Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge Bibles NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown

Cambridge Bibles NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown

The slimline Cambridge Pitt Minion format is widely admired for its compact but clear type and its elegant binding styles. It is printed on very thin and light India paper, with gold edges. The pages are Smyth-sewn, giving the books plenty of support and allowing them to stay flat once open. This elegant and durable binding is now available in brown goatskin in two trusted and popular Bible translations: the New American Standard Bible and the New King James Version.

Features
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • 16 pages of full-color maps
  • Map Index
  • Ultra-thin compact Bible
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Two-column text
  • Center-column references
  • Ribbon marker
  • 7.50" x 5.25" x 0.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Review 1 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Quality Bible!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rocky
Location:Elmwood, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good quality bible at a reasonable price. I fount the cover to be a little stiff out of the box, but it will still lay flat. The smell of the goatskin is amazing...I love that fresh leather scent. I traded a Cambridge 1662 Book of prayer that I was unhappy with, and I stuck with Cambridge as I wanted to give them another chance because they have a great reputation. I am glad that I did. This is easily the finest bible I own to date. Although it is the same size and leather as the BOP, this is much better made. My least favorite feature is the ribbons, which look a little on the cheap side, but there are two of them and I think I can live with that. Font size is a bit smaller than I expected, but the printing is clear and not a problem to read. My pastor uses the NASB and now I have a bible that I can follow along in. I think I can get used to these high end bibles. I think I may have an Allen's on the radar next, as soon as they come out with the HCSB. I will have to compare the two further, but for now I am extremely happy with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well constructed little Bible!

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Tennessee
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is well constructed and very durable, sure to last for many years! The goatskin is stiffer than I expected, but will soften with use, and to me personally the stiffness is a sign of quality. The writing is a little smaller than I expected, even though I expected it to be small. The only complaint I have with this edition is the words of Christ in red are different shades occasionally, and in my particular one on the page where Acts 8 is, you can see a big difference!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Wonderful Cambridge Bible

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ken J
Location:Rockford, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible after receiving the NLT Pitt Minion.
Understanding terminology really helps. Reading other reviews for all the various Cambridge Pitt Minion Bibles, the common complaint is that it is too small, the print is tiny, etc...
A minion classification means that it fits in your hand, and has at most a 7-point print.
I was pleased with the extreme quality black goatskin binding. I was pleased with the long-grain printing of the pages (means it won't buckle or have non-smooth inner page foldings). The art-gilt outer page edges are a knockout for beauty. And the print, as expected - 6.75 point - is exceptionally beautiful and clear, even to my aging eyes. Yes, I use prescription reading glasses, but I use them when reading my large-print Oxford Bibles too!
I recommend this Bible to anyone seeking a superbly constructed, quality, daily-use Bible - and a wonderful accurate translation as well.
Well Done - Cambridge!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply a great small and quality Bible!

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert from AZ
Location:Chandler, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this Bible. I am getting to the point that I either need to buy the prescription reading glasses that I need or I need to buy a large print Bible. I love the site, the build, and the quality of the craftsmanship. Simple excellent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dignified Bible

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shad Baker
Location:Jenkins, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call me old-fashioned, but I am from the camp that feels God's Word is sacred and should be treated as such. I think this Bible places the Scriptures in the setting they deserve; top-quality materials, construction, printing, and translation. When I carry this Bible I feel that I am honoring God's Word because it is the nicest, most professional looking book I own.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Nelson
I love the NASB and this Pitt Minion. It is not quite as flexible as a (larger) Allan Bible, but the gilding and paper are nicer, and overall the printing is much better. Also even with my less than perfect glasses I can read the text easily. I'm beginning to think that all of these better Bible have a few imperfections, so just give it a quick quality check.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillip D Garner
This bible has the best binding and cover I've ever had; I expect it will last for many years even under heavy use. The font in this bible is far too small for a "main bible". Consider that before purchasing this bible. I really wonder what the publisher was smoking when they put such small font in such an upper end bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ferguson Road Baptist Church
Awesome quality! I purchased this Bible to be used as the one from which I deliver my messages. The font is small but very, very clear and easy to read, with little effort and focus. It is easy to handle in the pulpit and causes no distraction when you have to fight with it to find a passage and have it stay open. It opens and stays. But, I can't get over the quality. This is one Bible I will have and use for years. "They don't make them like that any more." Yes they do!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jamie Elkins
I love this bible. Pitt Minion has really done a wonderful job. This bible exudes quality. It really does lay flat on Gen. 1. I am an avid collector of bibles and this bible is my favorite. It's type is small but very clear and I have no problems reading it. I would recommend this bible to everyone and once you own it you will see why!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris
I have been a dedicated NASB user since the first edition came out in 1971, published by Creation House, and I have purchased many different editions since then, including the Cambridge reference edition of the 1977 copyright. The Pitt Minion edition of the 1995 copyright is worth every penny (and it isn't cheap!). The binding is superb, the print amazingly clear for the typeface (Minion 10 pt.), and the layout of the cross references is clear, logical, and better than most others I've seen. The rather brief concordance is perhaps the only weakness (though not unique to this edition of the NASB); the ESB concordance is more complete. (The large, stand-alone NASB concordance, based upon Strong's numbering system, should be consulted if you can't find what you're looking for in the brief concordance.) All in all, this edition is one I'll plan to use for the years ahead!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Immel
Finest Bible I own, and I collect Bibles. NASB is also my favorite. the quality is second to none. our American Bible manufactures could learn a few things from Cambridge Bible CO. by far the bible I grab the most. and yes It is truly worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darrell Brown
This Bible is one of the most beautiful that I have ever owned! I wish the print was larger, but all in all, it's a great Bible I will always treasure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tim Mcnear
Great for travel, fits in my back pocket. Fine but clearly readable print and helpful references. This is a great addition to my study bible that is hard to lug around. Only con is that it is not water proof. I dropped it in a puddle getting on a plane so it is a little puffy but the ink didn't run. Great buy, hope to have it for many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Garret G
A fantastic little bible! Be sure to note that it is little- the dimensions stated are page dimensions. So soft and floppy- and it does lay flat! In most Bibles, to read Genesis chapter one, you would have to hold the bible open- but with this bible, amazingly, it lays flat even there, out of the box! The ideal bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ted Mueller
Just a comment on a previous reviewer rating the goatskin as one step below calfskin. Not true. It's the other way around -- goatskin is one step above calfskin. Goatskin bindings are the best bindings available. It is true, however, that initially goatskin may be a little stiffer than calfskin, but it is more durable, and becomes softer over time. These are Bibles that are designed to last 20-25 years. I have this Bible. If you are looking for a compact-sized NASB Bible with center-column references, this is a great quality Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steve Cain
This is a nice small, Bible.I have been looking for a small NASB THAT was calfskin, This is just one step below that, being goatskin which is a little stifferthan calfskin is the only drawback.The text is larger then most Bibles in this size and the text is much blacker and easier to read then most Bibles in this size. I'm happy with it. I just wish somebody would make some small calfskin, NASB,ESV, and AMP Bibles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Max
The best made edition of the NASB ever! The Translation is great! The binding is magnificent! Even the paper it is printed on India, is top notch. Nice feature is the red under gold on the edges(art guilding) this is only on the goatskin! Buy this Bible! Read it, live it, love it. Grace and Peace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NASB Pitt Minion Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Megan
Great Bible! Everyone is jumping into the ESV camp. The NASB is still much more accurate! As for whole bit about the NASB being too "wooden" hogwash! It is as easy to read as the ESV! Great to see it in the lovely goatskin Pitt Minion format! Pax.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.