Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2

Barbour Publishing The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2

Betrayed by the man she longed to marry, Hope Westcott finds herself on an island in the Caribbean being auctioned off as a slave to the highest bidder. Raised in an unloving home and after enduring a difficult childhood, Hope's search for love and self-worth have led her down a very dangerous path. All she ever wanted was to find true love and to some day open an orphanage where she could raise children with all the love she never experienced as a child. But how can a woman with a sordid past ever hope to run an orphanage, let alone attract the love of an honorable man?
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Review 1 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh wow! I couldn't put this book down! Read it in one day. Lots of action and mystery, and full of spiritual truths and struggle. I identified with some of the characters in this book. It also took me on a journey with the characters as well as challenging me spiritually. It was like I was struggling and growing right along with them. I love a book that challenges me to grow in my faith. Thank you! And God bless all those involved in writing, publishing and marketing this book. I can hardly wait to get the other two books in the series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book, love theme. Exaiting.

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ladygray
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simply good book. I love that story takes place on the brig, pirates, the dark powers and Gods redeeming power, makrs this book woth to reed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cheesy

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a disappointment. I thought the Red Siren was a bit boring, but it is better compared to the second book in the series. This book is boring and I feel like I have to force myself to finish it. It just didn't captivate me. One thing that made me lower the rating is how cheesy it is. For example, in one scene there is a strange dark cloud over the ship and Hope is praying asking God for forgiveness. She feels a cold presence in the room and like someone is trying to choke her and when she's done praying the feeling goes away and so does the dark cloud over the ship. Now, I believe in miracles and feeling the presence of evil, but this book takes it to the point where it feels very unrealistic. Some parts of the book I wanted to roll my eyes because it was so unbelievable. I hope the 3rd book in the series is a bit better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
vande
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than the first book in the series, which was also good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

WOW!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Engada
Location:Brampton, On
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, so I read the first one in the series and was willing to read on. Well I was compelled to read on. I was not disappointed. This author has a way of capturing your attention - all of it. This book had me locked in from beginning to end and yes, I was forced to buy three. So, if you are planning to read - get all three and then start. Trust me, you will not be disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Location:NH
Age:18-24
Gender:female
The Blue Enchantress is the second book in the Charles Towne Belles series.
Hope and Nathaniel live two totally different life styles. Hope is loose and desperate to be with her "finance", but he has left her behind. Nathaniel admires Hope and sacrifices much for her. As the book progresses, their relationship alters. Hope comes to love Nate and Nate proves over and over that he is a true gentleman. There are some who don't want Hope and Nathaniel’s relationship to work out, however.
I love this book. Lots of Hope's bad choices are made in the first book, this book satisfies the cliff hanger of the last book, but creates a new one for the third book. I've read this book three times. It's very encouraging and exciting. A must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayce
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost always enjoy reading what I order from CBD and sometimes have ordered a few I already read. I now keep a list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizzy
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I honestly have to say I am truly impressed. I read a lot of books and few capture me quite like MaryLu Tyndall. I wasn't sure about the plot line when I first read what this book was about, for I had enjoyed the first book in the series, but this one didn't seem to work for me. This changed the moment I opened the cover. I fell in love with Hope Wescott and her life story. The troubles she went through mirrored mine and the more I read the more I came to grips with my own life. I kept reading, knowing that I could close off that section in my life with this book. I have read the book several times since the first time, and it still grips me. Some books since you already know what is going to happen, you end up wanting to just skip the book. Not so with The Blue Enchantress. I read every word over and over again, falling in love over and over again. A highly recommended read for anyone out there!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent storyline

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wylla Carmichael
Location:Rex, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you on your toes to see what will happen next and what the outcome will be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed very much and hard to put down

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Perriman
Location:St Joseph, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think it was a great story how God works in different lives in different ways. No one is beyond what God can take and forgive and make beautiful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Johnette
Location:Salem, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OKay ...so what better series to read in the winter?? Who doesn't want to feel the wind blowing in their hair and imagine being on a ship.....hearing pirate speech, sword fighting and all....That is what I love about this series and about MaryLu Tyndall..she describes her characters so well you can visualize them and while reading you feel like you are right there as everything is taking place. I guess I honestly love this book as I have the same dream as hope...to have an orphanage and help children, and have gone through one horrible thing as she did..and yet Understand Nathaniel too...it is a wonderful story and I love that she also includes the Lord as well..many Christian books do not. Thank you M L Tyndall for this wonderful series and for touching my life through it....ps..this book can stand on its own..but I honestly feel you will want to read the entire series....would make a great Christmas gift too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Browneyes
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blue Enchantress was one amazing book.
I loved it!
I'm almost to the point where I can read this series all over again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shipwrecked Together On A Journey Back Home

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lil Coop
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading "The Red Siren" by MaryLu Tyndall, I had to buy the second book to this series "The Blue Enchantress"! A total different plot going on, but follows along from "The Red Siren"! Hope Westcott is a young lady in love, but comes to where the man she so much trusted betrays her. From there she finds herself being sold like any other slave would be at an action block in Caribbean Islands. Captain Nathaniel Mason who is a merchant captain trying to make a business. He comes across Hope seeing her being auctioned off and soon Nathaniel sells off all what he has to save her.
Hope and Nathaniel now with nothing in their possession, try to make their way back home to Charles Towne. Seeing what Nathaniel has done for her, she took a vow to change her ways and become a proper lady. On their journey home, they face a hurricane out on sea, get shipwrecked on an island, and they are surviving by Nathaniel's skills while both face many different kinds of dangers from duel to the death all the way to pirates. Nathaniel is opened up to what really matters in life and soon sees what God has really called him to. On the other hand when Hope is faced with the many difficult challenges, she is faced to either turn to God or be lured back to her old ways she lived her life. After reading "The Blue Enchantress" this is definitely a great romantic seafaring adventure to take your mind on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A certain MUST-READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Broadwayphan902
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I liked this book even better than The Red Siren, the first book in this great series. Hope was a very believable character that I was rooting for throughout the entire story. She struggles with very real problems that normal people struggle with. I liked Nathaniel very much and thought he was a wonderfully-written character. He was very kind to hope most of the time. MaryLu Tyndall describes her settings so well, I felt like I was with the characters in most of the scenes. I definitely loved this book and it kept me up well into the night because I just couldn't put it down. There are twists after twists in this novel. All I can say is, I hope some of Tyndall's books are made into movies! I would recommend it to friends and family.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth it

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
princesslizzie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember when I heard this book was coming out. I waited and waited. The year before I read it seemed like forever. The wait wasn't a waste either. Well written. I like that MaryLu knows how to continue the characters from previous novels accurately. Often the characters all seem alike once they are no longer the main. I notice that MaryLu does not do that, and keeps their distinct personalities separate. It makes for an amazing read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cort
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope Wescott is a completely believable character, and Nathaniel is an honorable man who still has his own faults. I loved reading about their experiences and the power and beauty of the ocean setting. Although this book is a sequel, it can still stand alone. Still, I doubt that anyone who reads this book could stop themselves from reading the other two books in the trilogy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Seas Adventure & Romance

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blue Enchantress by M.L. Tyndall is the second book in the Charles Towne Belles series. The first book is The Red Siren and the third is The Raven Saint. The books are about three sisters: Faith, Hope & Grace Wescott. They have an older sister who is married and still in England, her name is Charity. Their father is an Admiral in the Royal Navy and spends more time at sea then with his family. Their mother passed away during childbirth.
Hope Wescott has always seemed vain, self-centered and a flirt. Her father dismissed her without attention. When Hope received the attention from Lord Falkland she began sneaking off with him. Soon her reputation was in shatter around Charles Towne because she was seen with the rogue and in the taverns as well. Hope was desperate for love. And she had been assaulted at age seventeen and already seen herself as sullied. When Arthur Falkland said he was leaving for a bit she decided to sneak on the ship and surprise him so they could be married sooner. Only problem was that Arthur was already married and had his wife with him.
Nathaniel Mason struggles as an adult with the fact that his mother was a harlot. Even though a Pastor took him in after his mother's death and Nathaniel is a strong believer he still struggles with being good enough. Especially the way the beautiful Hope looks down her nose at him whenever they pass. As Nathaniel passes a slave auction while at St. Kitts he stops when he see's the ragged mess of a person being auctioned is actually Hope Wescott. In the end he buys her freedom and it costs him his ship. He had assumed she had been kidnapped so when he finds it was over an illicit affair he is not happy. And no sooner are they on a ship for home that she is back to her flirtatious ways with the sailors on the ship.
The trip from St. Kitts to the Carolina's is packed full of adventure. The books are written so that you experience them. You feel like you are in the hurricane, stranded on an island, getting sand flea bites, meeting pirates that need a bath, seeing the glory of one of God's sunsets, the dark expanse of water and sky and the spray of the sea hitting you while you stand on the deck.
And if Nathaniel can survive with any earthly possessions, his peace of mind and no broken bones he will be happy. It seems where Hope is there is one accident after another.
Abigail the missionary's daughter, Elise, Gavin, Captain Poole the pirate, the snooty Major Paine and the Hendrick's family are among some of the folks you will travel with on this adventure.
Book received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't get enough!

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Norco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the story of The Blue Enchantress, Hope grows SO much through the book, she truly grows and changes! It's a radical and believable change! I can't stand the doubtfulness of Nathaniel at times but he changes too! You should DEFINITELY read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have always thought that MaryLu Tyndall had enormous talent when it comes to writing adventurous stories, but The Blue Enchantress was fabulous on a whole other level! It was thrilling, captivating, and fascinating, and I simply could not turn the pages fast enough! Hope Westcott truly was a sassy enchantress, as the title implies, and Nathaniel Mason was a handsome gentleman that has been smitten with Hope for years. Their brief tale of adventure on the high seas, that turned into being shipwrecked on a deserted island, made this my favorite of all the Tyndall books I've read to date. I have no doubt that the final installment of this series, The Raven Saint, will be an excellent conclusion to the story of the Westcott family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Blue Enchantress, Charles Towne Belles Series # 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

beautiful pirate romance

Date:January 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book via the NetGalley, thanks to Truly Bookish in http://trulybookish.blogspot.com/ and her valuable advice.
I was enchanted by this book, which takes place alternatively in the high seas, on a deserted island and on a pirate ship. It is the story of a very unusual heroine and a very unusual hero.
Hope is sold into slavery on an island in the Caribbean after being betrayed by the man she thought loved her when she was attempting to run away with him. Nathaniel, the hero, rescues her and proceeds to help her to go back to her home, in Charles Towne. That;s when their adventures begin, as the ship they are on is shipwrecked and then they are set upon by pirates.
What was so unusual about the hero and the heroine was that they were realistic people with very few redeeming qualitites. At the beginning I was terribly frustrated by Hope, who is constatly flirting and behaving like a spoiled, immoral brat while getting everyone around her into trouble and then more trouble. I was also angry at Nathaniel however, who behaved in an ungentlemanly way towards her and seemed to resent every time he saved her even more than the last. He was also flirting with another woman throughout the book, which was really unfitting, since he was supposedly a christian and at the same time falling in love with Hope.
Anyway, through their sparkling adventures, these mismatched people along with a crew of secondary characters discover themselves and God. And that changed everything. It changed them, it changed their relationship to one another, and it changed everyone around them.
That's what I adored about this book, besides the wonderful adventure and the breath-taking romance.
God is really present in this book and I learned a lot for myself, about my personal relationship with God.
I felt as if this book was full of lavish, vibrant colours, what with all the adventure and everything, and full of tender hues because of the beautiful romance. It also had depth, which is something that I haven't found in christian fiction books recently.
These were real people with actual flaws that didn't behave as if they belonged to a book, but would remind you of someone you know, or even yourself.
I am thinking of buying this book so that I can have it in my bookshelf. I suggest you do, too.
http://bookshelfstories.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.