Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2

Barbour Publishing Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2

Former Marine sniper Colton "Cowboy" Neeley is recovering from a life of bad choices. Piper Blum, daughter of dissident Yakov Rosenblum, is in hiding--from life and the assassins gunning for her family. When she begs Colton to help extract her father from Israel, Colton petitions the group Nightshade to consider the mission. The team agrees, and soon they're deep six--straight into the Holy Land for a snatch-n-grab of Yakov. Will Colton and Piper make the treacherous trek out of hostile territory and into safety with their love--and lives--intact?
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Review 1 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

riveting adventure

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
RaeH
Location:Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my vacation based on the reviews I had read. They did not steer me wrong. By the second chapter I was hooked, several times reading well into the night because I couldn't put it down! Coming from a military family, the accuracy and detail the author used was incredibly refreshing; their writing skill so good that it makes the reader feel like they are right there in the story. I have already recommended it to several friends and acquaintances. Definitely worth the read. As soon as I read the last line I thought, "Now I HAVE to get the next book."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cowboy's Story Brings Forgiveness

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“One shot. One kill.” This is the sniper’s motto that Colton “Cowboy” Neeley considers when he’s working on a mission. Digitalis is Colton’s story. The book opens with Colton enjoying himself at a family barbeque when he’s overwhelmed with a powerful flashback that puts himself and his family in danger. That’s when he gets the invitation to get the help he needs and to join Nightshade. Colton is a believer and he’s desperate to be whole again, time and prayer so far have not eased his instability. Nightshade gives him the chance he needs to overcome his demons.
For months, Colton has been visiting a store called Hastings on the way home from missions. He has a valid reason to shop there each time, but the main reason he goes is to have an interaction with a certain saleswoman, Piper. One day Colton brings his daughter McKenna “Mickey” to the store and they get separated from one another. That’s the opportunity needed for Piper to be properly introduced to Colton and McKenna instantly becomes attached to her. However, Piper’s secretive identity gets mixed in with Nightshade and a tragedy occurs. Colton’s devastation and response to this tragedy changes his attitude towards Piper completely. Will he ever be able to forgive Piper?
General Lambert has now ordered the team to get monthly mandatory counseling (yes sir, I completely concur with this decision) and he’s trying to find a replacement for the team with caution and precision. Dr. Katherine Avery is the appointed shrink and she is brilliant dealing with Colton. It’s also discovered that General Lambert has access to information in each member’s personal life. On the one hand, it’s good to know they’re being looked after and protected. On the other hand, it can also feel like an invasion of privacy and their lives are no longer their own.
I soooo enjoyed the romance between Colton and Piper in this book, but for some reason I didn’t feel as broken up over death in this story even though it is sad. MOST of the story takes place around Colton’s home and he gets a great opportunity to learn more about Piper. However, he is unable to get the answers he needs in time and this brings more trouble to the team. The other part of this story takes place in Israel and another mission goes badly.
There are still missions in this book, but not as detailed as the main part of the plot revolves around Piper and the secrets she protects. There is also not as many scenes with Nightshade. Colton starts out as the easygoing fella he’s known as in book 1, but his personality drastically changes at one point and he becomes the hothead that Max was known for in book 1. This demeanor doesn’t fit with Colton and brings a different kind of tension to the story. There is one scene where he deliberately aims a gun at Piper intent on shooting, that stunned me. However, I’m now learning that Kendig writes in tough females for these men and Piper is NO DOUBT Colton’s equal in every way.
Digitalis illustrates more heroic action from the Nightshade team, but it also illustrates what brokenness will do to a person no matter what their training and skills are. The character journey in this story is learning to let go, learning to trust God on His terms, and learning to forgive. As human beings, we were designed and destined to be connected with a sovereign and holy God, but the choice is ours whether we follow Him with our hearts or do things our own way. This book in no way preaches its messages, it’s lived out and reflected tangibly within its characters. You will feel the pain, confusion, and frustration that Colton goes through, but you will also draw strength and inspiration from the redemption and forgiveness he discovers (for himself and for others). There is healing and freedom to be had from traumatic flashbacks and PTSD, but the journey is different for everyone. I really enjoyed book 2 of this incredible series and I’m so happy Colton found his happy ending.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
This review is fromDigitalis - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want to put it dowwn

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wink
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronnie Kendig has done it again! I found myself not wanting to put this book down. The characters became real and the setting current. I think this is the best of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
This review is fromDigitalis - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Digitalis is a very good book. The cowboy falls in love with a saleswoman at the local mall, not knowing she's an Israeli Messianic Jew in hiding from terrorists. Forced to keep so many secrets from each other to protect others they care about, they struggle to find out if their love is strong enough to overcome every challenge they encounter. Just as good as the first book, action packed and full of mystery, you will be guessing to the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't wait to read this one after the first book in the series. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the Discarded Heroes series, Digitalis is my favorite. It has all the elements that I love in a good book. The characters came to life, that would be my personal favorite thing, but in every scene, it was written true. I really hate it in a book where I have to think, that so would not happen, but with this book, I was able to stay right with the story.
The flashbacks that Cowboy experienced were really kind of scary they were written so realistic. Great book. Don't miss it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why did I wait so long to read this book? It was sitting on my bookshelf for over a year and then I finally grabbed it 3 days ago. I was very busy those last 3 days and that's not the best time to grab a Ronie Kendig book. You have to read Ronie's books in one sitting, but I had to do it in 3. When I wasn't reading I was thinking about how the story would continue. There was not one moment that the story was slow or not interesting.
I really felt for our sniper Cowboy--Colton Neeley. He has to live with flasbacks to horrible incidents in his life. Sometimes they're so real that he doesn't know if he's living in the present or in the past.
He's afraid to start a relationship with a woman, because he thinks no woman wants a broken man like him. But he has set his eyes on a beautiful lady named Piper Blum. When circumstances bring them together he finds out that Piper is not the woman who he thought she was. Actually Piper Blum does not even exist! When bad guys are found in her appartment he knows she's hiding more than only her identity.
Colton is confused and doesn't trust her anymore. Then something tragic happens to his family and he blames Piper for it.
Piper is protecting her father, but she can't tell anyone, because that will endanger her father's life. She's torn between her love for Colton and her father. But after the tragic happening she must tell the whole story.
The Nightshade team go to rescue Piper's father, but what seemed like a snap-and-grab mission turned out much more dangerous than they had imagined.
During the mission Colton and Piper are thrown together. Will they find a way to overcome the obstacles that stand between them?
After reading Dead Reckoning I knew I had found a new favorite author. With Nightshade and Digitalis Ronie did a fantastic job. Can't wait to read the other books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
PamS
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed the book. keep me on the edge of my seat. hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vanilla
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Discarded Heroes Series are great! I would recommend everyone to read this book and the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Brunswick, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this series!! Just like Nightshade couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

read this book!!!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's cool about the Discarded Heroes series is that you could easily begin with this book and not be completely lost; each of the three books are connected, but can also stand on their own. While the main characters are the same (with new supporting characters/plot lines for each novel), the books focus on a different main character each time.
I read the books "in order," and, while you gain from reading in order, you lose nothing if you started with, say, the second book first.
Not that it matters too much; once you read this book, you'll be buying 1 and 3 pretty quickly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book to follow up the first one

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipferling
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyable to read. good characters. could be read by all genders, not just a man's book. look forward to the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fast paced, suspenseful read

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by this author. I would somewhat liken her writing to that of Irene Hannon. I expected more romance, less action. The truth is, this book has far more action, which makes it equally good for men or women. The author did a great job drawing me in to the main character, Colton "Cowboy" Neeley. I felt his pain, wrestled with his moral dilemmas and rooted for him on every page. The heroine, Piper Blum, had a fascinating back story that wove in well to the overall plot of the book. The military sequences were quite realistic, the danger palpable. I loved the theme of "discarded heroes", of walking with them through their failures and pain, but witnessing their healing and finally, their redemption. The author has a depth of understanding both of the military and human frailty, which she balanced together beautifully with hope in this book. A recommended read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
This review is fromDigitalis - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting book

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daphne Hvizdak
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good read. I found myself intriged on how they would resolve their differences. Good infusion of spiritual principles into the plot. Action sequences were tense and I was unable to put the book down until finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mesmerizing and Suspenseful!

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Digitalis, written by Ronie Kendig, is the second book in the Discarded Heroes series. Each book in the series revolves around a different character who has served time in the military, seen action in various conflicts around the globe, and returned home, worn out, damaged in some way, and unappreciated for the service that they have given for our country and its people. Each of the discarded heroes are recruited to serve as members of a very secret black ops group named Nightshade.
In Digitalis, we read about Colton Neeley who is an ex-marine and has left his military career to raise his precocious four-year-old daughter, Mickey. As a result of the events that he has lived through in the military, Colton suffers from terrible flashbacks; flashbacks that are so severe that they sometimes interfere with his ability to function in life's daily routines.
A shopping trip brings Colton in contact with Piper, a beautiful young woman with secrets of her own. Without giving away too much of the plot, I will just say that a romance begins to bloom between Colton and Piper until the day that both of their pasts collide with the present and they must either overcome the obstacles or go their separate ways.
My review:
Did you ever read books by an author whose writing immediately struck home with you and every word resonated and leaped off the pages to form a picture so vivid that the line of demarcation between fiction and reality became so thin that it was nearly nonexistent? This is the case with me and Ronie's books. Ronie Kendig is a writer with a phenomenal talent and ability to capture the reader's attention with the first sentence of her books and never let go until the final page is turned.
At the risk of sounding trite, I would add that the characters become real and are not mere cardboard cutouts. The reader can readily sympathize with their plight and feel the anguish along with Colton and Piper as they confront many precarious and hazardous trials. The author also very capably demonstrates that it is only through faith in God, trust in his omnipotent power, and love, both divine and human, that Colton and Piper are able to overcome their pasts and the obstacles that are thrown in their paths.
Digitalis is the first book that I have read by Ronie Kendig. However, I am currently reading book one of this series, Nightshade, and I am finding it to be every bit as mesmerizing and riveting as was Digitalis. While it is not essential to read the books in this series in sequential order, I would recommend that you begin with book one simply because it lays the groundwork for the Nightshade organization and gives a better understanding of the group's function in subsequent books. Ronie Kendig has earned her place at the top of my list of "must read" authors and I eagerly anticipate future books by this gifted and exceptional writer.
A copy of this book for review purposes was provided to me by Barbour Publishing. I received no compensation for this review nor was I under any obligation to provide a favorable review. All comments are my own true and unsolicited observations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding read

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First book I read by this author and I hit paydirt. Great story lines. I enjoyed the characters and their interaction. The description of Colton's flashbacks were so real. I can't leave out how important Israel is to us as Christians and Ronie Kendig laid it out there. I have already ordered another book she has written and will keep my eyes open for future books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a quick pace grip the edge of your seat book. I enjoyed the romantic suspense, you never knew what was going to happen next! If you enjoy shows like the Unit or maybe NCIS this is your book! You want to plan on having extra time, because this book is hard to put down.
I won a copy of this book, the opinions are my own!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

*Warning* Great Book Alert!

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Break out the digitalis because you are going to need it after reading this book! It's everything I love about suspense, Christian fiction and romance all rolled into one. From the first page it's non-stop action, thrills and sweet romance! Usually in suspense there's a gradual rise in tension until it all explodes, not so here. It starts out with war flashbacks of a suicide bombing and ends with a nuclear showdown in Israel! Digitalis is all action and it's so fast-paced your head will spin, and did I mention the sparks? The characters have so much fire and passion for God, country, and family in this book that the pages fairly crackle.
Just when I thought it couldn't get any better than a guy on a fast bike, a man in a pickup comes along and steals my heart. If you're not half in love with Colton "Cowboy" Neeley by the end of this book, I will be very worried for you. Movie star good looks, a heart of gold and dedication to family all topped off with a Stetson...characters don't get any better. *Sigh* Piper Blum is an interesting heroine to say the least, I'm not sure if she's my favorite of the two we've met so far (a little helpless for someone who was in the military) but I still like her.
The supporting characters are incredible too. The Nightshade team is a true band of brothers, each different but so alike. With their back and forth teasing banter there's some great comic relief. The Neeley family and Colton's young daughter Mickey really make this story too with their show of love and care for both Colton and Piper. There were so many reason why I enjoyed this story that I can't mention them or this post would be 5 pages long!
Ronie Kendig has earned the top spot as my favorite suspense author. Not only are her characters dynamic but the messages that she weaves seamlessly into her novels make one realize what and who should be the most important things in our lives. I recommend Digitalis to anyone who enjoys a great story.
*I received my copy from the author but was not obligated to provide a review.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Ronie Kendig is absolutely one of my favorite new suspense authors! I don't know where she comes up with this stuff but I hope she keeps bringing it because I just love her books! She has a style that just keeps me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. With this particular series I love how she is taking each member of this renegade team and devoting a book to each of them. It is giving us these amazingly different viewpoints on the various guys from the inside out. Cowboy is an extremely interesting guy who is dealing with lots of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder while trying to lead a "normal" life. I liked seeing how that affected every area of his life, even when he didn't want to admit it. The introduction of Piper to his life only complicates things, but who would've guessed that she might actually be hiding more secrets than he is... excellent book that just left me wishing the next book was out already!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Digitalis, Discarded Heroes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another winner for military intrigue

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like fast paced, edge of your seat action, you’ll love this book. If you like romance, you’ll love this book. If you’re a fan of suspense and intrigue, you’ll love ... well, can you see where I’m going with this?
Digitalis by Ronie Kendig is book #2 in the Discarded Heroes series. The series centers around Nightshade (which also happens to be the name of the first book). Nightshade is an elite black ops team of highly trained soldiers who secretly “intervene in hot spots no nation or government would touch.”
Digitalis focuses on Colton Neeley, a member of that team. Known as Cowboy to his Nightshade buddies, he is also known to them as the one who’s never missed. His position on the Nightshade team? Sniper.
Learning to lean on God as he struggles with deep private hurts and other personal issues, Colton prays that things will soon start to look up for him. Then he meets Piper Blum at a local mall. The beautiful young woman with the caramel eyes he can’t seem to forget. But something’s not quite right with Piper. Colton’s instincts tell him that she’s holding something back. And she is.
And it’s a doozie.
Mrs. Kendig then takes you on a whirlwind international tour of mystery, suspense and intrigue as Colton and the Nightshade team try to stop the carnage that results from Piper’s secrets and try to save her life and the survival of a nation in the process.
Highly recommended. If you’re not a fan of Ronie Kendig already, you will be by the end of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>