Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3

Barbour Publishing Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3

Embark upon a danger-laden mission within the pages of Ronie Kendig's riveting Wolfsbane. Demolitions expert Danielle Roark thought escaping from a brutal Venezuelan general was a challenge. Now she's charged with espionage and returned to the jungle where a new nightmare begins. Will Dani survive or become just another political pawn destined to be lost forever? Former Green Beret Canyon Metcalfe is disgusted with the suits on Capitol Hill. Still wrestling with the memories of a mission gone bad, he and Nightshade launch a mission to find Dani. Can Canyon rescue Dani, armed with nothing but raw courage?
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
28 out of 3385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Review 1 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
This review is fromWolfsbane - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it just like the rest of the series! What could be worse than falling for the girl your brother wants? Determined not to make the same mistake twice, Canyon struggles to stay away from Roarke. Yet Roarke find that she much prefers Canyon over his little brother. Add in some Venezuelan terrorists determined to kill Roarke and build nuclear weapons. Then see how the Nightshade team handles the pressure and the drama of Canyon battling against his feelings for Roarke. The result is explosive action and a great book that you cannot put down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Intense Adventure

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wolfsbane
Ronie Kendig
Having escaped a brutal Venezuelan general, demolitions expert Danielle Roark fights her way back to the States, only to be charged with espionage. When she’s forced to return to the jungle to prove her innocence, she finds herself intentionally left behind. What secret does she have worth killing for? Haunted, former Green Beret Canyon Metcalfe is fighting off nightmares of a operation gone bad. When he’s thrown back into the jungle on a Nightshade mission, he must push the memories aside to rescue Dani. Will he lose another woman to the cruelty of warfare?
I was immediately drawn into this story. The characters were believable and the story was well written. I enjoyed the Metcalfe family and the believability of the difficult nature of the events that Danielle had gone through there were parts that were challenging to follow until about ½ way through the story and this mad following the action a hindrance at times. I thought that the similarities of experience between the main characters were played subtle until they were resolved. It was a great nail biting story that was worth following until the end.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Barbour Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
That one word describes the whole book: AWESOME.
Phew, what a great read! What an action, suspense, adrenaline filled read!
Everytime I read another book by Ronie Kendig I'm convinced it was her best yet.
Canyon Metcalfe is a guy I could easily love. Maybe because he's a bit like my husband. :) None of his problems are related to my husband, but the way he handles things is alike, so that tells a lot about Ronie's excellent imagination!
Danielle Roark was captured, tormented and raped in Venezuela. She escaped with shocking proof that the cruel general that kept her for six months has nuclear weapons, but at home the American government doesn't believe her. She has to go back to that awful place to come up with more proof.
Canyon's brother rescued Danielle out of the ocean when she escaped Venezuela. He falls in love with Dani, but she's not interested in men... until she meets Canyon. Canyon likes her too, but because of a promise he made to his brother he can't pursue her. Things get complicated when Nightshade is the team that escort Danielle back to Venezuela. Can Canyon live up to that promise?
Is Nightshade capable to find the proof and keep Danielle save?
This book is so fast paced that you hardly have time to take a calming breath before the next action.
Action, adventure, military, suspense and romance lovers - this book is for you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wrong Marketing

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catt
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a secular book with a very light dusting of worldly Christianity. I was hoping for solid Christian characters in a realistic plot where Jesus is center stage in the extreme trials our military, their families, and civilian counterparts face. NOT. The evil presented did not disturb me. But the flipant role of God in the lives of every character did.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SKIP THIS

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This should have been marketed as a secular book. Nothing redeeming. Shocked those who rated this a 5-star read the same story I did. A soldier having sex during a mission, a step-dad selling his child for sex, and a no-conscious cast of characters don't make a Christian book. We are slipping down a slop of blurred standards.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done.

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought over all it was well done and worth the read. Of course with any book there were parts that I thought were over the top or not to realistic, but I remind myself thats why it's called fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

With God, one can handle more than one can imagine

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once Danielle was rescued from Venezuela, she never figures
she would ever return, let alone be in the hands of the
general again. Now she must trust God and Canyon to
get her out again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Brunswick, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again I was intrigued with this story line, can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's grace and a roller coaster ride!

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Ah, yes. All is right with the world because Ronie Kendig has another book in her Discarded Heroes Series out! Her style of writing with strong characters, tight plots filled with suspense and danger and lots of drama from the past all rolled into one is so intense that I can hardly put her books down. Wolfsbane doesn't disappoint and all I could think the whole time I am reading it is - how much longer until the next one comes out!!! If you haven't read Ronie Kendig yet then you must dive in now, but start with the first book so you can enjoy the development of her characters as you go!
I'm going to add a comment regarding some of the controversy around one of the plot lines in this book. Christians aren't perfect. Most of us would like to think we are, but sadly we aren't and we wouldn't need God's grace if we were. This is shown clearly in this particular book and I loved that Ronie stuck her neck out and showed this so well. God's grace will cover a multitude of sins, consequences must still be dealt with but God forgives. I believe this particular storyline will allow some Christians dealing with condemnation to believe this and receive forgiveness for themselves. Kudos to Ronie for her bravery in that area as a writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tjwriter
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I greatly enjoyed reading Wolfsbane by Ronie Kendig. It's easy to get pulled into the action and adventure in the story. Kendig's characters are both believable and human. After reading this book I went out and bought the other two in the series, and I can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I was very disappointed.

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judie
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really liked this series and was looking forward to this book. I am very disappointed in this one and may not read any more. I saw no reason for the aurthor to have the main charactors indulge in premarital sex. It does not go with the morals that I wish for my 17 year old to encounter in a Christian book. He reads all my books when I have finished.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intense, edgy Christian Fiction from a woman quali

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
nataliagortova
Location:Boise, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danielle Roark, a Lieutenant and demolitions expert is in Venezuela with her team when they are ambushed. The men are held for ransom, but as the only woman Dani is taken to their General where she is tortured and raped (a lot) for 6 months. Eventually she manages to escape with a flash drive.
Problem is the information on it is too perfect. The Senate committee doesn’t believe her because information on her computer suggests she and the General are in league together, so maybe she’s a traitor…
Enter Canyon Metcalfe, black ops soldier with a tainted past and brother of the man who pulled Dani from the ocean after her escape. The guy who (along with his team) has to take her back to the very place she was held.
Tension between the brothers complicated what would otherwise be a straightforward boy meets girl.
But nothing about this book is straightforward! The reader is forced to throw out everything they think they know and by the end you’re fighting for the surface along with the characters.
Everything about this book was a surprise to me, from the level of evil, the abject betrayals, the manipulation, the secrets, and the fact both main characters (one present, one past) had in their lives attempted to commit suicide. Coincidence? No, I think God pairs us with the one person who is capable of understanding us all the way to the core.
Bad language: None. “He cursed” is how it’s dealt with. Maybe that’s not realistic for soldiers, maybe a lot of them cuss every other word but that’s okay with me. I can handle it being inferred instead of blatant.
Nudity: Obviously the rapes, not explicitly described, but when the character thinks/talks about it I think it’s supposed to make you uncomfortable. It’s an uncomfortable topic, but all too real. The two main characters, in a fit of passion while on the mission, do get intimate with each other but it’s done off camera. We end one scene with him sliding up the hem of her clothing, and next we find them in bed naked post-making love.
Yes, Christian characters (or at least those who profess to be) don’t usually act this way in Inspirational fiction, but it is a realistic part of life. It disappointed me a little that their reactions were like, ‘oops’. There didn’t seem to be real conviction until later. But I did respect the fact that it was part of their journey, the dealing with it, the moving on and learning, that was real to me.
The narrative when the soldiers are doing their soldering thing felt a little explain-y but hey, I’m not a special ops soldier so I need the why’s explained to me.
All in all, a thrill ride of a book that kept me tied up all the way until I’d finished the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unrealistic

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
campergirl
Location:Saraland, Al
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have enjoyed the discarded series, but this book was somewhat of a let down. Dani was raped for six months, Midas was addicted to pain killers, and by the end of the book both were magically cured. I am sure Dani would have to have months of serious counseling. The couple also survive a mudslide, then fall into a raging muddy river and survive. Kendig is a very talented writer, but this book just did not get it.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
This review is fromWolfsbane - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exciting action all the way through. I would recommend this series to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
This review is fromWolfsbane - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book to be Experienced!

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thankful for the review copy of this realistic, thought-provoking, fast-paced novel. It had me look at war in a way I hadn't before.
It’s a gift to be able to write such a compelling, death-defying drama that stirs a reader's emotions deep to the depth of their soul. Ronnie Kendig has this gift and talent. This author had me laugh, cry and glued to the page anticipating the enemies next move. I was instantly wrapped up into her characters and there horrific situation. If this book were a movie I would have covered my eyes in several parts because I was afraid of what would happen next and what I might see. Yes, I'm a chicken! Grin! But since I've read several of Ronnie’s books already I knew things wouldn’t get too graphic. That was reassuring.
Ronie Kendig pens an honest portrayal of how disturbing it is to be a female POW. Women face unique challenges to survive. A person never knows what they'll be willing to do to escape. Fear. Hatred. Guilt. Hope. Finally--Peace are all felt. Ronnie takes the reader through a wide range of emotions with her larger than life characters. The rhythm and flow of this suspenseful story-line took the reader from extreme riveting highs, to heart-wrenching moments you’ll never forget. This is a book you’ll want to experience.
This author has written a powerful and moving book that transported me to the front lines of war like I’ve never experienced before. I could feel the intense humidity, hear the explosion of gunfire, see through their night goggles, and hear the intense quiet sounds of the enemy slivering near; it’s nothing like you've ever seen or heard before. There is a depth and intensity in the characters that touched me. This is a page-turning action story, with vivid imagery, engaging characters, and a lot of heart. I highly recommend Wolfsbane, It’s brilliantly written and an emotionally compelling a book you shouldn't miss!
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another AWESOME book from Ronie!!!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
RosalieP
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronie Kendig gives us another amazing book in her series that follows Canyon MetCalfe, otherwise known as Midas. While being of the strongest, most dependable men on the Nightshade team, he has undergone tragedy and unimaginable hurt in his career as a Green Beret that will come crashing back into his life. His world is action packed and danger filled, but when he and his team are tasked to take a woman back to a place that was her hell on earth so she can prove her innocence, life gets interesting. Her protection becomes personal and he has to try to fight growing attraction and a brother that has already laid claim to her. Mistakes are made and people are hurt, who will he turn to? Will Canyon be able to admit, overcome, and grow from the mistakes and challenges in his life or will he choose to live his life in a hard shell?
Ronie uses her gift to weave this heart-breaking, thrilling suspense, and heart-warming story that pulls you into it as if you were there with the characters. She has the talent that she is able to write the really hard scenes and also put in the story of redemption and God's amazing love and forgiveness. Definitely an awesome book that I recommend to everyone. You might want to have tissues nearby for happy and sad tears...and something under your chair in case you fall off the edge :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read, but with a word of caution...

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I would want to say that, if anyone struggles with PTSD related to abuse, I wouldn't necessarily recommend this book; there are some scenes that could trigger a flashback or emotional response.
Kendig is definitely stepping out of the box more with this book...the layers of plot twists and stories are numerous, but it all is flawlessly cohesive at the end. I kind of laughed after I read this book, because this book focuses on Wolfsbane, and I actually spent Books 1 and 2 wondering if he was a traitor or something---he seemed pretty shady at times!
Oh, this book is also not for Christians who are used to having their main characters be without flaws....like books 1 and 2, this book allows you to see Christians who are seeking God, but who also struggle with their tempers, their jobs, obeying authorities, and other situations. Because of this, the opportunity is all the greater for God's healing presence to be conveyed.
A wonderful book...dear CBD, please find a way to release Firethorn early!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:August 1, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danielle Roark served her country faithfully, experienced brutal torture, and escaped with vital information about the enemy. However, when she returns to the United States, she is accused of espionage and forced to return to Venezuela to gather evidence for her own defense .Former Green Beret medic Canyon Metcalfe is haunted by memories of the past. Drawn to Danielle, he pushes for Nightshade, his team, to accompany Danielle on the mission. Things go terribly wrong from the beginning of the mission and once he and Danielle are seperated from his team members, the chances of survival appear slim. Fighting mistakes of the past and present, Canyon must persevere without distraction to save Danielle's life. Will he be strong enough for both of them? Or is he condemned to fail because of all of his past mistakes?
I almost passed over the opportunity to review Wolfsbane by Ronie Kendig, but I am so glad I didn't. I generally don't go for military/war type stories. However, this one was so good, I'll probably be borrowing the rest in the series from the local library very soon. The suspense of the plot is tantalizing while the vivid characters are extremely real. No idealized or superficial characters here. Danielle and Canyon both make mistakes, but ultimately, the story is about owning up to those mistakes and trusting God to take care of the rest. There were a few plot twists that I wasn't expecting and it elevated the seriousness of the story. Overall, a great read for fiction and romance lovers alike.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher via FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A HIGH OCTANE ADVENTURE/ACTION/ROMANCE!!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
WOLFSBANE by Ronie Kendig is an exciting inspirational action/adventure,action-fired/romance set in present day Washington,D.C. and Venezuela.This is Book 3 in "The Discarded Heroes" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See "Nightshade" and "Digitalis".This is an action packed,adventure with heart pumping results. It is the story of the tortured,raped,captured female demolitions expert,Danielle Roark(Dani) and the rugged,handsome,sexy former Green Beret with terrifying memories of a mission gone bad,Canyon Metcalfe,"Midas". It has rape,adventure,suspense,mystery,torture,secrets,a mission gone bad,special ops,Nightshade,romance,love,faith,second chances,healing,forgiveness and surviving a horrific ordeal.This is a high octane story from the first page to the last. It will keep you on the edge of your seat as Dani and Midas try to keep their attraction at bay and survive the jungles of Venezuela. If you enjoyed the tv series "The Unit"than you will enjoy the "The Discarded Heroes" series. As these heroes try to find a little peace,and happiness. Ms. Kendig is an author to follow.Her heroes are just that herois although,a little worse for wear. I can hardly wait for the next installment. "Wolfsbane" is a not to miss reading,a keeper that will have you up all night finishing.What an awesome adventure.This is an inspirational action/adventure/romance it is not preachy but is the story of a team of man that go where needed to help others,stick together no matter the odds,and find their happiness and their true loves. A must read. This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and the publisher.Details can be found at Barbour and My Book Addiction Reviews.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wolfsbane, Discarded Heroes Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The character's were needing God's intervention!

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
librarian
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This story was my least favorite of Roni Kendig's books. Although I understand the intent of the story and the lesson intended, I feel that I would not recommend it for a church library.
Due to the mature subject of sexual abuse and sexual explotation, it is just way too graphic. My Kendig readers will be disappointed not to see her new book in the library.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>