Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge Bibles NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown

Cambridge Bibles NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown

The Cambridge Clarion Reference Bible presents the text in a single column with the cross-references in the outer margin, giving the page a very well laid out appearance. The font size is a little under 9-point with generous line spacing. It is typeset in Lexicon No. 1, a modern digital font which has many of the characteristics usually associated with traditional Bible typefaces—in particular, a degree of readability more usually associated with much larger type.

The Clarion edition is the only NASB personal size reference Bible with a single-column paragraph format. The Bible has 15 new color maps and a concordance and there are two ribbon place markers. This is a Bible of the very highest quality, printed on India paper with art-gilt edges, Smyth-sewn for flexibility and endurance, and bound in brown calfskin leather.

Features

  • Single-column layout
  • Paragraph format
  • Black-letter text
  • Side-column references
  • Concordance
  • Printed on ultra-thin, smooth and opaque lightweight paper
  • Art gilt (red-under-gold) page edges
  • 15 full-color maps with map index
  • Durable sewn binding, enables the Bible to open flat
  • Calfskin leather cover
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Presentation page
  • 7.75" x 5.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Review 1 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, premium bound, and printed Bible

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:south east Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is one of the finest I have seen. The Binding is beautifully done in premium calfskin. The print is easy on the eyes, and truly easy to read. The NASB translation is reliable, and has been trusted for many years. This Bible has sewn binding that should hold up for a lifetime, to be handed down to future generations. This Beautiful copy of GODS' WORD is well worth the price, as you should not wear it out with the daily use it should be given.
The size is perfect to fit your hand and be comfortable to hold without tiring you out.
May GOD bless you in your study of His wonderful Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfection

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Sacramento, California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for the black calf split NASB Clarion Bible where I will review the following: the translation, the size of the Bible, the calf split edition, the format and content, and other miscellaneous items.
Translation: The NASB is, for me, the best Bible translation out there. I have gone from NIV 1984 to different translations like NLT, HCSB, GOD’S WORD, and ESV. I eventually settled with the NASB as my number once translation with NLT coming to a distant second.
Size: This is the ideal size Bible for me. It is less than 8 inches tall, and less than 6 inches wide, and just a hair over an inch and a half thick. This is the most compact Bible out there for a single column format. There are thin line Bible out there, but they are 10 by 7 which is too tall and too wide.
Cover: The least expensive of the Clarion Bibles is the calf split leather. The calf split leather is a little less supple which is to my preference. I have had premium leather Bibles before, and if you read them while holding them in your hand, the leather is so supple that the pages droop down. This calf split leather is thick, and you can read this Bible while holding it in your hand without the pages drooping down.
Format and content: This NASB calf split Bible is in single column format which makes reading easier. The references and translator’s notes are to the side which makes for easier referencing. The paper is thin, but because of their line matching technique there is hardly any ghosting or bleed through.
The font they used is the Lexicon 1 which has an antique feel to it. The font size is 8.5 but surprisingly readable due to the spacing of between the letters and the lines.
This Bible is printed is black text including the words of the Lord Jesus Christ, as it should be since the entire Bible is the Word of God. Black letter print also makes up for better reading under artificial light. Red letter editions become a problem when reading the Gospels and the first 3 chapters of Revelation because red ink in artificial light becomes unreadable. If Bible publishers want to highlight the Lord’s words, they should do it in darker colored ink like blue. But black letter edition is what I wanted, and all Clarion Bibles are in black letter text.
This Bible comes with a concordance and 15 color maps with a map index. If you want to know where Bethel is located, you go to the map index, and it will show you what maps it is on along with the coordinates. This truly is an amazing feature.
Miscellaneous: In other versions of the Clarion Bibles, particularly the ESV translation, there were some issues with the pages curling upward when the Bible is open, especially in the middle portion of the Bible. I am happy to say that there is absolutely no curling of pages in the NASB Clarion.
This Bible has Smythe-sewn binding which allows the Bible to open flat on Genesis 1 and Revelation 22.
This black calf split NASB Clarion has gold gilded pages only. The goat leather Clarions have the red gilding under gold. I am fine with just the gold gilding. It also comes with two black ribbons (red for the goat leather), but I removed them because I don’t like ribbon markers on my Bible.
Conclusion: This Bible costs a little over a hundred dollars but is well worth it, and CBD has the best price and shipping for the Clarions. CBD also has the best customer service. Clarion Bibles are published by Cambridge University Press, the oldest publishing company in the world. I’ve had this Bible for a week now, and I think that the way it was made, this Bible will age with grace and beauty with proper care and use. I heartily recommend this Bible.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! Wasn't expecting perfection.

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bill
Location:Shreveport, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a flawed Bible but when it arrived I could find absolutely no flaws. Not only that! This goatskin cover is right there close with Alan Bibles which I have several of. It was also sixty to seventy bucks less than Alan. It was sown at the edges all the way around. The cover is flexible and lays flat right out of the box. Two nice fat ribbons. Love the text which is paragraphed. The references are slightly too small but then I usually use a concordance so don't care if it had a concordance. The edge is gold with a red shadow when spread open. The text is fine. If I can read it without eye strain anyone else should be able too. Thanks Cambridge for finally getting it together. Also had great service from CBD. Still can't believe I didn't find something wrong with this flaw. I could be called mr. picky but not here.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawise
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bible in every aspect. Perfect size and of highest quality!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The cover is stiff, but the text is great

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Captain Kirk
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first opened the Bible the Goatskin was very stiff, as if there was card or something between the leather lining and the leather exterior of the cover. I played with it for days and it softened slightly, but if didn’t feel like I had imagined looking at reviews of other goatskin Bibles on Youtube. The Bible would not lie flat on Genesis 1 and the cover always wanted to remain in the closed position. After reading daily from this Bible for a few weeks the cover itself will still not lie flat by itself and the cover will now not lie flat when the Bible is closed either unless held in that position for a few minutes. Overall, I’m pretty disappointed in the cover. I was expecting buttery soft goatskin, although I have been told Cambridge covers are all slightly stiff, so I was not surprised.
Although I was disappointed in the cover of this Bible, I have to say that everything else is almost perfect. The 9 point font is almost perfect for reading and anything bigger would have probably just added to the girth of the Bible, which is already substantial. Speaking of the girth, this is one thick Bible. I am used to thinline Bibles so this feels very big in comparison but this is not a bad thing. I love the feel of it and it’s not too heavy to be a daily carry Bible. The ribbons on this Bible feel cheap and no better than any other Bible I have owned, which I was also very disappointing for me.
Overall, I feel this is a great Bible. The cover still being so stiff really bothers me, but since everything else about the Bible was nearly perfect I can’t fault it too much. If I could change two things about the Bible it would be putting better ribbons on it, and giving it a more supple cover. I think my expectations were set much too high because this was my first high quality Bible, so I will lower them slightly for the next one I purchase.
If you are thinking of purchasing this Bible and you prefer a stiffer cover, I would definitely recommend this one. It feels solid and it will last. For those wanting a more supple cover I would suggest looking elsewhere.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NASB Still doesn't get it...

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Clark
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The inability of the NASB publishers to design a Bible layout that is "pastor/teacher" friendly is amazing to behold. It seems to me that there is no way a pastor/teacher has ever been consulted in the repeated faulty designs of their bibles. Do yourselves a favor and open a KJV, NKJV, ESV and simply look at their layout of the pages/verses/margins etc and ask yourselves..."hmmm....what are we missing?" The random paragraph placement of verse numbers, back and forth margin reference columns etc makes it unnecessarily difficult to teach from & navigate quickly in front of groups etc. The Zondervan Reference Edition is the only one NASB has gotten right to date...except it was always made with a cheap cover, go figure. When you make something like the Reference edition with a quality cover, I'll be the first in line to buy it!
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible for a Lifetime of Daily Use

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Northeast PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Cambridge KJV Bible that my grandfather bought me for confirmation in 1965 (Calfskin that was $17.50 then). This Bible went to Cambodia and Vietnam with me while I was in the Navy and would be in near perfect condition today had my dog not chewed a corner off last year.
This new Goatskin Bible is soft and supple yet rugged and although the text is large enough to be easy to read, the Bible is small enough to hold. My only negative comment is that the verse numbers are a bit too small and are not easy to distinguish from the footnotes.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary quality with a hefty price tag

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
mjohn11
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
One of my favorite bibles. The best bible combination for readability, flexibility, suppleness, portability, durability, etc. for any bible that I own.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Clarion Reference, Calfskin, brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cambridge Goatskin Clarion

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
catdoctor
Location:New AlbanyMS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible has all the quality you would expect from Cambridge. The print is highly readable. It is in paragraph format which I do not prefer. The verse numbers in the side column references are bolded making them easy to find. The verse numbers in the text, however, are not bold. They are faint and are the same size as the numbers used in the text to indicate the translation notes. Once you have looked at a cross reference or a translation note, it is difficult to find where you were in the text. Very frustrating.Somebody is going to get this Bible for Christmas.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.