Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wingspread Publishers Pursuit Of God

Wingspread Publishers Pursuit Of God

In the muddle of day-to-day life, have you somehow forgotten that Christianity is a living, vibrant relationship with a personal God? In this classic bestseller and recipient of both the ECPA Gold and Platinum Book Awards, The Pursuit of God reminds and challenges you to renew your relationship with your loving God. In each of the 10 chapters, Tozer explains one aspect of hungering for God and ends with a prayer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.982 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pursuit Of God
Review 1 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

life changing

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnnyC
Location:Phoenix az
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible book. It was recommended to me at a time when I was looking to deepen my relationship with the Lord, to walk with Him daily. This book was instrumental in beginning that walk. This is a must read for anyone who seeks to be more than a casual Christian.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent content.

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JMiller
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent content, very resourceful book. Author has great insight in delivering the message based on scripture. Definitely challenges you to renew your relationship with God and pursue Him even more intently. I would highly receommend the book, great for group discussion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Gift

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
SavedbyGrace
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a friend who's a relatively new believer and got a copy for myself as well. It's a good primer for a beginner and a good reminder for those who've been walking the Christian road a while.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

informative, easy read

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carleen
Location:West Haven, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the truly devoted seeker of truth. This book would help to reignite the passion and deep hunger for god's presence.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most profound books I’ve ever read

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam Miller
Location:Cape Cod, MA
One of the most profound books I’ve ever read was A.W. Tozer’s book The Pursuit of God. Even before I ever read this book and before I even heard of John Piper, God was already laying the foundations in my heart, teaching me the discipline of seeking Him.
“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” Hebrews 11:5 esv
When I first read The Pursuit of God it was like water to my dry soul. I hadn’t ever read anything like it and I couldn’t put it down. Since them I have read it more times than I can count. I now have the added advantage of having it on audio, so I listen to it regularly. Each time I read it I am encouraged in a new way.
I think it would be in line with Tozer to say that we do not take the time to truly study anything anymore. With the dawn of the digital age, we are more susceptible to just move on to the next book without actually grasping everything there is to know in the last one. The Pursuit of God is one of those books that ought to be studied by everyone. It’s not very long, but each chapter is very deep.
While there are several orthodoxy points I would probably take issue with, I cannot read The Pursuit of God without worshiping. Ever chapter finishes with a prayer that convicts my heart and brings the lessons that much closer to my soul.
Next week WOTG will dedicate the whole week to specific lessons from The Pursuit of God and Tozer’s life. I hope that you’ll find value in the lessons, but more-so, I hope you find the time to not only ready Tozer, but to study and know him as you pursue God.
The Pursuit of God is in the public domain and is available for free here
http://www.theboc.com/freestuff/awtozer/books/the_pursuit_of_god/index.html
Check out my book reviews every Wednesday at worthyofthegospel.com
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buckeye Bob
Location:East Liverpool,ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It's real deep a little difficult to understand worth re-reading to catch all the things missed first time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent writing and content

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bambi
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the author and his writings. He is guided by the Bible and his writing is timeless and thought provoking. I would recommend any of his books for reading and sharing.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book digs deep into my soul.

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Sheboygan, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. The author seems to know me personally and has been asking deep and personal questions about my spiritual life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buddy
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a chapter a day continually, letting its content live in me. I have started this practice ever since I received my order. I ordered two extra copies that I will pass on to those who I believe will order other copies and pass them on to others. I even make copies of different notes of saints from the and repeat copies of Tozers prayers each in my prayer life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book. Worth reading many times.

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
TauB
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book that should be required reading for all Christians. Dr. Tozer gets to the heart of the lack of intimate knowledge of our God that is so prevalent in our modern age. It is insightful, provoking introspection, and hard-hitting. It is not just a "how to" - it is the record of the experience of one who really knew hid God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
JennyC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pursuit of God is a truly great book! On the list with Mere Christianity by CS.Lewis. I feel like he is writing all my thoughts that I struggle to express!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Christian needs to read The Pursuit of God.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Leggett
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A. W. Tozer understands what Christianity is all about. He writes a clear, concise account of what Jesus did for us and how God wants us to live our lives as a result. He addresses the physical and spiritual expectations God has for every member of His precious family. I have given copies to my friends and family, and used it in Bible study classes. Every Christian needs to read The Pursuit of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Wonderful Book

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
aprilchick
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a KEEPER! I've read this book numerous times and it makes a great gift for those seriously pursuing God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book written by a bright man.

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
cellerbe
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the book is good. I agree with Tozer in that we must be focused on God and strive to experience Him in our lives.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite book outside of Scripture

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first read The Pursuit of God about two years ago, and have since given away about 30 copies. Nearly everyone who I have introduced to the book has thoroughly enjoyed it. Earlier this year I gave away my copy on an airplane, in which I had taken hundreds of notes. I am about to go through the book for the third time, and I look forward to what God will do through the words of Tozer as he encourages me to meditate on God's Word and apply it to a deeper, more passionate pursuit of God.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pursuit Of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dispatchman
Location:Los Lunas, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for all who quest for an intimate relationship with our Creator. A most loving God who will not interfere with our will, as he wishes we come to him freely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for growth....

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bert
Location:TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Enhances the depth of your daily walk and clears your mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pursuit Of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Justin
This is in the top 3 books I've ever read outside of the Bible. MUST READ for all Christians, but would probably better suit those that are at least 3 years into their walks. I found myself in prayer after each chapter, and right in the middle of some chapters!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia
I originally read this book for a Spiritual Formation Class. I'm so glad I had the opportunity to read it. It's an excellent book and it's helped to enrich my relationship with God. So many of the chapters spoke to my heart so much that I felt the tears falling. This is a book every Christian should read. It will bless your life. It will help to enlarge your understanding of life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pursuit Of God
This review is fromThe Pursuit of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dayra B
This book is easily becoming one of my favorites! I recommend this to anyone who is desiring a deeper relationship with the Lord and a biblical outlook on what being a christian truly means. It will bless you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.