Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Christmas Stories for Bedtime

Barbour Publishing Christmas Stories for Bedtime

Kids love Christmas and the stories that go along with the season. Christmas Stories for Bedtime contains thirty-one readings for kids ages 5 to 8. They all center on the birth of Jesus and the bright, colorful illustrations bring the stories alive. Read these stories at bedtime and your kids will want to go to bed!
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Review 1 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alemap
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bedtime reading of stories relating to the Christmas Season.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best for young children

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gloria H
Location:Lionden, AB., Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We passed this book on to a couple with younger children. This is a good starter for couples who want to start focussing more on Christ's birth with their young children in December.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Christmas

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
April
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loved me reading this to her every night. The Bible verse was a little difficult to understand due to the translation, but the stories were great! Also, don't leave the book open face down, our cover came unglued. Still love the book though!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids Loved this!!!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chirstine
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We started reading this book at betime right after thanksgiving with my kids (5,4,1) and the absolutely LOVED it. There are songs to sing and the stories are written so kids can understand it. Perfect book for your kids to really understand the TRUE meaning of chirstmas. I even bought on for my little niece who was born right after chirstmas :) The onyl thing that i dont really like is taht is seems to be cheaply made, the binding on our is already falling apart, i even purposly kept it out of the kids reach so they wouldnt ruin it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginny
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The stories in this book are beautifully and factually told, and the illustrations are lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great book about the birth of Christ

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Keasler
Location:Nashville,Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this both for it was a good book to tell my great neice about the birth of christ and why we celebrate Christmas. It is not about gifts but about Jesus how he died on the cross for our sins and he gave His life freely so we can have everlasting life thru Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for children!

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stories for the Christmas season were well written and easily understood by children. They are short enough to be a quick read before bedtime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
dramaroom
Location:Stony Plain, AB, Cdn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a class set for my students and was delighted with the value of this product. Wonderful little devotional for the pre-Christmas season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great first reader

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Mark
Location:Col., OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren love the short stories and it keeps there attention. What a wonderful true story book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sassy
Location:Ft Wayne IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book is fine for the amount I spent. I was able to read several pages to my 3 year old granddaugter because they were so short. But that left them simple in design and a little boring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma Dianne
Location:Alma Center, WI.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my Grandchildren to read at bedtime, in preparation for the Christ Child's birth. Their Mothers were so impressed with the stories. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but...

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
I AM their mother
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I like this book except for 2 things:
1. For some reason, it hasn't grabbed the attention of my almost 4 y.o.
2. The verses are all in KJV and the songs at the end (so far) have very difficult language for little ones.
I do like the personal applications and everything else about the book. Maybe next year when she's almost 5....?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
SueG
Location:Pensacola, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our church was looking for an affordable children's book to distribute free of cost to children in the community to give them the true meaning of Christmas. This book does that quite well, as it weaves 30 days of interesting stories around the birth of Christ using scripture passages, hymns, and illustrations. It works well for a wide range of ages, 5-8, and I think even younger siblings would enjoy listening to a brief telling of the stories. There is enough content in the book that it could be easily tailored to the age of your children. Each story even includes a brief life application which would be great to use with the older children. This book would make a nice advent tradition with 30 days of stories, one for every night until Christmas Day. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful value!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lutheranne
Location:E. Windsor, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered these for my 3rd grade Sunday School students. These are perfect for them -- and especially for the bargain price I paid ($1.99 by buying 10)! I love that the Christmas story is told in simple words (but not TOO simple for 3rd graders!) followed by a prayer and a poem (actually lyrics of a related Christmas carol.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for young readers

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Genmamma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this before I sent it to my grandson. There is Scripture, Devotional, Prayer and then a poem that young students can understand and relate to everyday life centering around the Christmas stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful way to tell the Christmas story to child

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mackie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful way to put children to bed with during the Christmas season. Reminds them of the true meaning of Christmas. And they can go to sleep thinking about Jesus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to use for the Advent Season

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue Hope
Location:Essex, Ont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was exactly what i have been looking for! It contains a scripture reading & a short portion of the Christmas story with a practical application for today. Following each devotional is a Christmas hymn which is perfect for my 6 year old who constantly wants bedtime songs to follow her bedtime story ... my mind was starting to run dry! Christmas Stories for Bedtime is a great book to use during the advent season. I wish I had it when my other kids were young!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
cautiousmom
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I gave this book mixed reviews primarily in part due to the fact it did not meet my expectations. I purchased for my son and I to read a Christmas story every night before bed during the month of December and it just wasn't what I had expected. I would recommend to someone else simply because overall, it was a well done kids book...but it didn't necessarily grab our attention and make us want to read it each night the way other books have. There appear to excerpts from carols or hymns intermixed with a daily prayer, bible verse and some rendition of the Christmas story. I just was expecting something different.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful christmas book!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Chesapeake/Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great buy! It tells of the birth of Jesus, without overburden my kids. The stories are short enough, it also has carols and poems in it.My kids love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Christmas Stories for Bedtime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful for Advent Devotions

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alisha
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In past years we've used Yolanda Brown's fantastic book "Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Prayer & Activity Book for the Family" as the main part of our Advent celebration each evening, but this year our daughter turned six and we wanted something a little more advanced. We bought "Christmas Stories for Bedtime" and have been enjoying it so much. The illustrations are cute and the stories well-written at an appropriate level for the young child. My daughter is even able to read the prayers aloud (with a bit of help).
As we also have two 22-month-old twins I appreciate that the stories are brief. They get antsy if we go too long between songs and/or activities. They have inherited "Getting Ready for Christmas" and I expect that they will inherit this Advent devotional as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>