Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DayMaker A Celebration of the Simple Life

DayMaker A Celebration of the Simple Life

Join Brunstetter in celebrating the simple life of the Plain People! Pairing devotional readings and Scripture from the KJV with her original poetry, this gift book encourages you to reflect on your attitudes, responsibilities, and Christian duty in light of the Amish philosophy of simplicity. A breath of fresh air for those under stress! 96 pages, hardcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Review 1 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Seni
Location:PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a beautiful book full of wonderful photos and inspiring words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this book, A Celebration of the Simple Life by Wanda Brunstetter. It is hardcover and 5 1/2 (width) x 7 1/2. What an encouragement to read this book. Great gift for any occasion. I bought over 10 of them so I will always have a great gift to give. Great quality, scripture is KJV.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you want to simplify your life

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Bufton
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is set up in short devotional style and gives the reader good ideas, via the author's experiences with the Amish and their lifestyles, for making your life simpler, less stressful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes a great gift!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
June Beeler
Location:Sutter, Il.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little book to read one story at a time or to read clear through in one setting. lots of inspirational things to think about. The ribbon marker adds so much to this little hard cover book. Enjoyed it a lot and gave a copy to a friend recovering from surgery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful devotions and recipes

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bear
Location:New Martinsville, WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! I received this book as a gift, and then I bought it for a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This would be a great gift for a loved one

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything I've read by Wanda Brunsetter. There is something calming about reading her books and A Celebration of the Simple Life brings that same calmness. It is a nice book and the layout and pictures are beautiful! I love all the poems. Its an easy read that you can sit and read page by page or just open it up and pick any page. I would definatly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would make a lovely gift

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a lovely little book, I only wish I could have held the real thing rather than an eBook. This is a wonderful devotional that I know I'd love to own. There are over thirty reflections under the headings "Attitude", "Responsibility" and "Christian Duty" on subjects such as "A Humble Attitude" and "Responsibility to Fellowship." Each reflection includes a poem from Wanda Brunstetter, a Bible verse, a note from Brunstetter relating the scripture to an example in the Amish lifestyle and a small prayer. This is all completed with absolutely stunning photography that will simply take your breath away; I simply cannot emphasise enough how beautiful these pictures are. Although I'm not a fan of Brunstetter's fictional work, she does have a wealth of knowledge about the Amish and I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the Amish or loves reading novels about them or anyone who just wants to simplify their life. This would make the perfect gift or stocking filler as it isn't particularly large or expensive. I only wish I'd known about this when I was making my Christmas list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
mammy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As in The Simple Life, this is very similar but inspiring.
Love the poems!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is Very well written

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this book and the Amish life .
This books show we can live life in these busy times
if we slow down and reflet on How to treat others
and being in tune with what God has created.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is amazing

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another masterpiece by Wanda E. Brunstetter, this book will touch your heart, and give you a taste of the world of The Simple People. I highly recommend this book to any reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

simplys life

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
annieoak
Location:York, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the book as it shows that we can all still live in this crazy world by living a simplified life. It show another point of view to the people with the "got to keep up with the Jones" concept. Great colorful cover and very inspiring words thru the book. Another great job done on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is beautifully writter.

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Location:Lorain, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like all of Wanda Brunstettter's books, this book is beautifully written. It is a wonderful devotional to read and to give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Booklover
Location:Colfax WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my copy … it is filled with inspiring Poems by Wanda, encouraging scripture and delightful stories with life lessons. What a special book and just in time for Holiday giving.. both Thanksgiving and Christmas!! Another great job Wanda.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful photo's and book

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am somewhat disappointed with the contents of this book. It is very similar to another book, The simple life written by Brunstetter. BUT...the quality is exceptional. It has a beautiful cover, beautiful photo's and the pages are gilded in gold. But, for me, I have read the stories allready. For someone that doesnt have the previous book I spoke of...this would be wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Celebration of the Simple Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be very uplifting and easy to read. It had alot about the Amish Lifestyle and was a joy to read. Wands did an excellent job on this book. I f you are looking for an enjoyable book and one that will inspire you; then you need this simple little book. It's very uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.