Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing California Capers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing California Capers

At first glance, Finny, California, looks like any other coastal tourist village, but for resident Ruth Budge, the kaleidoscope of zany Finny citizens keeps her on the lookout for trouble. Trouble finds her first, though, as two gruesome discoveries nearly push Ruth to the edge of her sanity. With one mystery to rest Ruth heals from losing her husband and forms a new love, but will the evil she senses along the way remain forever buried under the Finny fog? Then one would think pregnancy at forty-eight might be cause enough for worry. . .until another body surfaces in the shadow of Finny's Nose and Ruth is once again forced
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for California Capers
Review 1 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intrigue, interesting characters and mystery

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AKn music
Location:Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"California Capers" was an unexpected surprise: I did not expect the main character to be a woman of age (like me) nor did I expect her to have to deal with such a major issue (her husband's recent death). Threading the story of her spiritual challenges with the community's many mysteries made for wonderful reading past time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put down, wanted more.

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shamac
Location:Roseville, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the 3 in 1 California Capers. All three stories Touble Up Finny's Nose, Fog Over Finny's Nose, and Treasure Under Finny's Nose were wonderful and I didn't want to put the book down. When I finished the book this morning I rushed to the internet to see if there was a sequel to these fabulous stories. I love mystery, comedy, and romance and this book was loaded with all three elements. Dana Mentink crafted the characters in her stories so well, I could picture what they all looked like in my minds eye. Set in the seaside village of Finny's Nose in California, these three stories progressed seamlessly from one to the other. I laughed, I cried, I cheered and I marveled as the lead character, Ruth Budge, struggled with her relationship with the Lord she sometimes felt had abandoned her, to complete trust in His sovereign will for her life. Great reading for those who love fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
C.L.
Location:WA state
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book not knowing what to expect. I was not disappointed. There's murder, mystery, romance and some parts are laugh out loud funny!! The characters are so well developed that they actually felt like real people. This author has a wonderful way with words and his characters are quirky, lovable and reminded me of some of my relatives!!!! If you love a great mystery don't hesitate to buy this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Geri
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved having all three stories in one book.
Loved the continuation of characters into each story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 Great Books in One.

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Messing Around
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will recommend this book to many readers. Thank you for a great Christian read. Great mix of humor, mystery, love and everyday life happenings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it was a hard to set down this book down

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
sheepherder56
Location:orland, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the characters in the book. Wish there was more books to folow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the mysteries and romance in these stories! It was easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

cheap average book

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
lizzie
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These stories passed time pretty well but I was frustrated by the story within a story that has the heroine reading books which we get to read. hohum. The good part was that the location and characters were interesting and fairly realistic. The mystery was good and had me guessing in my head. Unfortunately, I did figure them out. I prefer a mystery that I cannot figure but one that isn't so out there that it's implausible. Bottem line: this book is really cheap now, so buy it. You've got nothing to lose and several good hours of entertainment to gain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book!

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janice Harris
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many of these 3-in-1 books are passable at best, but this one was a pleasant surprise. Ms Mentink writes smoothly. She handles dialogue and metaphors with intelligence. Her characters are interesting, appealing, and have depth.
Kudos to Ms. Mentink for a well written series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Cozies

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
deborahm
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent way to get all three of the Finny mysteries in one book. Dana does a wonderful job in writing cozy mysteries. The price was a great value also. You can't go wrong with this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick read that is funny and inspires

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gerald Russell
Location:Ulysses, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for my wife who needs a quick read in the middle of her busy schedule. She enjoyed reading them as evidenced by the chuckles arising from moments snatched during quiet evenings together. Must have been pretty good writing to have her disappear for hours at a time. She would come up for air refreshed and invigorated with some witty anecdotes from the stories she read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for California Capers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
SGillingham
I enjoyed this series very much. It is a little darker than most cozies, but I felt it was more realistic, yet still in the cozy genre. I also liked how the faith was woven in, it was there, but not overly preachy. The writing is good overall, and I was sorry the series wasn't continued.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.