Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1

Thomas Nelson Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1

Love blossoms in the warm Hawaiian sun, but something sinister lurks in the silent sea. When a missile test goes off-course, destroying a tourist boat and killing several passengers, dolphin researcher Kaia Ohana is called upon by Navy security head Jesse Matthews to help in the stalled investigation. Is sloppy science at fault---or sabotage and terrorism? 304 pages, softcover from WestBow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Review 1 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
H Transue
I have not finished the first book in the Aloha Reef series but am very close. It is so hard to put down. I've tried to read one chapter per night but have ended up reading two, three or more and I don't want to stop there. Many emotions are evoked in Coble's books and this one is not a disappointment. Suspense, romance, family relationships and last but never least is faith in the One who is Worthy, all there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Benz
I enjoyed Christian novels. Encouraging and I love Hawaii, wish I would always put the Lord in perspective as I stand in awe of His beautiful creation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
OLGA
I love this author I have read most of her books I had not read this series "Aloha Reef" I loved the storyline,loved the Hawaiian culture the dolphins and the male character Jesse but I DID NOT care for the female character Kaia Ohana I thought she was young, selfish and had a anger problem she wanted everything her way and when she didn't get her way she got mad and walked away she also had a very unforgiving heart I don't want to give the storyline away but even till the end she had a problem forgiving I think Jesse deserved a better person I hope I will like the rest of the series because I like Bane and Mano I have the other 2 books so I am looking forward to reading more about them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Greer
A very interesting book. I loved it. The author always surprises you in the end. Very good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lori
This was my first Colleen book to read. I was quite impressed. Even though it had quite a bit of crime in it, it was "tastefully" handled, and was an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Joanna
I must admit I did not have high expectations for this book. I expected it to be boring and stuffy, as so many romances seem to be these days. But I was pleasantly surprised! It turned out to be a really good book, and I found it a bit hard to put down at times! Though some parts weren't quite believable, it was altogether a good book with good characters and great romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Robert Peterson
Distant Echoes wraps you into a world of espionage, intrigue, and love set in the tropical paradise of Hawaii where the native culture conflicts with the Navy presence. Colleen Coble creates characters you can love including a dolphin that nearly steals the show. These characters struggle with political and social issues while at the same time worrying about their own jobs and families. Once I got started I could not set it down. I suggest reading this book in the morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Paula Oliver
WOW!! Colleen does it again! I didn't know how she could equal Samson (from the Rock Harbor Series), but Nani the dolphin does that and more! Not to mention the human characters are engaging, and stick with you once you meet them! This is a wonderful story about families, old hurts, forgiveness, and the reality of the Christian life. Colleen does a great job of bringing in cultural aspects of Hawai'i and its people, and also telling alot about dolphins. I heartily recommend this book and look forward to the next one in the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Distant Echoes, Aloha Reef Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews.com
Set in Hawaii, the book takes readers to this beautiful paradise to uncover a sinister plan. When a test missile veers off course, hitting a tourist boat and killing several passengers, security at the naval base is tightened. Yet, was this just a malfunction, or does it point to a malevolent plot? Suspenseful with a touch of the spiritual, this story blends these elements seamlessly. The investigation at the naval base brings the two main characters together. Jesse Matthews, head of security, decides to enlist the help of dolphin researcher, Kaia Ohana. He believes that the dolphins can be used to track underwater activity around the base. However, he underestimates the determination of the terrorists, which puts the lives of many innocent people in mortal danger. The tension builds slowly as readers get glimpses of the motivation behind the missile attack. Key characters are introduced and then are skillfully interwoven. Romance is also present in the story, and becomes a lovely interlude between the action filled moments. Yet, if this reviewer were to name one character that stood out, it would have to be Nani, the dolphin. The author provides interesting information about these animals, and readers will be impressed with their intelligence and ability to learn. Nani was given a prominent role and it was a delight to see her interact with the other characters! The Hawaiian setting and the underwater world created a captivating atmosphere. The workings at the naval base and a brief look into the political and historical climate give the story a realistic feel. The author also explores the emotional relationship between several of the characters, as old hurts beg for forgiveness. Christianity is shown as a natural and nurturing part of life, which made this island paradise even more beautiful. Distant Echoes is heart-pumping action with heartfelt emotions. -- Joyce Handzo, Christian Book Previews.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.