is the same with our daily lives.
If you are a history buff and like historical fiction, run out and buy a copy of Surrender the Night by MaryLu Tyndall. You will not be disappointed. It will be well worth your read!
A huge thank you to the author MaryLu for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. I was not expected or required to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Amist The War

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Villageanne
Location:WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was first introduced to this author by a friend. As history buff, I was drawn to this author by the fact that her books are historical fiction. As a Christian, I drawn to this authors because her books have a bit of romance written from a Christian viewpoint. I stayed a loyal reader of this author because I loved her style of writing as well as the intriguing stories she told.
SURRENDER the NIGHT is the second book in the “SURRENDER to DESTINY series. I love the way the author takes the reader into history in a way that history itself does not do. She takes the reader back in time. She introduces them to a new world through the eyes of fictional characters who adds a new dimension to the readers reading experience. The reader sees history not as just an event from the past but an experience with people who love, fight, die and live while history is in the making. This story gave me a new look on the war of between Britain and America. It puts the reader amidst the war with a woman and man who are on the opposite side. The couple find love in a forbidden place and time. I felt the pain, excitement and faith as the characters tackle their emotions, the war and the decisions they must make to find true happiness and faith in the Lord.
Although this book may be considered a romance book as well as historical fiction, it is not your normal harlequin kind of romance. It is real life kind of romance. It is romance with ups and downs and confusion. Real life kinda romance. The kind that is slow coming and slower for the two involved to realize they love each other.
I was drawn into this book from page one til the end. I did not want his story to end. I cheered as the characters overcame dangerous situations. I smiled as the characters found strength they did not know they had. I had tears in my eyes as the female characters were assaulted by the opposite sex in the name of war. I felt the strength and weaknesses of both the British and the Americans in a new light, through unbiased eyes. I loved this book and am anxiously awaiting book three of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surrender the Night...and the day for this book!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For me, there is nothing like a MaryLu Tyndall novel. She does stories and characterization unlike anyone else. Surrender the Night is a wonderfully drawn story about bitterness and forgiveness, set against a historical backdrop of the burning of Washington, D.C. I love a story (and an author) that can weave an enthralling adventure with historical authenticity that both entertains and educates. This story is one you don't want to miss!
Thank you to Barbour for a galley to read in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Racing Read!

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amid the war of 1812 the British invade Baltimore, Maryland, and no one feels safe. No one that is except for Rose McGuire, who feels that the British would never venture so close to Baltimore. Ignoring the warning bells she has heard tolling so many times, Rose leaves her home unescorted to go tend the horses. She is brutally attacked by a British lieutenant, and in the aftermath, must hide and nurse back to health another wounded enemy soldier, in spite of her hatred for him.
Can she keep him alive and hidden without risking her life and the lives of her family? And how can she have feelings for a man she should hate...a man whose fellow countrymen are burning and pillaging her neighbor's homes and brutally attacking the women? What deeply hidden anguish lies within her and does the dashing British 2nd Lieutenant, Alexander Reed, hold the key to unlock the terrible secret that lies hidden in her heart?
As always when I read a novel based on fact, of any revolution that has taken place in our country's history, I am always reminded of the bravery and the tremendous price our forefathers paid for the freedoms we all now enjoy. I was moved to tears with this heart racing, heartrending, passionately romantic novel! Outstandingly researched and beautifully written, in my opinion this is MaryLu's finest book yet!
*As a Southerner I can't resist saying that I can't wait for MaryLu's upcoming series, which will take place in my neighboring historical city of Charleston, S.C.!*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Espan Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing read! MaryLu Tyndall has once again proven her place in the publishing world. This latest work centers around the War of 1812, and asks the question: what would you do if your life was saved by the enemy? You fall in love with both main characters, as you watch them find their own love and faith in the troubled times. The writing is so gripping that you find yourself lost in the words, and are never able to put it down. Well worth making the time to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gripping, page-turning romance set in an interesting time period. Tyndall has set up an impossible scenario, thrown her hero and heroine into the middle of it and voila – immediate fireworks! The relationship is doomed from the start and I was anxious to see how Tyndall would manage to bring resolution to their romance.
Definitely not predictable. Comedic moments are interspersed with dramatic ones and watch out when the romance heats up! The perfect combination for a historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A soul stirring tale of a forbidden romance

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The son of a British Viscount, Second Lieutenant Alex Reed, is tired of raiding the farms of the poor colonists, but he's especially disgusted with his fellow mates heinous abuse of the women. The straw breaks when he and a mate get separated from the others, and his friend finds one last woman to ravish. When the beautiful farm girl pleads for Alex's help, something in him snaps. A minute later, the woman is saved, Alex has been badly shot, and his fellow sailor dead.
Rose is stunned at the night's events. Is she committing treason for harboring the severely wounded British officer in her barn? If not for the man saving her life, he'd be gone or dead too. She fears even getting near the man her country is at war with--the very same people who killed her father. She must push past her fears and help him only because he saved her from her worst fear. And once he is well enough, he must leave.
So begins the wonderful tale of Surrender the Night. The heart of the story is about a man raised in the British aristocracy who holds nothing but contempt for the ignorant colonialist who are causing so much trouble for Britain. They are nothing but pesky flies. Rose is a young woman who has lost much and is timid and afraid to do anything but tend her beloved farm animals. But when Rose and Alex are together, sparks fly, and animosity soon turns to attraction. Neither has ever been truly loved, is it possible to find something as precious as true love amidst of war? Or will Alex's presence bring a whole different kind of danger to Rose? When the British move on Washington during the War of 1812, Rose and Alex are tossed into a calamity of events that could well leave one--or both--branded as spies.
Don't miss SURRENDER THE NIGHT--a fabulous tale of faith in difficult times and forbidden love during one of our country's darkest nights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING BOOK!!!!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Cupertino, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own all of MaryLu Tyndall's books and I look forward to everyone she writes. It's a must have and a must buy. You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an instant classic

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in the Surrender to Destiny series, Surrender the Night reads among the best of Christian historical romance. Set in Baltimore during the War of 1812, the story's drama lifts off the page with invading British looking to pillage and plunder nearby farming villages. The unsuspecting heroine, Rose McGuire, tends her farm pets as the alarm bells sound and the menace draws dangerously near.
Alexander Reed, Second Lieutenant for her Majesty's Royal Navy, accompanies his First Lieutenant on a mission inland. He must choose whether to obey wicked orders or his conscience when the mission turns into an assault on an innocent civilian--the lovely and terrified young Rose McGuire. Alex defends Rose and takes a bullet in his leg. Rose must overcome her terror and loathing of the British by whom she has suffered greatly, in order to save Alex's life. By helping him, she risks detection by those who would hang them both.
Tyndall creates two endearing and sympathetic characters foist into uncommon circumstances, and the natural attraction which grows between them charges the book with as much tension as the ongoing war and imminent British invasion. While Alex must choose where his loyalties lie, Rose must overcome her past terrors and learn to trust both God and men again. Their obstacles are as imposing as the titanic force mustered against the fledgling country, and I was turning pages to see how either the romance or the American country would survive.
The dynamic climax of the book swept me away with the awe and power of Providence at work on our nation's behalf. Tyndall writes a gripping and factual account of events one would almost have to suspend belief to take in were they not historically true. It is a book not to be missed--a true classic of the genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surrender the Night

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bgibson
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was staying up till 1:00am finishing this book! It was absolutely amazing! I loved every twist and turn with Rose and Alex, I just HAD to find out what was going to happen next! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves historical fiction. Any one of Marylu's books will get your heart pumping and keep your interest until you put the book down for the final time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting!

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How does MaryLu continue to crank out these wonderful heroes and heroines? This story was full of suspense and romance. My favorite combination. I loved the history in this story, a war we don't hear a whole lot about, MaryLu brings to life. Rose is a woman who must overcome her fears, Alex is a man fighting his own wars. They are enemies and that proves to be one of the easiest hurdles for them to overcome. Tyndall has done a beautiful job developing these characters fully. They are three dimensional and interesting. The story moves along at a fast clip and never bogs down. It starts off at a jog and picks up pace the whole way through. I HIGHLY recommend Surrender the Night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book! Highly recommended!

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, the author, MaryLu Tyndall does not let us down. This is a VERY enjoyable book to read. I love how she weaves together an exciting adventure with Christian values. No one is ever beyond the redeeming power of God. The main characters, Rose and Alex, are extremely likeable and I enjoyed the storyline set in the early 1800's. It also had a great ending.
I highly recommend this book to all who enjoy historcial christian fiction. Give MaryLu a try. I know you won't be disappointed! ALL her books are quite enjoyable and very well-written. Can't wait for her next book to come out!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Surrender the Night, Surrender to Destiny Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Southern Blessings
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in the War of 1812 in Baltimore, the hero, British second lieutenant, Alex, saves farm girl Rose from a brutal rape at the hands of his superior. Alex is injured while defending Rose. Will Rose nurse him back to health, or turn him in for being an enemy of the country?
I was drawn right into Surrender the Night, starting with the first few pages. The characters are wonderfully written, with such depth and spirit that you can't help but fall in love right along with them. I find it amazing how Ms. Tyndall combines real events from history with a love story that is all her own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>