Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch

Holman Bible Publishers NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch

Easy to read and carry, the NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible features many of the same helps as other editions twice its size!

Features

  • 12-point text size
  • Large print concordance
  • End-of-verse references
  • Eight four-color maps
  • The words of Jesus in red
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record pages
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 8.50" x 5.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Review 1 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Bible

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschool mom
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a collector & lover of Bibles, this is one of my top favorites. The cover is soft, font size is great, and I like that I can keep my pen & highlighter on the flap closure. If it had a wider margin (a bit too narrow for notes), and a bigger concordance, it would really be the perfect Bible for me.
Overall, it's really a beautiful Bible & perfect for carrying around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Snooky
Location:Phoenix, az
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is the best quality I've purchased in a long time.
It's very easy to read. We used to have a saying that
this Bible is as soft as butter. This Bible is.
I can't wait to "wear this Bible in".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this bible

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
PommyMommy
Location:Morehead
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad to have found a bible that is compact and still easy to read! I love the feel of the cover. Great quality for a great price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for the value.

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
PreacherTJ
Location:Lebanon, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a breath of fresh air. Those of us who prefer the NKJV know all too well that good quality affordable Bibles are hard to come by. Holman has done it with this Bible. This Bible has a number of good features including:
1. A good quality genuine cowhide leather cover.
2. The spine features 6 raised ribs. Something you usually only get in a $100.00 Bible.
3. The size of this Bible is ideal. 5.75x8.5x1.25.
4. The font is large (11-12), clear and very readable. I do agree with other reviewers that there could be bigger margins. But you can't have it all.
5. Something I did not read in any review was the fact that this Bible has "line matching."
6. Although this is a NKJV it is in paragraph formate, something I prefer but admit it can be a challenge while teaching and preaching.
7. Maps are the standard Holman maps but pretty good.
8. It also has a matching brown ribbon marker also average in quality.
9. The large print concordance is nice but it is very slim.
10. The presentation page is nice and comes with marriage, births, special occasions, and death record pages.
I highly recommend this Bible. But would like to see it in more options like: color, leather, etc.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite of all my bibles

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Careypea
Location:Covington, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this bible. I have multiple versions of the bible and this one is my favorite. I really want to start using the ESV but I can't stand the font that they use. I ended up buying the NKJV audio bible and wanted to get a bible to read along with as I listened. This bible is great! The font is nice, the text is a perfect size, the cover is soft and feels so nice in my hand. And it is just pretty. My son was like, "Mom, when I get a bible I want one just like this!" I think I am going to get a couple more, so that when they stop making them (and mine falls apart) I will be able to use it for the rest of my life.
OH! And I wanted to edit my review to say...I love the darker ink for the words, but the pages are a nice thickness or paper, whatever...there isn't much bleed through, so no getting distracted by words on the pervious page.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUSTANDING VALUE!

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a retired Pastor and have purchased MANY Bibles over
the years, but this is one of the best values you will find!
It is expertly bound with the raised ridges on the spine that
you only get in very expensive Bibles. The leather cover is
soft and pliable. The print is quite large and easy to read.
Another feature that I really like is the fact that each book
of the Bible starts out on a fresh page. Many publishers
have the habit of starting a new book on the same page
where the last book ended. I find that tacky and most
unappealing. Holman does not do that, and this product
is first class all the way. My very first Bible upon my converson was a Holman, and its ironic that this Holman
will likely be my last. If you love the NKJV , you cannot find a
better value.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
DougB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this is one of the best Bibles you can buy in this price range, in any translation.
Unlike the KJV, which is available in every imaginable leather and binding, from $10 to $300, I find far fewer choices in the excellent NKJV.
While other companies have been making perfectly fine editions of this translation in bonded leather, imitation leather and in large print, I have seen none built with this kind of quality leather.
If you admire those fancy imported calfskin Bibles that are soft and floppy out of the box but don't wish to spend $100 or more on a Bible, try this one- the leather is that nice. It also seems rugged enough to survive as a "car Bible."
The text is sharp and large and the headings are a nice addition. Perfect size, not too big or too thick. My only complaint is that the concordance is a bit thin, around 20 pages. You can't have it all, right?
Also, note that this printing is not a "verse printing" like many of Nelson's products. I prefer verse printings (each verse starts a line) myself but will overlook it this time because the binding is so outstanding. (I still prefer a different NKJV that is verse printed for study, writing a lesson, etc.)
Great Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible, Premium quality leather binding.

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:south east Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very well made, and bound Bible that is very easy on the eyes to read. The 12 pt. font is very clear. The Bible is comfortable to hold, and light enough that it will not wear you out to hold it and read from it during the day. There is nothing but scripture in this Bible, no notes to distract your reading of Gods Word.
May God bless you in your study of His wonderful Word.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the font, wish wider margins

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
lehua
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Based on other reviews I purchased this Bible for the larger font, it's perfect in that sense but the loss of white space/margins make it difficult to write notes and takes time to adjust in not having more white space for the eyes to read. If I purchased again, I may need to give up the compact size I also wanted in getting a new Bible. The extra cost for the imprint was well worth it personalized and done nicely. The index is for 3 books at a time, but nicely done, time will tell if the tabs hold up. Opens nicely flat and great to take wherever I go for the size, price and font - my only hesitation would be the lack of margins when I buy another one for hubby.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Superb

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doc Dan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is about the Cowhide edition of this Bible. I needed a Bible in the New King James Version to preach from and for my devotions. This Bible exceeded all hopes and expectations. The font is large and easy to see and it is in paragraph format, something I require. The binding is the lay-flat type so that when the Bible is opened to any passage the Bible lays flat. The Spine of the Bible has those raised ribs like are found on very expensive Bibles. The leather is soft and subtle, like a pair of expensive driving gloves. The color is soft and dark and looks expensive. The Bible itself is not large, for all of this. It is very compact and easy to carry or hold. It is not even heavy. The paper, somehow, is not that super thin paper I find makes page turning hard. This paper feels stiffer (for a lack of a better word) and the pages are easy to turn, yet the overall Bible is fairly slim. This Bible makes me want to pick it up and hold it. I cannot believe this is a Holman product. It looks like it was made by that pricey British company. This Bible is worth far more than they are charging.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made. Nice feel to the leather. Nice printing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect bible for my daughter

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
CLW3
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 18 year old daughter wanted a bible that "wasn't pink and didn't sparkle" and was "just for her". This bible is a great color, has a really cute flower imprint that is feminine without being little girlish. The bible is lightweight and the NKJV is easy to read. I had her name imprinted on the cover to ensure it was "just for her." She LOVED it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful reading Bible

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ms Lyn
Location:Grass Valley, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the Bible for you if you're looking for dark, readable large print. The pages are opaque enough so that the print on one page seen through to the next is minimal. Plus, most pages are printed top to bottom so bleed-through is reduced even more however, little margin room for notes.
I would have gladly sacrificed the introductory, marriage, births and deaths pages for a more inclusive concordance, which is very sparse.
The size and weight make it very portable for a large print and the binding is sturdy.
All in all I find this to be a wonderful reading Bible that is very easy on old eyes.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible, Purple LeatherTouch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kung Fu Preacher
Location:Woodbridge, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this Bible, in both value and quality. It is perfect in size and text. This is a must for all seekers of Truth and Light.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.