Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge Bibles KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black

Cambridge Bibles KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black

The Cameo Bible is one of the classic Cambridge editions of the King James Bible, dating from the 1920s. The Bible text is set in an attractive historic typeface and is printed large enough to be clear and easy to read while small enough to result in a compact Bible. The Bible has pronunciation marks for difficult words and phrases, full cross-references, a concordance, and maps. This edition includes the Apocrypha. It is one of the very few modern editions of the King James Version to do so. It is printed on India paper with art-gilt edges and is bound in black calfskin leather.

Features
  • Pronunciation marks for difficult words and phrases
  • Cross-references
  • Concordance
  • Maps
  • The Apocrypha
  • Printed on India paper
  • Gold page edges
  • Bound in black calfskin leather
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Presentation page
  • 7.50" x 5.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Review 1 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Expected to be blown away...but

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJVdevotee
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I guess I'll learn someday not to get carried away with something before I see it just by reading all the glowing reviews beforehand. Once I received my copy I was disappointed in that it fell short in two ways that are significant to me: center column (references) print is too small and the paper is just too thin and delicate. If they could use a slightly heavier paper and bump up the font size just a bit this Bible would be nearly perfect. As it is I'll have to shelve it till I can afford to get my bifocal strength increased; and considering the price of a premium Bible in this awful economy, that's a real shame. I would have sent it back but I had it imprinted so it can't be returned (something to remember), but the imprinting did turn out very nicely. Hope this helps someone. Blessings!!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this bible!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianejoy99
Location:Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I love this bible. I had a verse reference Holman for 28 years that I really loved. When it wore out I searched for about 5 years for the perfect bible. Than I found this one. The cover is soft and beautiful. Open the cover and the print is dark and easy to read. It is spaced so that it is easy to follow along and find passages when listening to a speaker. The only short coming is that it could be a bit better for references. They are not bad, but not as good as some Allan bible references. A good concordance can remedy that issue. Overall, this bible is and excellent bible for the price and I would purchase it again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent edition of the King James Bible!

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best editions of the King James Bible I've ever seen...soft leather, compact size and clear print, plus the King James text, have made this my favorite Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Apocrypha should've never been removed!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DLC1
Location:Orlando, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Best bible I've ever purchased! CBS Rocks! Shalom.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Catholic KJV Fan!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe Esquibel
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally have it, the COMPLETE King James Bible with its venerable English!
For me as a Catholic of course it's important to have the Deuterocanonicals/Apocrypha in my Bible and here they are in a beautifully constructed calfskin leather (real) bound smyth sewn version.
I'd like to note that Catholics along with Protestants do consider 1st (3rd) and 2nd (4th) Esdras and the Prayer of Manasseh Apocryphal books. These were put into the index of the official Latin Vulgate (Clementine Vulgate) in the 16th century, so here they are an added bonus for the would be buyer.
The King James Version is the version from which the Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition (RSV - CE) came from, being of course revised. You may have observed if you own a RSV - CE (Scepter Press) that the Deuterocanonicals/Apocrypha therein have ZERO cross-references this is not the case with the KJV Cameo Reference with Apocrypha. It claims to be a "reference" Bible and indeed it is, as the cross-references from the Deuterocanonicals/Apocrypha to other books of the Bible are COPIOUS and in the other books as well. It is worth noting that the Deuterocanonicals/Apocrypha are also referenced (to) from the other books of this KJV edition though sparingly.
The 8 point font is dark, very easy to read (and I use bifocals) as are the "Words of Christ in Red" which are a clear dark red.
The leather is soft and highly fexible, the Bible lays nice and flat starting already at the Book of Genesis.
The color maps are well printed and the text on the maps clear and sharp. Preceding the maps is a 138 page Concordance.
Two red ribbon markers have about 3 inches length left out when the Bible is closed.
It is printed and bound in the Netherlands.
Five stars for sure!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an excellent product at an ecceptional price!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
shofar
Location:Macon, Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the highest quality bibles that I have ever owned. Readable print and quality binding combine to make an heirloom to share with the nexr generation in my famuly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good portable bible

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
john of san mateo ca
Location:san mateo CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Back of the box says Cameo reference bible started in the 1920s so it does not have the additional revisions of the Concord reference bible which was done around the 1950s.
The KJV text is probably similar to the Pitt Minion reference and the Presentation reference.
There is a presentation page, a concordance and maps are by Moody Bible Institute from 1986. Has 2 black ribbons.
It is thicker than the Pitt Minion reference bible bec. of the 139 page concordance and it has larger print also. The Pitt Minion reference bible has no maps and print is smaller.
The center column has alternate translations and cross references which are more extensive than the 1611 editions. The center column works by having small alphabet letters link the text and the center column notes, so it is similar to the Presentation reference.
The center column has very small writing so it is only for those with good eyesight.
Cheaper reprints of the cameo reference bible with longer lasting binding is also available from the local church bible publishers in lansing michigan and is called ccc bible.
On youtube, there are many reviews of the bibles from the local church bible publishers.
their web site is at lcbplansing.org
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Those Who Enjoy the KJV

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jorgecito
Location:Walla Walla, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a gorgeous update of a classic edition. It almost seems to me that the remarkably clear and legible typeface may be the clearest I've ever seen. Though this is a fairly compact bible, it is very legible even to somewhat aging eyes as regards the text itself thugh I can with a struggle makeout the must smaller references usually as well. One should remember that being an organic material, every piece of leather varies somewhat from every other, and I've seen even what I would consider slightly superior leather on another's copy of this bible, any differences will only matter to one somewhat obsessive in this area. The text, by the way, literally leaps off the page and I can manage the concordance print quite well. If you love the KJV, you will understand why, if one can manage the funding, someone might pay the price for this KJV edition when every edition carries the same words and though there are some lovely editions available for much less. If you're like me, this will likely become about the only KJV edition you'll find yourself using. It will be your old, faithful, trusted friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Cameo Reference Bible with Apocrypha, Calfskin, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Cambridge Bible!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paul Esposito
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let the label "imitation leather" scare you! A Cambridge imitation leather is better than any other genuine leather you'll find out there. The Bible is smythe sewn, not glued, and will lay open flat on whatever page you turn it to.
Great Bible, with the best ever translation, the King James Version!
I highly recommend this new Cambridge Cameo.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.