Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing #2: All That Glitters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing #2: All That Glitters

What parents don't know won't hurt them. right? That's what new high school freshman Drew Daniels thinks. She wants to be as different from her twin sister as possible - new haircut, new clothes, new friends. and a boyfriend. But when Drew's boyfriend pressures her to lie to her parents, she is forced to choose between doing what she knows is right and possibly losing her boyfriend and popularity forever, or agreeing to lie to her parents and risking the consequences. What will Drew do?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: All That Glitters
Review 1 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to preview before buying.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neenah
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When picking out fiction for young people, it is so valuable to be able to preview the material before purchasing. This is so easy on Christianbook.com. I really appreciate this feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
GOD'S SWAN
My daughter is loving this book. I have not read it, but she tells me about it all of the time. I love that she gets to chose the path the charaters take and see the outcome of those choices. She said that she wants to read them all to see what happens! The book is in perfect condition, was a good price and arrived in reasonable time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
When I was younger we had the "Choose your adventure" books where you would be reading the story and then periodically you would make a choice about what was happening in the book and then go to a corresponding page to see what the results of that decision were. I loved those books. My husband did too. They don't make those anymore. Now Nicole O'Dell has come along with something even better for my daughters! She is developing this series of books called "Scenarios" where she has a wonderful storyline in each book with great characters and then about 9 chapters into the book the main character is presented with a dilemma and they have to make a choice. You are then instructed to make your choice and then turn to the corresponding page. You then read the next three chapters where the consequences are played out accordingly. Then there are 3 more chapters with the alternate ending.I love these books! In this book we have identical twin sisters Drew and Dani starting 9th grade and Drew desperately trying to find her identity apart from her sister. Just how far will she go to prove she's an individual and will she destroy her relationship with her sister in the process?I am so glad that Nicole is developing an entire series of these books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gram
This book is so relative to today's situations. It is a book that will give young girls an opportunity to think out what they would do in similar situations before they experience them as well as possible consequences of wrong decisions. Really women of all ages will enjoy it. I like the way it is shown in the book that even when one doesn't make the best choice, if they will admit it and give the situation to God, He can help them turn things around for the good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Truth or Dare and All That Glitters by Nicole ODell are two engaging novels for teenage girls. My 15 year-old has a tough time getting into the first novel, but ended up enjoying it immensely. She liked the characters and how the plot seemed to be just what she was experiencing herself with her own friends. She was impressed with the ability to interact with the story by making her own choice whether to go along with the game or stand up to her friends. She is reading the second novel in the series right now, and recommending both books to family and friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah
I will say that I liked this book A LOT. Stories about twins growing up sometimes have one twin resenting the other for leaving them behind. This one begins that way but Dani soon finds her own niche. Once again, the characters have close and good relationships with their parents. They can confide in them and are able to turn to them in times of need. In return, the parents are understanding and allow their daughters to choose their own paths. I really appreciated how the girls' mother was compromising in terms of their clothing choices. While she had set guidelines about what they could wear, she also was willing to let Drew make her own decisions. I liked the scene where she comprised with Drew involving the layering of clothing. I'm glad she was willing to let her do her own thing and still respect the guidelines she had set down. They also were cool with letting their daughters hang out with guys because both girls respected the rules set for them. I thought that the situation Drew found herself in was to what goes on in high school these days. Granted, the party involved everything that could possibly happen, but it still was portrayed in a realistic light.The only qualm I had was a line where Dani is horrified to hear that Drew held hands with a boy. This made me shake my head a bit because it sound like holding hands makes Drew sound like a loose woman. If they had been kissing, then I could understand the shock. I know that it could imply that holding hands could eventually, down the road lead to more intimate things. However if you're in high school, it really would not be that big of an issue.That being said, I really enjoyed this book. It's a fun read, the characters are real, and the story is something that a lot of teens either have faced or will face in the future. I wish that I had the opportunity to go back in life and be able to step back and look at both outcomes before I made a decision. Teens will enjoy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elyse
AMAZING book! This book was by far the best I have ever read and could not put it down until I finished it. This made me think back to my years as a HS freshman and I am extremely impressed by the whole picture of this book. I would reccommend this book to anyone that I know. Adult or young adult, everyone should read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Juile
This is the second book that I've read in this series and I couldn't put it down either. A great way to give Bibically sound advice in a way that 'tween girls can relate. I would recommend this series to youth (female) groups as a way to discuss difficult situations that we can all be faced with. I can't wait for the next book in the series to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: All That Glitters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grandmaparty6
Great subject. Tweens will love this and will get needed direction and guidance while making their decision and reading the outcome. Looking forward to the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.