Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3

Barbour Publishing Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3

Ride out west to join the last sawmill bride as she attempts to select her mate. Naomi Higgins isn't about to settle for just anybody. Carpenter Michael Strode and his son-a chip off the old block-are ready to start a new life. Can they convince Naomi to be a part of their future when problems from the past still haunt Hope Falls? Will secrets sabotage the struggling town-and any hope of romance?
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Review 1 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third in the Husbands for Hire series the mine is being riddled by mysterious explosions and cave ins. Along comes Michael, a carpenter in search of a safe place for his son away from his overbearing in-laws. But Michael isn't looking for love, especially after being roped into a marriage of convenience in the past. But he and Naomi find themselves drawn together amidst the turmoil at the mine, made even worse by Naomi's manipulative sister coming to town. Will they ever be able to make sense of all the chaos?
If you've read the other two books, I'm sure that this is a must-read! I came into the series with this third installment, so it did take me awhile to figure out what was going on. But when I did, I found this to have an engaging plot and plenty going on, with many twists and turns.
What made this book hard for me to read was just how horrible Naomi's sister was, she was a character that readers will probably love to hate. The main characters were strong, and I really liked Michael and Naomi and they both struggled to thrive in the midst of adversity and people that made their lives miserable.
Overall, a good way to tie up the ends of a series. I think my favorite character was Michael, because he had a calm leadership about him, and a strong faith. There were some pretty humorous situations, that were just the funniest to picture mentally. A great introduction to Kelly Eileen Hake's books.
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of the three!

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read and enjoyed all three of the husbands for hire series by Kelly Eileen Hake and this last one is definitely my favorite. I loved the characters, the story, and the fact that all loose ends were tied up by the end of the book. The writing was in my opinion, the author's best and kept me turning the pages until the very end. The Christian values were there and the story line was great. Check them out for yourself--BUT read them in order!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
This review is fromStrong and Stubborn - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life is never flat open road to travel

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the last bride of the sawmill tries to decide if she has
found the right the husband, life does what it normally
does, throws a few curves in road. This last book ties
the series together and makes all three great reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Three in Husbands For Hire Series

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book three in the Husbands For Hire Series. You do not have to read the others to enjoy this one but it does help. The other titles in the series are Rugged and Relentless and Tall, Dark and Determined.
My favorite part of this book was the list of characters in the front. Without that list I would have been lost. I had to refer to the list a few times to keep the story straight. There are a lot of characters in all her books in this series so be sure to pay attention to who is talking to whom!
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I liked the story line and thought the author wrote a compelling story. I did however find parts of the story boring. It may just be me however so please read the story for yourself as you may enjoy the long descriptions and tedious dialog.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Western, A Romance and A Mystery

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Eileen Hake in her new book, “Strong and Stubborn ” Book Three in the Husbands For Hire series published by Barbour Publishing Inc. takes us back to Hope Falls, Colorado in 1887.
From the back cover: Wanted: 1 3 Godfearing men….Object: Marriage and joint ownership of a sawmill
Stubborn Last Choice…
When Naomi Higgins and her friends came to Hope Falls, Colorado, turning an abandoned mining town into a thriving sawmill required lots of hope…and husbands! With two other women already engaged, Naomi’s the only bride left. And she’s not about to settle for just anybody.
Meets Strong Last Chance…
Carpenter Michael Strode agreed to a marriage of convenience years ago, ending up with an already pregnant wife he didn’t love. Now a widower with in-laws desperate to control their only heir, Mike needs to hide his son and start fresh. Hope Falls seems the perfect place.
Will the Past Keep Them from Moving Forward…Together?
Mike is ready to claim the life–and bride–of his choice. But when the man Naomi once loved comes to town, alongside the loggers vying for her hand, the competition could derail their newfound partnership.
Will old mistakes and new mysteries confuse new love, or will God’s guidance help them forge a future?
“Strong and Stubborn” is the last book in this series and, I believe, is the best of the three. This whole series has been a clever twist on the mail order brides genre. This time is it mail order husbands and this is what makes it great fun to read. Michael didn’t even answer the ad, he has come to town looking for a fresh start and meets Naomi. He prefers to keep his distance from her, even though he is attracted to her, until he finds out the truth and then he finds she is attracted to another man. Now he has to work to win her back. Ms. Hake is at her clever best and not only gives us a nice romance but wraps up the plot threads that have been dangling over the last two books. “Strong and Stubborn” is a Western, a romance and an altogether enjoyable read. I am sorry to see this series end however I do look forward to more from this very talented writer.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
lmkitz
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the stories this author comes up with and this one was a page turner from the beginning. By the time I got finished with this book, I felt as though I had experienced every moment of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great ending!

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4.5 Stars
Naomi has a secret so scandalous she prays it never comes to life or it would ruin her and the friends she loves the most. Now that her friends have found a mate its up to her to choose so they can all be married but who would want her? Michael comes to town looking for a job so he can provide for his son and keep him safe from his deceased wife's parents who want to take his son as their own. He never plans to marry again but meeting Naomi makes him wonder if he could find love? Also the ladies continue to try to finally find out who might be behind the cave in's of the now closed mine. Could Lacey's brother finally find peace knowing he was not to blame but will it come in time to keep them all safe?
This is book 3 and the final book in the Husbands for Hire series. I very much enjoyed this book and thought it did a good job wrapping up the series.
What I liked: I liked Naomi a lot just from the first two books and her story was quite interesting. I felt bad for her and really wanted her to find happiness. I was also happy to see Brandon and Cora finally settle their relationship as well. We also find out who was behind the mine collapsing and it was quite a shock to find out the reason behind it.
What I did not like: Not to much. The only thing I was expecting was a little more from the side story-line with Michael's in-laws. I thought they might show up again towards the end but they did not.
Over all this was a fun book to read and a great wrap up to the series. I will warn you that you must read all three books and in order or you will be very confused as some parts of the previous book overlap and would cause confusion otherwise. I highly recommend this book.
This was a fun series to read. I am sad to see it end to be truthful. All three of the ladies where fun to read about and had spunk that kept me laughing. I also liked how the suspense part of the story-line weaved through all three of the books and each book solved a small piece of the over all puzzle. Book 1 and 3 where my favorites. You must start with book one and work your way through all three or you will be quite lost as the three books are very much tied together. If you enjoy historical fiction, a bit of suspense and romance you will love this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Husbands for Hire Series Book 3

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi Higgins lost her beau, Harry Blinman to her sister Charlotte. After a irreversible misunderstanding her family sends her away to help her cousin Lacey Lyman. Five years later Naomi finds herself in Hope Falls, Colorado Territory. Along with three other women they are living the unconventional life of running a town full of men. Men who are there because they answered an ad the women put out that they were looking for husbands for hire. Naomi is the last woman standing and it’s coming down to her making a choice from the men who are vying for her attentions. Only she wants the one man who is not in her wooing line.
Michael Strode had to escape his in-laws. After his wife passed away they wanted to take his ten year old son, Luke, from him. He’d rather leave everything he knew and keep Luke. So he did. A friend suggested he go see a Mr. Lawson in Hope Falls for a job. It was perfect and so was Naomi. If only he felt worthy to court such a beauty.
Two people afraid of moving into their futures freely because of past mistakes. Carrying their burdens instead of allowing God’s forgiveness to remove those yokes. This book also brings back all the characters from the first two books in this series; Rugged and Relentless and Tall, Dark, and Determined. Braden Lyman & Cora Thompson who’s story is continued through each book, Jake Granger and Evie Thompson & Chase Dunstan and Lacey Lyman along with the lumberjacks and other residents of Hope Falls. Love, adventure, suspense and surprises fill the pages of this book. A really good series.
**Received through NetGalley for review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read after a long wait

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Amy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the third book in the Husbands for Hire series by Kelly Eileen Hake. This book focuses on Noami as the last unclaimed bride in Hope Falls. Michael Strode is a recently widowed carpenter setting out to try and make a new life for himself and his son.
One of my first thoughts about this book is that it is not a stand alone book. I think you must have read the first two books in order to follow the third. With that being said I read the first two books when they were first published and it has been a while so I really could have used a refresher. I got a little lost at times trying to remember details from the previous books. There is a handy little guide that gives a brief description of each character that was helpful though. I might have to go back and read all three in a row in order to make sure I got it all. There is alot going on in each book.
Naomi and the other three ladies in the story put an ad in the paper for husbands. They are landowners in what used to a be a mining town and is now a logging town thanks to the mine collapse and their attempt to redeem the town and their lives. They had no clue that when they got to Hope Falls they would be greeted by many men who came as a result of the ad. The first two books cover two of them women meeting their men and the third focuses on Naomi. The men were happy to work for food and shelter as long as the women were still available to woo, but with just one woman left the game changes. Michael has no idea what he has happened upon in Hope Falls. He simply came for a job and a fresh start from his wife's family. The story also continues with the story of Braden and Cora and their struggle to determine what their relationship will be after the accident.
I liked this book. The story wrapped up part of it, but also left so questions and more story that needed to be told. I feel like it set up for more books to be written in either this series or an additional series. I didn't feel like Braden and Cora's story had been completed and then there is more to tell about all those loggers wanting brides.
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Happy Ending

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
When the silver mine of Hope Falls, Colorado collapsed, owner Braden was injured and the investors lost their money. Braden’s fiancé and her sister, together with Braden’s sister and cousin, traveled to Hope Falls with the intent to start a sawmill to recoup their financial losses and look after Braden. Knowing that they would need men they could trust to work the sawmill, they advertised for three “God fearing men” for marriage and joint ownership of the mill. As Strong and Stubborn opens, Naomi is the last available bride, and she’d prefer to marry for love, not settle for suitability. Michael Strode is a widower seeking work and a fresh start with his young son. Michael arrives in Hope Falls just as another “accident” happens in the mine, which reveals that the collapses were not accidents but deliberate.
The people of this series are by turns amusing and admirable, and sometimes just plain annoying. Each of the main characters mature spiritually through the hard times in a believable way.
I enjoyed reading Strong and Stubborn. The mystery of the mine collapse was finally solved with the responsible individuals remaining unknown till the end of the story, and Naomi’s unhappy past is buried as she looks forward to a happier future. Although there are many series in which individual books are great “stand alone” stories, I believe you would do yourself a disservice to skip the first two books of “Husbands for Hire.” Together they tell a complete and enjoyable story of lives and hard work as the West was settled.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Strong and Stubborn, Husbands for Hire Series #3
This review is fromStrong and Stubborn - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this entire series!!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
I took the time to read the complete Husbands For Hire Series by Kelly Eileen Hake and am so glad I did. Strong and Stubborn is book #3 in the series and a very fun and entertaining book. The other two books in this series are #1 Rugged & Relentless and #2 Tall, Dark, and Determined, which I have to say was my favorite of the three. I found myself laughing out loud at the characters in this series often and also feeling their pain. I give this book and the series a 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait to read more books by Kelly and I plan to buy this series for my teen grand daughters.
I received Strong and Stubborn from Barbour Publishing, Incorporated in exchange for my honest review and was not paid for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.