Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concordia Publishing House God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)

Concordia Publishing House God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)

Child-friendly text and entertaining illustrations help children think about a behavior they encounter in daily life and pray about it. Scripture examples help children apply it to their lives.

These booklets are part of the God, I Need to Talk to You series that expresses how all sinful behaviors are forgiven through Jesus' sacrifice on the cross and encourages children to go to God in prayer any time they feel tempted or troubled. This pack is made of ten booklets on the same topic. Recommended for ages 2 to 7.

Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
2
8 out of 1267%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Review 1 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS RECOMMENDED ALL AGE

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PERFECT BUY ! LOVE THE SCRIPTURES ANYTIME MY TODDLER STARTS ACTING OUT I PULL THE ONE FROM THE SHELF THAT BEST SUITS THE SITUATION ! WORKING IN PROGRESS ! GOOD SEEDS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
mssunshine
Location:cincinnati, oh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is five and absolutely loves these books. They are simple enough for a small child to read and understand. Our nightly regimen consists of his Bedtime Devotional and one of the God, I need to talk to you books. When he comes home from school, he tells me about his day and relates some of the stories to the book we read the night before. These books are a great way to help children understand what God has to say about a situation and how it makes other people feel when a person tell lies, use bad language, whine and even use bad manners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not books!

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
disappointed
Location:Pangburn, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where this has good information I would not classify this as a book...not even a booklet! it has 7 pages and only measures 5 1/2 x 4 1/2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
nick
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed by the small size and shortness of the stories in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great way to focus on subject with children

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanify
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is part of a series of topics, but I think it could be a little more simplified with the illustrations. It's a small booklet, and at a decent price, but maybe too small for sharing with a child.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
stuffy
Location:Strathmore, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful teaching tool. I have 5 young boys and I will be able to utilize this tool with each one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

see full review

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
proactive mom
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked these books even though they were not what I was expecting. They are small in size (like the size of a cd jewel case) and the whole book is a prayer to God about the situation (like hurting others) starting out something like this, "Dear God, Today, I hurt others. First I... . Then I.... Then the consequence is said, and it finishes with Please forgive me for... I know that (You love me and mom and dad love me)... and what I did was wrong. Please forgive me." My 5 year old who is very strong willed loves these, and they have really seemed to help him relate the behavior issues to the Biblical reason the behavior is wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
California Christian
Location:Coachella, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very appealing and encouraging to young children. Having this handy little book available when he needs it helps my son feel confident that he can make the right choices all by himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Limited info for $, ok conversation starter w/ kid

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not really expecting much for the price. The small paperback book doesn't have but a few pages in it giving short examples of the subject matter, one example per 2 pages allowing only a few examples per book. For a buck a book, it is okay for using a base communication with your children as a referral guide to identify with daily challenges of the particular topic. I do think it is overpriced for the amount of information, but it can create story-time into learning-time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great little book to help little ones understand these everyday issues. short and to the point...my kids love them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for my 6 year old niece.
Easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

much smaller than i expected

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn Bernard
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cute books, but much smaller than i expected, the fit in the palm of your hand, i thought they would be a little bigger. They look a little like traks from church.
overall they are cute, but not worth more than maybe a $1
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christopher Wylie
A very short, but good book for parents to broach the subject of lying with young children. I have started reading it to my 4 year-old, and it is raising questions in her mind. Best of all, the book is gospel-focused so the discussion keeps coming back to the fact that Jesus died for her sins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Rodgers
not what I expected. But I guess I got a 99 cent book that truly IS a 99 cent book. They have nice themes and are short and to the point. My 6yr old daughter read them and enjoyed them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alma Hager
Wonderful little books for kids and great message. Very helpful and hopefully will teach them necessary lessons in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan Tollefson
These are very simple, short stories with a great message inside of them. My kids all love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dolly Griffin
this book will be very helpful i my children's Sunday school class. Each book points out the good news of God's love and forgiveness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachel Schick
I purchased almost all of these little books as a social and spiritual tool to use with my 3 kids. I was especially excited to have them read them as part of their "punishment", while cooling down perhaps, when they displayed such behaviors. I think they will be great in reinforcing what we already teach the kids, except it's not just mom saying so, they are accountable to God. Each book reminds them also of forgiveness through Christ's sacrifice. I didn't have to wait for troublesome behaviors to read these. The kids were immediately drawn to the books and had me read them right away, one after the other without any misbehavior. The books are quite small, but I think that's what makes them so appropriate for the suggested ages. Short and sweet, I recommend these books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Malcolm
I ordered all 16 of these booklets and for a 16 page booklet I think they are great. They give good examples of bad behavior and I can refer back to them when my 4 year old acts up. Not only does she ask me to read them to her, she "reads" them to herself (as much as she can remember.) Also, they emphasize that we need to ask God to forgive our sins and that Jesus died for our sins which I think is awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God, I Need to Talk to You about Lying (10 pack)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
M. Coppa
again, not impressed, would have returned but for the price it was not worth the trouble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.