Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2

Professional event planner Meredith Guidry makes a New Year's resolution: that she'll get over an eight-year-long infatuation so she can fall in love and end her still-single status before New Year's Eve rolls around again. Executive chef Major O'Hara wishes he could admit his feelings for and share his life with Meredith, but he knows he could never saddle the woman he loves with a family situation like his.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Review 1 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
This review is fromMenu for Romance - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meredith Guidry is a professional events planner for her parent's company, and with her life a constant whirlwind, she's just never had a chance to settle down. Executive chef Major Daniel Xavier Kirby O'Hara is tied down to his family situation, and doesn't want to saddle a woman down with his life. Meridith and Major have worked together closely for eight years, and neither has been able to admit their attraction to one another. Will time be on their side when they finally discover the truth - and each other? Or is Major too late in his attempt to woo Meridith back into his arms?
Book two in the Brides of Bonneterre was as good as a big bowl of gumbo on a cold winter day. Dacus has written a novel that is funny, entertaining, and humorous that makes it hard to put down. She paints word pictures of the busyness of the kitchen during preparation for events, of Meridith's workload as she juggles coordinating events, and the sometimes crushing pressure of having a big family that smothers and teases you at every turn. I'm not sure how accurate a depiction this is of a typical family in Louisiana, but I enjoyed the book for what it was - a romance that kept my interest with snippets of Godly wisdom to encourage character growth. A good read and one I will recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sadly I wouldn't recommend it ...

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After picking it up and putting it down numerous times I realized that I just couldn't get into this story. Sadly I found it to be very repetitive with very little content, throughout most of it.
The ending was good and unpredictable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meredith Guidry is a professional events planner for her parent's company, and with her life a constant whirlwind, she's just never had a chance to settle down. Executive chef Major Daniel Xavier Kirby O'Hara is tied down to his family situation, and doesn't want to saddle a woman down with his life. Meridith and Major have worked together closely for eight years, and neither has been able to admit their attraction to one another. Will time be on their side when they finally discover the truth - and each other? Or is Major too late in his attempt to woo Meridith back into his arms?
Book two in the Brides of Bonneterre was as good as a big bowl of gumbo on a cold winter day. Dacus has written a novel that is funny, entertaining, and humorous that makes it hard to put down. She paints word pictures of the busyness of the kitchen during preparation for events, of Meridith's workload as she juggles coordinating events, and the sometimes crushing pressure of having a big family that smothers and teases you at every turn. I'm not sure how accurate a depiction this is of a typical family in Louisiana, but I enjoyed the book for what it was - a romance that kept my interest with snippets of Godly wisdom to encourage character growth. A good read and one I will recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
vande
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good book, especially if you enjoyed the first one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Sequel to Stand-in Groom

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meredith Guidry is the head event planner for her parent’s company, presiding over parties, weddings and balls to ensure that everything goes without a hitch and the hundreds of guests enjoy themselves. But her New Year’s resolution is to give up her unrequited love for Major O’Hara and get a boyfriend. She meets a handsome building contractor in the hardware store, who asks her out. Maybe this is the start of something… Major (named for a character in a John Wayne film) is the head caterer for the company, and has been in love with Meredith, his boss, for eight years. But his mother is in psychiatric care, and he doesn’t want anyone to know, least of all Meredith. But the sight of her with the contractor makes him wonder…
I don’t really like the ‘big secret’ plot. I thought Major made too big a deal out of hiding the details of his background, especially considering that Meredith was his boss (I would have thought the concept of dating your boss scary enough for most men). It seemed as though he didn’t trust her, yet he was in love with her. Go figure. Having said that, I did really enjoy Menu for Romance. I liked the Guidry family’s relationships, and I liked the way that Meredith and Major got together. I really like Dacus’s characters and writing style, and I am slowly working my way through her back list, so I was very pleased to find this available as a review copy.
Kaye Dacus was a Christy Award finalist for the first book in this trilogy, Stand-In Groom, which centred on Meredith’s cousin, Anne, a wedding planner. The final book in the trilogy, A Case for Love, focuses on two characters from Menu for Romance, lawyer Forbes Guidry and TV reporter Alaine Delacroix. So that is next on my wish list…
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

More of the same

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a lot like the first one: repeats. When I wasn't reading the same thing over and over again the book was really good. I guess this is what we can expect from book three: more of the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bonneterre Brides Series Book 2

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Menu For Romance by Kaye Dacus
Boneterre Brides Book 2
For eight years two people have had a secret, they were in love with each other but neither one knew. Chef Major O'Hara kept his secret out of fear and embarrassment. He had a family secret that he feared would close the door between him and the woman he loved. Instead the secret kept them apart as well. When he sees that she is dating someone and it looks to be getting serious...Major needs to make a major decision...Will he fight for the woman he loves or stand back and lose her forever?
Meredith Guidry was thirty-four years old and still single, without even a hint of anyone interested in her. Oh yes, and she already spent eight years in love with a man who also never showed interest in her. She recently bought an old house to remodel and move into, at least she could use her singleness to working on the house since there were no dates in sight...that is until she meets Ward Breaux on New Year's Day, in the hardware store.
Kaye has a book filled with the business of running big events and fundraisers, she has the reader seeing the busy kitchen and dining rooms with everyone bustling to get things together, Meredith buried in paper work in her office and the fun of family meal. She adds humorous moments along with feeling the frustrations. I enjoyed reading this book.
**Received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
I do believe that I have found the author who can consistently provide me with my contemporary romance fix! Now, I've only read 2 of her books so far, but I stand by my first statement because both of those books have been THAT GOOD! Her Brides of Bonneterre Series has everything I love in a contemporary romance: the heart-stopping kissing scenes, the fun (but at times, flawed) characters, and a good dose of Southern charm.
Now, most books that try to have a Southern flair either get it right or get it wrong, and unless you're from the South, you might never know which bucket a book falls in. Pleasantly, Menu for Romance fell into the "got it right" bucket. :o) If I'm not mistaken, Kaye is a from the South, so she's certainly stuck to the all-important writing rule of "write what you know." Bonneterre is a fictional town in Louisiana that has an old-South charm. There's a great love of family and friends there, not to mention the beautiful plantation homes that make one "ooh" and "ahh."
Then, there's the Southernisms....things that I immediately noticed because they are already prevelant in my family (particularly obvious in my redneck brother). A man is not called a man, but a "fella." You don't say "everyone"--you say "y'all." You come out of the womb with a John Wayne movie in your hands. And your tea better be "so sweet that if you run out of syrup, you can pour it over your pancakes" (borrowed that line from Christian comedian, Mark Lowry).
So, with all that Southern loveliness floating around, it should be easy for a couple to fall in love and start a relationship, right? Well, almost. Falling in love was obvious to everyone except Meredith and Major...which caused me to get a tad frustrated, but I was still understanding. See, Major has a family secret that would be utter mortification if it got out to his friends. And even though he's known Meredith for 8 long years, he's never been able to share this secret with her, his best friend. So, he tries to put her out of his mind and his heart until another "fella" comes a'courting. Equally, Meredith tries to move on past her 8-year crush on Major until she sees a certain woman making goo-goo eyes at him. But God had other plans in mind for these two, if only they'd just open their eyes. Trust me, it was well worth the wait once the light bulb came on for both Meredith and Major. :o)
So, if you're a Southern gal like me, and love a great romance, then may I wholeheartedly recommend that you get yourself down the road to Wal-mart! (For those non-Southerners out there, most everything can be found at Wally World in our small towns.) And if they don't have it at Wal-mart, then get to beggin', borrowin', or stealin' (well, maybe I shouldn't encourage that last one). No matter...get yourself a copy of Menu for Romance and the book before it, Stand-In Groom. You'll be really glad that you did. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
This is a new author for me. Kaye Dacus is a great writer. Once you start the book you can't put it down. I read the #1 book in this series also. Very good. I'm ready #3 now. How Meredith treated her soon to be mother in law was wonderful Great writing Kaye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Ullrick
Menu for Romance by Kaye Dacus is just as good, if not better than, Stand-in Groomthe first story in the Brides of Bonneterre series. Kaye is an amazingly gifted writer who keeps her readers spell bound, and weaves sweet romance throughout her stories. Menu for Romance, is one of those stories that you cant stop reading. Its a real keeper. In fact, I liked it so much, Im going to read it again. And I can hardly wait for her next book to come out.Meredith Guidry is having a one way, secret love affair with Chef Major OHara, but only in her dreams. Resolved to marry before the end of the year, Mere gives up her fantasies about marrying Major. When her handsome remodeling contractor, Ward, asks her out on a date, she decides its time to start distancing herself from Major, so she goes out with Ward, hoping to find love. And he just might be the man for herthat isif she can ever stop thinking about Major long enough to get to know Ward. Will she open her heart to Ward? Or will she remain single the rest of her life?Major OHara is in love with Meredith, but because of his positionworking for her and her familyhe forces himself to keep things on a professional level. Besides he has a heart-wrenching and devastatingly embarrassing secret that would keep him from committing to any woman, let alone the beautiful Meredith Guidry. Plus he knows if Meredith ever discovers his secret, she will never forgive him for deceiving her.If you like romance, this book is for you.Great job, Kaye. Keep up the awesome work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
ChelseaW
Kaye Dacus takes us back to Benneterre, this time with characters more interesting than the first book, STAND-IN GROOM. Meredith pledges that this year will finally be the year she gets a man in her life. However, when not one but TWO guys come knocking, it doesn't feel right. The only person who could possibly understand her busy lifestyle is Major O'Hara, the sweetest guy ever. (And a world-class chef!) Though there could not possibly be a couple better suited for each other, it is entertaining to watch these two come to grips with their mutual feelings.One of the pleasures of reading this series is that it deals with real people, real jobs, and real life concerns. Readers from all walks of life will be able to identify with loving someone close to you and/or dealing with a family secret. Her writing style is easy and lightweight.I am looking forward to the third book, where we finally get to learn more about Forbes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
A Sweet Love Story. To those of us looking on it takes some people a long time to make up their minds. I can't imagine waiting for a man to notice me for eight years. But there were many circumstances that interfered with the romance. I found myself rooting for Meredith and Major. I liked Meredith's ability to do most things for herself. I enjoyed reading about the remodeling. Author Kaye Dacus has a smooth writing style and took me on a delightful journey in her book Menu For Romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
If I had to name an author who is quickly earning the right to be listed as one of my favorites, it has to be Kaye Dacus. I read her first book, The Stand-in Groom and was quite impressed. I love the fact that she brings freshness to the Christian fiction.Menu for Romance is the continuation of the Guidry sagas and the story of Meredith Guidry, a successful event planner. She desperately wants to find love and make a New Years resolution to find someone. It's also the story of Major O'Hara (cute man with extreme name), an Executive Chef who feels his life is to crazy for love.Dacus creates a realistic look into the "behind the scenes" world of food service. She puts the reader right in the world with all it's tastes and smells. The novel also depicts the thrills of secrets: both secret love and secret issues.Another very strong theme in the novel is family. The Guidry family is a loving bunch, but their inter-family dynamics always makes for exciting reading. I love the way Dacus makes me feel like I could be reading about my family of four sisters.I suspect that Dacus will be making waves in the Christian fiction world for a long time to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenness
This was a very enjoyable read. One thing I really liked about it was the hero and heroine weren't your perfect model-types, and they seemed more real and relatable because of that. If you're looking for a few hours of clean, fun reading, Menu For Romance is a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Kaye Dacus has done it again! I had such fun revisiting the fictional town of Bonneterre, Louisiana and spending time with her great cast of characters. The biggest thrill was that party planner Meredith Guidry and executive chef Major Ohara, whom readers met briefly in Dacuss delightful debut novel, Stand-in Groom, get a story all their own.Meredith has been secretly in love with Major for eight l-o-n-g years. Both work for her parents mega firm, which puts them in the others path on a daily basis. Shes his boss, so she has to keep things professional and accept the fact that theyre just friends. Her heart protests regularly, making for an intense struggle. In an act borne of desperation, she asks God to help her get over Major and find the man of her dreams.Unbeknownst to Meredith, Major is crazy about her and wishes he could make her his wife. However, he harbors a secret hes afraid would ruin everything. Not only that, but hes been offered the chance to open his own restaurant and feels it would be unfair to ask her to be his when hed be working more hours than ever. When Mere meets a handsome contractor whos not only remodeling her house but building a relationship with the woman Major loves, hes forced to make a choice. Will he fulfill his lifelong dream, or will he take a risk, trust Mere with the truth and concoct a Menu for Romance?Dacus tells a wonderful story, one I thoroughly enjoyed from first page to last. Her characters are captivating. I fell hard for Major and admired Merediths dedication and determination. And yet I hurt for these two who so obviously want to be together but are kept apart by circumstances they must overcome. Only when they deal with their difficulties and look to God for the answer to their dilemma, can they find peace in His plan for their lives. I heartily recommend Menu for Romance, the second in the Bride of Bonneterre Series, as a story that is sure to satisfy your appetite for a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannon
I loved this story ... the way the author weaves in the sense of years of longing and paints the characters with enough depth that I felt Id always known Major and Meredith ... the complexity of their relationships with others--Meredith and her family, Major with his mother. Although I havent yet read the first book, Ill definitely be purchasing both that and the third book of this series, both for the joy of the smooth-as-silk writing and to get the whole story. Thank you, Kaye, for a darling story and a wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristi Gregory
I really enjoyed this story. The characters are unique, yet they face challenges that are common to all. Major learns that it's always easier to tell the truth up front than hide what you think might be a problem in a relationship. Mereidith learns that we should talk to those that hurt us before we hit the point of exploding. Direct and non-confrontational addressing of an issue works best for all involved. Leaving ourloved ones out because we feel they'll get hurt, only causes more in the end. The author shows great depth to each person and you find yourself in them. I laughed at their quirks and pet peeves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Excellent book overall. The characters are well-developed and make you feel like you know them. Major was a wonderful "hero" in the story and his character was very believable. I look forward to reading the next installment in this series just to find out what these characters are up to next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jodie Bailey
I don't have a lot of time to read over the summer with a little one out of school, but I MADE time for Menu for Romance. I didn't want to put it down and stayed up late finishing it. I enjoyed the first book in the series (Stand-In Groom) and was pleased to get a return visit with the major players. I love continuity! :-) Menu for Romance is a great read, and Kaye Dacus really got me at one point. She dropped a clue that led me thinking one thing would happen, then she took me in another direction. LOVED that! It got me, and I wanted to cheer because she didn't do "predictable." Major and Meredith are wonderful characters with real-world problems and a real-world cross in communication. Can't wait for book three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Menu for Romance, Brides of Bonneterre Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
I am happy to tell you about a book that will dish up some romance for you, served Louisiana style. Meredith Guidry is a party-planner extraordinaire, and Major O'Hara is a locally famous chef. They've worked together for years, but both refuse to give voice to their growing attraction to one another.Meredith tries to date some other guys to get her mind off Major. He finally decides to tell her his family secret that has always kept him from commitment, but is involved in a car accident on the way. With cracked ribs and a broken leg, he has to admit he can't always take care of everything, while growing in admiration of Meredith's strength of character and heart.Meredith and Major were well-rounded secondary characters in Ms. Dacus' first book Stand-In Groom. I'm glad they got a book with their own story, and I hope we will see many more books about this family and its various members in future books.So go on and satisfy your romantic appetite by ordering this second book by Kaye Dacus and enjoy a well-written, funny and endearing romance. Consider it a yummy dessert without calories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>