Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed

Holman Bible Publishers NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed

Holman Bible Publishers is excited to present the NKJV Study Bible, a new edition modeled after its own 2011 ECPA Christian Book Award-winning HCSB Study Bible. It features 15,000 study notes, 141 photos, 62 timelines, 59 maps, 40-page concordance, 20 articles and essays on practical and theological issues, 16 illustrations and reconstructions, and 15 charts.

Other details of the NKJV Study Bible include a two-column text setting, center-column cross references, the words of Christ in red type, extensive book introductions, one- and three-year Bible reading plans, a notes section, four-color presentation page and family records section, and two-piece die-cut gift box.

All study features throughout the NKJV Study Bible are designed to put the emphasis where it must be, on making the Scriptures—God’s written Word—clear and understandable.

Features

  • 15,000 study notes
  • 141 photos
  • 62 timelines
  • 59 maps
  • 40-page concordance
  • 20 articles and essays on practical and theological issues
  • 16 illustrations and reconstructions
  • 15 charts.
  • Two-column text setting
  • Center-column cross references
  • The words of Jesus in red type
  • Extensive book introductions
  • One- and three-year Bible reading plans
  • Notes section for personal notes
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Family record section
  • Thumb indexed
  • 9-point text size
  • 9.50" X 7.00" X 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Beautiful than Pictured

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trailblazer
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible arrived today and the cover and material is outstanding. Looks like a $100.00 Bible. The color is more dark brown than mahogany pictured. The inside print is crisp and clear, red words of Jesus are easy to read. Font is nice size and Bible is flexible in the hands. Would recommend the thumb-indexing to add style and classic looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to read and understand.

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Randy
Location:Conover, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave to son as a Christmas gift, he will get many years of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am totally satisfied with the NKJV Holman Bible

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
terry
Location:princess anne, md.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Holman Study Bible provides excellent notes and cross references. I particularly like the layout and quality of the pages as they allow me to make my own notes and to hi-light without worrying about bleed through.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bibleman1982
Location:Maple Valley WA.
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the quality of the leather and the binding of this bible is of excellent quality and I love the full color pictures in the New King James Holman study Bible and the study helps are very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SUPER Study Bible!!!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be the first ever full color study bible that I have ever seen in the New King James Version that is THIS informative. The Genuine Leather binding is supreme, the bible itself is smyth-sewn, so its durability is strong. It contains full color pictures, maps, timelines, silver gilt page edges, TWO ribbon markers, one in black, and the other in red. The words of Jesus are in red letter, and really informative study notes.
This is the type of study bible that you can't go wrong with, and I own quite a few of them, but this one is superb, and is definitely an excellent source of study for serious students of the Word of God.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda Pasquet
Location:Ellsinore, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for a gift for a 13 year old, and it was well received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT NKJV Study Bible!

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying I did not purchase this item from CBD because I was not aware of its existence until I saw it at a local bookstore.
I was immediately excited when I saw this Bible because I am a fan of the NKJV, and of Holman Publishers. The ONLY reason I gave it 4 stars is because I have a strict standard because I have seen many high-end Bibles. Here's what you need to know:
Holman's Genuine Leather always seems to be of much higher quality than similar publishers (Thomas Nelson, Hendrickson, etc.) in that it is thicker, more plush, and beautiful to behold (Holman also has a unique grain in their leathers that I am a big fan of!). The same is true with the leather of this Bible, it is high quality. It is not on the level of a Cambridge, Schuyler, or R.L. Allan, but again, it is not intended to be.
Holman usually has nice ribbon markers. I am impressed with the ribbon in this Bible, because I have been let down in the past with high-end Oxford and R.L. Allan ribbons before.
Holman almost always puts a Smyth-sewn binding in their Bibles. The same is true for this Bible. Most other publishers stopped doing this awhile ago and instead opted for the cheaper glued binding option (which will fall apart in a year or less -- smyth-sewn will not!). This is the biggest plus to me, the first thing I check for in a Bible is whether or not it is smyth-sewn. This one is, so you can rest assured that the binding will be in tact even if the leather wears out. Another positive to this one being smyth-sewn is that should you decide to get the leather cover rebound in the future it will make it easier on the company doing it because the binding is already sewn.
Inside, the layout is beautiful. I am a huge fan of the colored pages. I have a sleep disorder that causes me to be very drowsy during the day, and also causes me to fall asleep easier than most people, so this colorful interesting layout is a big bonus for me. It is very "aesthetically pleasing" you might say.
The pages are surprisingly thick for a study bible. That is pretty uncommon among study bibles since they are usually so much thicker than a regular bible. Again, Holman usually does a pretty good job on this.
For those of you that write in your Bibles, the print in here is good and WILL NOT smear. For those of you wondering why I am saying this, here's why: If you have ever had a cheaper Crossway ESV Bible and have tried to write or highlight in your Bible, you have probably noticed that the print smears very badly! You don't have to worry about this in this Bible.
The thumb indexes could've been done better, that is one of my few complaints. A few of them are off center and overlap out of the bible so that they stick to the pages under them. It is not like that in just my Bible, I checked all the others on the shelf at the bookstore (about 8 other copies) and they were all similar (if not worse) than mine. Still, the indexes are done much better than other bibles by Thomas Nelson. So unless you are just really picky, this shouldn't be too much of a concern.
This Bible is surprisingly not too terribly big. By comparison, it feels MUCH smaller than my ESV Study Bible or my New Oxford Annotated NRSV. That is definitely a plus if you intend on making this Bible your everyday carry Bible. With that being said, it is still a study Bible and is therefore pretty bulky. It is much bigger than thinline or even personal size large print Bibles. If you are a fan of putting Bible covers on, you will need atleast an XL cover. I have a few XL covers, some fit and some don't. My suggestion would be to bring your cover with you to the store and try it out before you buy (if you get it from here and it doesn't fit, CBD has EXCELLENT customer service and would be glad to either return, exchange, or help you in anyway possible -- so you can rest assured knowing that you will be taken care of).
Overall I give this Bible a strong 4/5 stars. It is a good translation, the publisher has a good reputation for durability and quality, it is smyth-sewn, and has a lot of interesting notes and articles in a beautifully done full colored layout. If you liked the revolutionary HCSB Study Bible, and you are a NKJV fan, then you will absolutely LOVE this Bible (because it was modeled after the HCSB Study Bible). This is a whole lotta Bible for a cheap price. This is essential for every Christian's personal library.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Holman Study Bible, Eggplant and Tan LeatherTouch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holman always comes through!

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Podman 1
Location:Johnstown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I anxiously await this Bible because I have the Holman HCSB and the King James Study Bibles and they are superlatively well done, visually attractive, of excellent quality and the features are interesting, informative, precise, and relevant. Holman has done everything right! Kudos!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.