Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook

Many men face two looming questions at some point in their life: "What does it mean to be a man, and am I one?" In his bestselling book, Wild at Heart, Eldredge empowered men to embark on an adventure to reclaim their manhood. The Way of the Wild Heart offers a detailed map on how to become a man. Exploring six biblically based stages of manhood, Eldredge initiates men into a new understanding and ownership of their masculinity and equips them to effectively lead their sons to manhood. Along the way, men will find what their father never gave them. Women will discover that before her man can love freely, he needs validation as a man, and parents will learn how boys become good men.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
Review 1 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read other Eldredge books and I have found all of them, including this one, to be excellent, timely, and very thought provoking. We are using this book and the workbook in our men's group as a group study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terryanne Dumelie
I am a wife, mother and teacher and was very surprised by the author's views on what a boy needs to do to become the man God wants him to be. So much of what we as women do to young boys is exactly opposite of what they need to develop their truly masculine character. It is an excellent book, and is a must read for all mothers of sons and teachers who teach boys. It is a marvelous read and helps women to understand males in a totally different way. I gave a copy to my son, who is in his twenties, and he told me it was the best gift I could ever have given him. I think it would be a great book for youth pastors to introduce to the young people in their youth groups. I believe that if teachers read it and understood some of the characteristcs that boys need to develop to beome men, it would make school much more enjoyable for boys as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Edward Lesser
"The way of the Wild Heart" is really a RoadMap to life for every Man and Dad. John Eldridge called it just that! These days everyman better take the time to read books thatgive directions for the Christian walk, because the world is always giving directionsthat just get you lost and in a place younever wanted to go in the first place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kirk Branson
This book has continued to change my life and how I look at what's really going on day to day. I read it once and now I'm re-reading it while using the available journal/handbook to work through my own story. I highly recommend this to any man at any age who still wants to grow in his relationship with our Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Johnson
As an Army Chaplain, I have the great responsibility to guide young soldiers through many areas of life. Using this book in our small group study has allowed my soldiers to gain a better understanding of what it means to be a man. This is an incredible resource
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bertha Greene
The book is an endtime ministry tool for today. The journey of a man is so critical and so many have not gone through each of the stages. So to be able to help men walk through each stage will not only help those who go through it to identify things that they have missed but it could possibly break a curse for future generations.I believe all to often we expect men to function as kings, when to no fault of their own, they have no idea of what and how to become one. The Way of The Wild Heart does just that.Bertha Greene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail Glass
Awesome! Really love that it has a workbookCan't wait to see what a difference it makes. I love that it uncovers why some just don't bear fruit/growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paul Ferrazzani
This book has a whole lot of gems in it. Every man, I mean every man should read this book to get insight on what God has done, is doing and will do in their lives. When they do, they WILL cry. In two short weeks and only half done reading, my treasure chest of manhood has been opened up. I have reached a more solid ground in my manhood,instead of hanging there on the edge of the cliff by my fingertips I am standing up and ready to reach the next plateau. Now I can help to mentor my kids and any other young man with their life. Thank God for John Eldredge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2007
I've read Eldredge's first book, Wild at Heart, and believe he has as good of a work here if not better. Wild at Heart is a pre-requisite to gain the most benefit from this volume. Even without having read the first title however, Eldredge here will resonate with many Christian male readers.I simply don't understand how other reviewers can say this book is shallow on its Biblical content -- I don't believe I have seen a better analogy to the life of David in any other work. The masculine journey, according to Eldredge, begins first at boyhood, then progresses to the cowboy, then warrior, lover, king and finally sage. While the author doesn't bluntly offer chapter and verse for the ideas he shares, anyone familiar with the life of David can see clearly the parallels.I recommend this book to all Christian men. Grandfathers, fathers, and sons alike will all find something here to inspire to walk closer to God and to develop much-needed relationships with other Christian men. This title is well-worth the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joseph A Hines Jr
The introduction immediately dialed in the potential blessings I'll receive upon reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sean
It is truly tragic that a potential buyer of such an insightful, helpful and truly biblically sound book as this must wade through an inflated and errant critique as was put forth by Ray Hammond above. John's Wild at Heart books truly draw out of men what has in various ways and means been forced into hiding - those traits, passions and giftings God designed men to exhibit FOR God's glory. Ray chooses to deride John to the point of implying that his writing is heretical. He attributes false interpretation of Scripture to John's saying "On page 25 he cites Matthew 7:9-10 to support his statement that most men feel essentially fatherless, saying that that is why Jesus taught on the fatherhood of God so much." This was not John's intent and the patient reader could not reach the conclusion Ray did. Many, many men do deal daily with the repercussions of fatherless-ness and Jesus many teachings pointed us to The Father, the one who is a "Father to the fatherless". God is the true Father and can heal our wounds, which is precisely the point of John's book. John further leads his reader to discover how God fathers us, how He led/related to Jesus and how we can learn to raise our sons through His model. That John uses movies and other godly writers is anything but anti-Christian. Ray writes This is a typical practice among church growth pastors who tend to have a fixation on using Hollywood to support so-called biblical teaching and popular culture. Jesus spoke often in parables (stories) and used local culture to drive home His points. Lastly, he effectively implied that C.S. Lewis, Neil Anderson and others were heretical. This is a tragic summation of authors who have had an exponentially profound effect on the lives of countless readers, leading them into a rich and extremely better understanding of the Lord. This and Johns other books are profoundly insightful, scriptural and lead readers TO the Father, not away from Him. Blessings!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey - eBook
This review is fromThe Way of the Wild Heart, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mark Winstead
Eldredge, though often accused of being another naked, drum banging, macho man, shows the full picture of manhood in this book. He shows us we have permission to be tender, sensitive, as well as the warrior, kingly, authoritative types other men's books often demonstrate.Most non-Western societies, in addition to Jewish and some other more Western influenced societies, have initiation into manhood. We've lost that in the West, and we are hurting due to it. John gives a framework for initiating a boy, and for a male adult to recover the initiation he missed. I like that he gives it in a framework fashion, as each male is an individual. This is often missed by readers and listeners of Eldredge -- that he gives example and frameworks, not a prescription. Each dad reading this is given enough to frame an initiation that goes for his son's heart and points the son to the Father, while seeking from God what the dad missed.And as always, John points to God for final say, not his own ego. The question for us readers is, will we lead/prompt our churches to more intentionally initiate our boys to being men?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.