Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Complete Visual Bible

Barbour Publishing The Complete Visual Bible

Take a stunning pictorial journey through God's Word, from Genesis to Revelation! Easy to read and lavishly illustrated, Miller's compelling guide pairs brief text with gorgeous paintings, brilliant photographs, colorful maps, and striking graphics to highlight key points in all 66 books of the Bible. A wonderful visual experience for the whole family! 528 pages, softcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Complete Visual Bible
Review 1 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shay
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has got to be one of THE BEST books ever (besides the actual bible:))!!! I've been a fan of Stephen M. Miller's books for quite awhile now, and he never disappoints...ever. Great writer/researcher and he puts everything in plain English for beginner and advanced Christians to comprehend. You'll love the visuals and the back history on some things you never would have known. Keep em coming Steve!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS PRODUCT WAS VERY INFORMATIVE

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT WAS VERY INFORMATIVE, I REALLY COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Yikes

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As one reviewer has already mentioned, the narrative of this book is highly questionable and leaves much to be desired. The author seasons most pages with other believe systems, religious traditions of today, and a lot of secular mumbo-jumbo. The writing is very loose and ultimately does not convey a high esteem for the Holy Word of God.
The author seems largely interested in secularizing the Scriptures, and for this reason I could never recommend this book.
I got up to the point where a sidebar narrative questioned: "Was Jesus Depressed?" The answer given: "Probably." And he went on to qualify his statement with the way Jesus wept tears of blood.
Wow. Danger! Step awayyyyy from this book.
0points
11of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brad
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely a great resource. It is not and should not be considered a bible-replacement, but it is a great tool to use to help understand the stories in the bible. It is one of the best bible study tools I've seen to date. It has incredible pictures and easy to follow text. What really sells me on the book though is the amount of stunning photos, maps, and paintings this book offers. Just the pictures alone were incredibly engaging. If you are looking for a big-picture view of ALL of the major stories in the bible, look no further than this book full of big pictures!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great idea well-executed!

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Complete Visual Bible is a great idea well executed. Whether you are new to the Bible or someone who has read it for years this book is a great aid. I especially appreciate the tables and charts of topics such as the false gods overcome in each of the ten plagues of Moses; the five Jewish sacrifices, the parables of Jesus, and the critique of the seven churches of Ephesus. I especially loved the picture chart of kosher and non-kosher foods, the photograph of locusts, and the picture of each of the precious and semi-precious stones that make up the walls of heaven.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Better resources are available

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is a summary of the Bible with some full-color pictures of paintings and maps related to the events as well as some illustrative photos (like of a mandrake, a goat, household idols, etc.). There were a few sidebars with cultural background information about the described event, but it's the quality of information you'd find in a study Bible. I didn't find that it really added any deep insight into the Bible and none of the information was new to me.
Also, while this book did briefly mention traditional views of the Bible (like that the Torah was written by Moses), the author presented these views in a dismissive way and included much more information on Bible-critical views (like the view that the Old Testament wasn't put down in written form--beyond the law--until King David's time). I felt like the author didn't believe in the supernatural events described in the Bible. For example, he included one sentence on the traditional view of the plagues in Exodus but gave a paragraph plus a large sidebar to explain the view that the plagues were simply typical natural disasters for Egypt (and he doesn't point out that the Egyptians would hardly be impressed with Moses if this was just a natural disaster cycle they experienced every year). He also has a "Bible History" timeline set next to a secular world history timeline so that it's obvious that the two don't agree for much of the Old Testament.
Since this book is dismissive toward my views of the Bible, I didn't particularly enjoy it. While easy to read, I also don't quite see the point of this book. You'd get more out of reading a study Bible and looking at a Bible atlas or Bible handbook. If that's too much reading, "The Essential Bible Guide" by Menashe Har-El, Paul Wright, and Baruch Sarel gives a reader a much greater depth of information in half the pages of this book. Personally, I wouldn't recommend "The Complete Visual Bible."
I received this book as a eBook review copy from the publisher.
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully illustrated

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Grisetti
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With his unique "journalistic" approach to the material, Steve Miller takes us inside the Bible as few other writers have, bringing its stories to life with vivid illustrations and colorful maps. Telling the story of God's relationship with his people in rich detail -- yet with a gentle wit -- he makes it all feel as real as today's headlines.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Visual Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cultural Experience for the Eyes and the Heart

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Complete Visual Bible by Stephen Miller is a cultural experience for the eyes and the heart that brings the stories of Scripture to life without having to travel to the Holy Land. Miller highlights the main points of all 66 books of the Bible with accessible language for all believers. The book is rich in photos, paintings, archaeological artifacts, and historical records from the cultures of Biblical times.
Each book of the Bible begins with a picture that sums up the theme of the book and is entitled ‘Big Scene’. The storyline of each book is given as well as a Biblical and world history timeline. Location, date and authorship are laid out and the book is divided into thematic or chapter sections. This is where the historical and cultural background to the text comes alive. The author includes the science behind many of the Biblical events, which I found fascinating. There are colourful maps, beautiful works of art, historical artifacts and stunning photographs of biblical sites, people, events and items that help to bring the reader deeper into the text. Also included are charts to help understand many issues and events including: Jewish sacrifices and how they needed to be prepared, the Egyptian plagues, the seasons of life in Ecclesiastes, and the parables of Jesus, just to name a few. There was some doubling of pictures that I found disappointing.
The Complete Visual Bible is an excellent resource to complement both church and personal Bible study. It would also be a good tool to teach older children, although it would need to be used with caution and supervision as some of the artwork and themes are not appropriate for children. This book is a compelling and thought provoking read that encourages the reader to dig deeper into cultural history in order to understand the perspective from which the biblical authors wrote and how it informs our understanding of Scripture today.
I give this book 4 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from the publisher through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. This book will be published 1 April 2011 by Barbour Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.