Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Value Books 199 Bible People, Places, and Things

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Value Books 199 Bible People, Places, and Things

Fresh insights into Scripture for kids, new believers, and even longtime Christians! This fun and fascinating overview of key biblical topics highlights important individuals, from Aaron to Zacchaeus; prominent locations, from Antioch to Zion; and significant elements, from altars to worship. Each brief entry provides a clear description and supporting Bible references. 160
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Review 1 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is everything it says it is

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a bit confused by some of the reviewers who complained about the book not being all they expected it to be. One complained it didn't have all the people he expected the book to have. That's why CBD allows us to view inside the book at the Table of Contents. The reviewer could have looked in the Table of Contents and seen all 199 people, places and things featured before deciding if the book met his needs. Another complained the book was smaller than expected. In the description, CBD provides the exact dimensions of THIS and MOST books. Others complained it didn't contain as much information about each one as they expected. Again, there were sample pages for viewing, plus the Table of Contents showed us how many people were covered in how many pages, making it pretty easy to determine the average amount of space that could be devoted to each. Some received more space, some less, but between that and looking at the sample pages, it seems pretty clear to me. I believe if we will look at the information and samples that CBD has gone to great lengths to provide, we should know what to expect so we won't be disappointed if we order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plan to use this with a start up group

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Smithfield, RI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking forward to sharing this info with people new to bible studies. Don't want cut and dried. I think this will be helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheCCDteacher
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is really great for anyone who wants just a little bit of information on somethings in the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
dfether
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm teaching a class on the Old Testament prophets and had expected that they all would have been included. So I was disappointed to find that not to be the case....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the price

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
littlebit
Location:Pass Christian, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a small book, but has great information for the price you can't beat it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

a pamphlet type reference

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
greatgram
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was expecting a more complete reveiw and better quality of product. Was disappointed in it and had purchased extras for gifts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is great for preteens

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
trish
Location:pinellas park, florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my preteen grandsons, for their stockings. one of the boys saw it early and wanted to look at it, and found it very informative, and each topic is just long enough to give them the info they want, but not too long to bore them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was expecting some pictures. Otherwise beneficial.

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
dsbisme
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the book for the children's Sunday School class. Want to bring the Bible to life for them. Was expecting some pictures because kid's are visual. The fact that the scriptures are listed in the definitions is very beneficial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
A very good gift to reactivate the envy of study for the young people...Very attractive and easy to use book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 199 Bible People, Places, and Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonya Baker
It's a smaller book than what I thought it would be - meaning there's less information in it than I thought there'd be. The information in it, however, is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.