Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1

When wedding planner Anne Hawthorne meets George Laurence, she thinks she's found the man of her dreams. But when he turns out to be a client, her "dream" quickly turns into a nightmare. Will Anne risk her heart and career on this engaging Englishman? George came to Louisiana to plan his employer's wedding and pose as the groom. But how can he feign affection for a supposed fiancee when he's so achingly attracted to the wedding planner? And what will happen when Anne discovers his role has been Stand-In Groom only? Will she ever trust George again? Can God help these two believers find a happy ending?
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Review 1 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a wedding planner, Anne Hathaway is used to coordinating and attending weddings, never being the bride. But then she meets George Laurence, and he seems to be exactly what she always dreamed of in a husband. She quickly discovers that he is a client, and is engaged with his heart belonging to someone else. She forges ahead with the business relationship, hoping that no one has realized she has more than a mere passing interest in her client. Will she loose her business for falling in love with George? Or does something bigger than both of them mean to stand in their way?
Despite the fact that this was the quirkiest retelling of a wedding EVER, I found the story enjoyable and interesting. Dacus may not be the most popular author of the genre, but I found her writing witty and funny. The people in this book find themselves in predicaments throughout the book, and there is character growth and development on all sides. Even after reading this first book from the Brides of Bonneterre Series, I would still have bought it if I had it to re-do. Charming, funny, heartwarming and big family drama all play a part in this story of a Louisiana family. Don't miss out on this lighthearted read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a wedding planner, Anne Hathaway is used to coordinating and attending weddings, never being the bride. But then she meets George Laurence, and he seems to be exactly what she always dreamed of in a husband. She quickly discovers that he is a client, and is engaged with his heart belonging to someone else. She forges ahead with the business relationship, hoping that no one has realized she has more than a mere passing interest in her client. Will she loose her business for falling in love with George? Or does something bigger than both of them mean to stand in their way?
Despite the fact that this was the quirkiest retelling of a wedding EVER, I found the story enjoyable and interesting. Dacus may not be the most popular author of the genre, but I found her writing witty and funny. The people in this book find themselves in predicaments throughout the book, and there is character growth and development on all sides. Even after reading this first book from the Brides of Bonneterre Series, I would still have bought it if I had it to re-do. Charming, funny, heartwarming and big family drama all play a part in this story of a Louisiana family. Don't miss out on this lighthearted read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
edenkl
Location:Sk. Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a fun read. I found the characters interesting, you wanted to keep reading so you would find out what was going to happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Met expectations

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first Kaye Dacus book I've read and I have the other two in this series yet to read. The book overall was good and had a good story. But, sometimes the author got repitious saying the same thing over and over just in a different way. That got tiring. But, overall it was good and had some funny parts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Few redeeming features.

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice Harris
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made a mistake in ordering three books by this author when i hadn't read one by her before. The plots sounded interesting, and indeed they are, but they aren't well developed, there are no sub-plots, and the endings are so clearly telegraphed that the reader can't get deeply involved. I also think it's silly to imagine a heroine or hero "falling in love" with someone they've known less than a month. That kind of "love" may happen in the world, but Christians should hold out for getting to know someone's character before they think about "love." I'm sorry to bash any Christian author, but I think this one needs to read Catherine Palmer or Robin Jones Gunn to see what good fiction sounds like.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Abel
Great book! This is an easy, fun-to-read book whether at the end of a busy day with your feet propped up or while relaxing at the beach. I liked it so much that I bought several to give as gifts. And if you enjoy this book, you'll enjoy the next book in the series, Menu for Romance....I know I did! They will make great Christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ebany
Another great book in her series. Am anxiously waiting for the next book. A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
This is quite the romance. Some could call it predictable, but I would not necessarily say that because one could not foresee all the twists and turns that are to occur before the outcome. I only think people will predict how they want it to end and just assume they will get it right. As I have said dozens of times before, I am not much a fan of contemporary romances, but I liked this one. That said, I did not necessarily love it. But I think that is because my heart is just stronger in the realm of historical fiction. (Definitely recommend Kaye Dacus' historical series The Ransome Trilogy!!)Some elements of a large family and good food were parts of this story that I am not used to reading in a book that I quite enjoyed. As well as imagining the scenes and hearing the British or Southern accents play through in the characters vernacular. This is my first contemporary experience with reading this author and it will not be my last. I do recommend this book, and look forward to reading the sequel soon in a few days.Things happen in life to get you where you need to be, and the hardest part is dealing with a painful event and believing that you will get past it. God knows what he is doing, and the part to remember is that things are best in his time and not in our own. I feel very uplifted from this book and the characters experiences. It makes me think over things from my own past and see more of God in them than I ever would have realized at the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
A Reader
This first book by Kaye Dacus will certainly NOT be my last. It was a good romance with just the right amount of affection without going overboard. The main characters actually spent time with God in a growing relationship with Him and didn't just depend upon a prayer they prayed years ago. That being said we know they read their Bibles, attend church, and pray without every sermon being written out in the book. I appreciated that. The sub-characters were just as interesting and well written as the main characters. I went away wanting to be friends with these people. I'm definitely reading the final two books in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
My first book by Kaye. Other than too many "happy endings", I enjoyed her writing. I'm hoping for a dose of realism with those characters that are suppose to be "bad". Kaye selected a very innovative topic and weaves a good tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2009
I highly recommend Kaye Dacus's heart-warming story Stand-In Groom, the first book of The Brides of Bonneterre series. Although this is Kaye's debut novel, the writing is so great that it reminds me of Liz Curtis Higg's contemporary books with characters who seem like people you know or would like to know, a plot-line with many turns and twists, and emotion-packed scenes filled with humor and pathos.The main character, wedding planner Anne Hawthorne, is introduced to a man by her cousin. George Laurence and Anne share a mutual attraction--until Anne discovers he is the groom-to-be in a wedding she has been hired to plan. But, things are not always as they seem. You'll enjoy the highs and lows of this roller-coaster journey as you travel the path to the altar with Anne and George and the other characters. A delightful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
k.harris
Kaye Dacus' debut novel, Stand-In Groom, is full of fun and flavor with a potpourri of plot twists and a simmering romance between two, almost "star-crossed" lovers. Anne Hawthorne is a celebrity caterer in the town of Bonneterre, LA, who falls head over heels (quite literally at one point) with a stoic, yet sensitive, Englishman. Anne decides quickly that George Laurence is perfect for her. There's only one problem, he's already engaged. At least, that's what she thinks. The truth is, George is only committed to doing his job--acting as the ruse for his employer as a "stand-in groom". When George shows signs of returning Anne's feelings, the problems that ensue are a recipe for romantic disaster. Both Anne and George are desperate to maintain their moral integrity, despite some precarious situations. But their dedication to doing the right thing only makes them fall deeper in love. As the story unfolds, Anne and George seek forgiveness for their past mistakes, rely on faith to get them through each day, and look to the future with hope. And, in the end, love prevails. There is no substitute for love. And now abideth faith, hope, love; but the greatest of these is love. 1 Cor. 13:13
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Eve
Kaye Dacus has spun a wonderful story with her debut novel of love, morality, deception, forgiveness, family, and friends. "Stand-In Groom" may be a romance novel, but it has some surprising twists and turns that are more common in suspense novels and kept me turning the pages and made for some late nights. And the family - I haven't seen such a family since "My Big Fat Greek Wedding". Top this off with the romantic setting in Bonneterre, LA, lots of humor, and excellent cuisine, and you cant go wrong. I am so looking forward to the next book in the series or anything that Ms. Dacus writes. Shes truly an excellent story teller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Professional wedding planner Anne Hawthorne has built her business by being the best. She fills her days making her clients dreams come true and waiting for the day when shell be the one standing at the altar. Her first interaction with elegant Englishman George Laurence has her wondering if hes the man God has for her, a man she could really trust. But then George shows up in her officeas one of her grooms. How can she keep her feelings under control while orchestrating the most elaborate wedding shes planned yet, for him and his young fiance?George agrees to pose as the groom so his wealthy employer can keep his engagement a secret. Even though it goes against his Christian principles, George needs to keep his position as personal assistant so he can remain in the U.S. When the wedding planner turns out to be the first woman to capture his attentionand his hearthe feels horrible about deceiving her. Will he give up his job and his desire for citizenship in order to gain the woman he loves?Stand-in Groom is Kaye Dacus debut novel, and what a debut. Shes crafted a wonderful story with engaging characters I liked from the start. Dacus brings to life the Louisiana setting and pulls the reader into Anne and Georges lives with the skill of a long-time author. The story moves along seamlessly, evoking emotion at every turn. I laughed, cried and sighed as I witnessed the hills and valleys of Anne and Georges journeys. Dacus has joined my list of must-read authors. Im looking forward to her next book, Menu for Romance, featuring one of the secondary characters from Stand-in-Groom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Fuller
There are several unique elements in Stand-In Groom that you don't see in a lot of romances--an "older" heroine (late thirties), a very proper Englishman with old school manners (who's also "older"), and the premise of the stand-in groom. Dacus' novel, while contemporary, has an old-fashioned feel to it that I found interesting. But what I really liked was the setting and how she brought it to life. If I didn't know otherwise, I would have thought Bonneterre was a real town. This is an enjoyable romance, and I'm looking forward to reading the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
C. Lawyer
Kaye Dacus gives her readers a classic love story-like a Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan film. She creates characters with character and wholesome, sigh-inducing romance. The book takes the reader away to its Louisiana setting. Taste the beignets, chicory coffee and spicy crawfish. It is beautifully written, and I cant wait to read the next in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
This story shows how deception can get one into trouble, but being honest has its rewards. An enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Parrish
Finally, a main character who is both large and beautiful! Anne is six feet tall and a size 18. Thank you, Kaye, for choosing a vibrant woman who isnt a size 3. Youre an inspiration to women and writers everywhere.Kayes characters are wonderfully developed. I fell in love Annes dynamic family, especially her cousin. And I thoroughly enjoyed Georges English citizenship and the problems it presented. However, this is more than just a romance. Anne has some deep emotional issues she deals with before she finds shes ready for love.Anne Hawthorne is a beautiful, bold woman with a well established career. When she meets George Laurence, the connection is obvious. However, there is one major glitch; George is the groom in the largest wedding Anne has ever planned. How could she fall for someone elses fianc? How can she plan their dream wedding when her own dreams are shattered?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
R_Alexander
Looking for a sweet romance with some Southern spunk? This is the book for you. Anne Hawthorne, wedding planner extraordinaire, falls for Englishman George Laurence. (Come on, what girl doesnt love a British accent?) Only problem, she believes hes a client, mainly the groom. George is really standing in for his boss, a wealthy man who wants his engagement kept on the down low. But with Georges deception and people/events from Annes past, can their hearts be salvaged before its too late? Pick it up and find out.The book is semi-reminiscent of the movie The Wedding Planner, but it is better written and contains a few more plot twists. I knew what was going to happen, but Ms. Dacus actually had some parts I didnt expect. Overall, a fun, lighthearted read. You definitely want to read this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stand-in Groom, Brides of Bonneterre Series, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Great debut! I really enjoyed this story once I got into it. It had unique characters and plot twists. If not for the slow start I would've given it five stars, but it was incredibly romantic and for that I applaud Kaye. The romantic elements and the push-pull that is such and important part of romance novels was very well done. The author had me turning the pages once I got sucked into the story. I didn't feel manipulated and the conflict didn't seem contrived, which was refreshing. Yeah, it was predictable, but romances do follow a necessary pattern. Though this one followed that prescribed pattern, it still had many unique elements that held my interest and had me rooting for the two of them to get together and then stay together. George was the ultimate hero. And the ending was so cathartic and healing for the heroine that it made me smile. I loved the point that you have to forgive past hurts in order to truly heal and move forward in new relationships was brought out in this story. I highly recommend this story to people who enjoy tension between the hero and heroine and don't want a fluffy same-old same-old read. This story had guts and heart tugging action, which earned my respect. I am looking forward to Kaye's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>