Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather

Holman Bible Publishers HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather

Combining readability and portability as well as durability, this edition of the HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible is based on a new typesetting of the HCSB text, a more robust cross reference system, and binding with a higher aesthetic appeal.

Features include:
  • 9-point type
  • Eight full-color maps
  • Concordance
  • Full center-column references
  • Plan of salvation
  • Alternate readings
  • HCSB Bullet Notes
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Presentation page
  • Family records section
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Two-piece die-cut gift box for gift-giving
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The put the scripture reference in the wrong spot.

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colonel
Location:Quitman, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the HCSB. Love the features ect. but this particular one has a publisher's bobo in it. They goofed. Where you are at in the Bible is to be at the top of the page and not at the bottom. When you are looking for a passage you don't look at the bottom of the page you look at the top corner. This will tax your sanctification if you are used to it being at the top where it has always been.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The cover is genuine cowhide and it is quality.

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the HCSB large print ultra-thin reference Bible in genuine cowhide as a review copy from B&H Publishing. One thing that I have to mention up-front is that I use the HCSB for preaching, teaching, and study. With that being said, this new edition of the large print ultra-thin reference Bible is an improvement over the previous 2004 edition. First of all, it has the updated 2009 HCSB text and the quality of the features have improved, but more on that later.
B&H used a company in Denmark to design and typeset the interior of the Bible. This has resulted in a somewhat different look that I have seen before. You will find the same two-column format with center-column cross-references but without lines dividing the references from the biblical text. It could be said that the absence of the lines lends to less visual distraction, and with this I would agree. One difference with the cross-references is that they have gone to an italicized letter key format. Each page starts it's center-column references with the letter “a” and proceeds onward to list each entry to the point of having entries such as “ag” to designate the references. The textual notes that the HCSB has featured from its release are still found at the bottom of the page. One improvement in recent editions of the HCSB have been the absence of a box around direct speech, which looked very out-of-place and distracting. The text, though a different font that what I am used to in a Bible, is very readable and I have become comfortable with it. This is a red-letter edition, which is not my preference, but it is not an issue for me. It is more of a dark red color, so I don't believe that anyone would have difficulty reading it.
In the back of the Bible you will find the glossary of bullet-point definitions. The HCSB has featured bullets next to names, places, theological terminology, etc... and defined these words in a glossary in the back of the Bible. I think it is helpful and a nice feature for the reader. The bullets are not nearly as distracting as they once were in the initial editions of the HCSB. This edition also features a concordance, but I have discovered that it is not as extensive as the concordance found in the HCSB Minister's Bible. Personally, I prefer a more extensive concordance. In all fairness, it is better than the abridged or topical concordances found in most Bibles today. In fact, many Bible editions today do not even have a concordance. This is likely the result of the reality that many professing Christians do not actually study their Bibles, but rather use them as a decoration in their home or as a fashion accessory for their person when attending church.
The paper is an off-white color, which reduces shine and increases readability. The paper is a good weight, definitely heavier than most Bibles on the market today. Many publishers have attempted to cut cost and utilized lighter paper, which wrinkles easily, tears easily, and has significant bleed-through from the following pages (forget about trying to write on the pages of those type of editions). There is bleed-through in this edition but it is not significant. It is not enough to be distracting. The font on the page is dark enough that “ghosting” is only noticeable when there is no overlap of text on adjoining pages. One feature of this Bible that is worth mentioning are the outside margins. There is more room than one normally finds in a non-wide margin edition. This was certainly a pleasant find for one who likes to record notes in his Bible. The weight and color of the paper also lends itself to being able to write in this edition. I prefer the Pigma Micron pen for writing in my Bible. It is a pigment ink that is waterproof and fade proof. My edition also comes with a .25 mm line width (there are different sizes).
The cover of this Bible is described on the box as “genuine cowhide” and it is. The leather has a very nice grain to it and is soft to the touch. It is not limp nor bendable like a high-end calfskin edition. I have some of those and it is actually harder to hold when it is such a limp leather. Do not misunderstand me though, the leather is soft and it is flexible. It lays flat, which is also aided by the fact that the pages are smyth sewn. As with other calfskin or genuine cowhide editions of the HCSB there are hubs on the spine of the Bible, which is a nice feature.
I think that this is a very nice edition of the HCSB and has become my primary Bible. I highly recommend it. I appreciate that B&H Publishing strives to produce quality editions and this is one of them.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just OK

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DougB
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall, I would say this is a decent Bible for the price. But a few things turned me off.
If you're looking for a HCSB, the Holman "large print ultra thin" line is a very nice compromise of size, readability and weight (in all the translations they offer). The 9-point text is nice, as is the paper. It has a good binding. It has references and a good concordance.
Here are the two things that turned me off. First, the book and chapter headings are at the bottom of the page. I don't have any other Bibles like this and I find it very distracting when trying to quickly find a scripture. That's my fault, as I should have noticed that in the excerpt when I was shopping for it.
The second thing was the imitation leather cover. Yuck! Based on some of the positive reviews I read, and having seen some very nice synthetic bindings (Zondervan Duo Tone?), I had the impression this would be a nice, soft material. it is not. It is hard and shiny- not at all like the really soft and flexible imitation leathers from Zondervan and Crossway, for example. To give you a more objective idea, I have seen bonded leathers softer and more flexible than this.
If the size and weight, page format, etc. is to your liking, I would say get a different binding.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
leroy
Location:louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible and easy to read. I would recomend it to anyone who is slower to comprehend
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like this little bible

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnNMC
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This translation is new to me and reading it provides fresh perspectives, like the frequent use of the word "slave" in place of "servant". On several occasions I have checked back on other translations while reading the HCSB, and preferred the HCSB rendering.
The pages of this UltraThin edition are a little too thin for my fingers to go through with much grace but I plan to use it as a travel companion and chose it partially for its size, it won't replace the larger bibles I lean over at home. The imitation leather cover looks and feels nice, I can't attest to its durability. The "large print" is smaller than other larger print bibles I own, but the font style is very open and easier to decipher than older ornate fonts. The referencing system is not familiar to me, but I can figure it out and it seems well thought out and the referenced passages and words are illuminated by the new text or definition. I really like the referencing system, but unfortunately, the little footnotes are too small for my eyes. I rely on this bible and would miss it now if I didn't have it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure that I would like the new font and typographical features of the newest edition of the HCSB large print ultrathin reference Bible. I have to say that I really like what I have seen so far.
As I have used this Bible I have noticed that the imitation leather feels more like a nice quality leather than most "genuine leather" Bibles that are on the market today. It is flexible and it has a nice texture to it.
The Bible has a sewn binding which is very nice, allowing the pages to lay flat. The paper is off-white and cuts down on the "ghosting" effect. You will still see text from the opposite pages while reading, and you will notice evidence of where you have written notes as well. Yet, the paper does have a nice weight to it, considering the price.
It features a concordance, and also what the publishers describe as a more "robust" cross-reference system. The one thing that I have noticed that is a bit puzzling, I have notice a few times already that one verse will have two cross-reference notes that both refer to the same cross-reference. It may have been an editing oversight, but if not, it was not necessary to increase the amount of cross-references by including duplicate references.
Overall, I really like this edition of the HCSB and have adopted it as my main Bible for devotions, study, and teaching/preaching.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible.

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reilly
Location:BC, Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible before I found this site, but I figured I should still put in a good word for it.
If you don't have a HCSB, I highly recommend you pick this one up. I only prefer ESV over this one. When it comes to translation, the translators call this one "Optimal Equivalence" and say, "Optimal equivalence starts with an exhaustive analysis of the text at every level (word, phrase, clause, sentence, discourse) in the original language to determine its original meaning and intention (or purpose). Then relying on the latest and best language tools and experts, the nearest corresponding semantic and linguistic equivalents are used to convey as much of the information and intention of the original text with as much clarity and readability as possible. This process assures the maximum transfer of both the words and thoughts contained in the original."
In my own words it is mostly a word-for-word translation, but at some parts that would leave the reader scratching their head, the translators do their best to convey the meaning accurately.
As for the cover, I can't believe it's not butter! I mean, leather! The simulated leather is much better than any duo-tone or bonded leather I've seen. It's definitely more flexible that my genuine leather Bibles.
Finally, for the page format, I will give it my OK. Big print; lots of space for notes. My only complaint was that under stressful rubbing (maybe only I do that...) the ink can smear. But it shouldn't really be a problem.
9/10.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Large Print UltraThin Reference Bible, Mahogany Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

like large print

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
utchuckster
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is all I was looking for. Had some worry. Had gotten my wife a Large Print Bible, was not pleased with the size of the print-no larger then her other Bible. Turned out to be well pleased with the one I got. Be carefull which publisher you order Large print from.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.