Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1

Barbour Publishing The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1

Amish widow Emma Yoder's first quilt class brings the most unlikely people together. there's Star, a young woman yearning for stability; Pan and Stuart Johnston, a struggling couple at odds in their marriage; Paul Ramirez, a young widower hoping to find solace in finishing a quilt; Jan Sweet, a rough and tough biker doing some creative community service; and Ruby Lee Williams, a preacher's wife looking for relaxation when parish problems mount. But as these beginning quilters learn to transform scraps of material into beauty; their fragmented lives begin to take new shape with the helping hands of each other and the healing hand of God. Note: Deckled Edging is intentional.
Average Customer Rating:
4.776 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
57 out of 5898%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Review 1 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:stryker ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters and could hardly put the book down as it kept my interest
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I’d love to be able to give this book more than 5

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really like to read Amish fiction. The whole lifestyle is so much slower paced than mine. I find them to be not only entertaining but relaxing as well.
I enjoy Wanda Brunstetter’s books very much. She has a very clear writing style that adds to my enjoyment. This book is no different. I love the cast of characters that she has developed for it. They are all vastly different and yet most of them are very likeable right from the start. Even those that annoyed me at the beginning eventually turned out to have some wonderfully redeeming qualities and I liked them all by the end of the book.
Each family represented has their own problems that they are dealing with. Wanda does a fabulous job of working each of them through their problems individually and yet with the support of the others in the quilting class. She shows that it very possible for those who are struggling to be just what someone else needs to help them through their own difficulties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting mix of characters

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In an effort to support herself widow Emma Yoder decides to teach quilting so she posts signs and advertises for students. She accepts six students and oh what a mixed group of students they are, three women and three men including one couple trying to save their marriage, a pastors wife, a biker who lost his drivers license and has to ride a bicycle, a widower with a young baby and a very troubled young girl who's grandmother actually signed her up for the class before she died.
Emma misses her husband terribly and has no interest in remarrying but she is being pursued by Lamar, a widower who doesn't want to live the rest of his years alone. When Emma gets shingles, Lamar fills in for her one Saturday and shares his interest in quilting with the students. Emma continues to brush him off though.
While they are learning quilting the students are all going through their own personal turmoil, will the quilting club students ever finish their wall hangings? Emma finds herself wondering if this was a good idea when she finds personalities clashing more than she feels comfortable with.
This was a pretty interesting story. With the differences in the students personalities, even the couple, you wonder if they will all continue to the end of the course and will they every find peace for themselves.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was ok, but it seemed difficult to become really interested in it until about the final 3 or 4 chapters. I believe it was my least favorite book by Wanda Brunsetter. It became a little boring hearing about the couples problems however I will say it had a surprise ending and I liked that about it. Other than the last few chapters, it was not one of my favorites. I have about 170 Amish Christian Books however it seems like after about the first or second chapter of each of them, no matter who the author may be, you can almost guess how the books will end. This one as I said , had a surprising ending which was different.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really great book

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Noju
Location:Leduc, Alberta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this mixture of Amish and regular people book. A friend of mine highly recommended it and when I read it for myself I was not disappointed at all. There are quite a few twists in the story and Wanda Brunstetter does not disappoint!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book and Play

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Junebug
Location:Indy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three of us read the book and were so happy with it. Much more than we expected. We than went to see the play and laughed and cried the entire play. Very moving and excellant in our eyes. Wanda outdid herself on this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A FANTASTIC BOOK

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
JOHNNYMCC
Location:Tinley Park Il
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed half stiched, this book is intrigueing. I totally recommend this book. Once you read it , you will read it over and over such a great message.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It !

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
NM
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lady decides to do a quilting class.Her members of the class come with everyday lifes struggles.Through the making of a quilt and encouragement from class members ,God brings hope and healing to each one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy Read!

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Orange, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very enjoyable book. Easy to read . This book is full of real life issues of a unusual group of novice quilters. Emma helps these students face their problems with prayer and support; while helping herself as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is a must read. best I've read in a whil

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
phil
Location:stephenson, mi.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a book that has a lot of examples to learn by. Each charactor taught me something about life. loved this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing read! It was a little slow at first for me, but I came to love all the characters as well as how God worked in them! Highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
mrsworried
Location:lafayette In
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book. It was a very down to earth setting among people of all different races and employment. It was written so you didn't want to lay the book down. I love the author of this book and the Amish setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend to any 50 year old man!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
rpwilso
Location:Fredericton, NB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought this book and I had run out of things to read.... sooooooo..... I started it and never looked back. The story was lighter than I normally read (my typical books are Christian mysteries), but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a rather fast read, and I was kinda sorry for it to end. Good characters and story development. I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Mahiques
Location:new york
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and all the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A big surprise story.

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
alwysreadin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I not only ordered this book because it is written by Wanda, but I was very curious to see how she incorporated the men into a quilting class. It was very surprising and marvelous. My hat's off to Wanda for going the extra mile. Loved the ending...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quickly became a favorite read....

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darlene Klischer
Location:Douglasville PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading each review,and found them most interesting.
I did not purchase this book from CBD,a friend loaned it to me,after reading it I plan to order a copy for my 14 year old grandaughter.
I too wish I could see the play.I thought the characters were very believable .
One of the reviewers revealed the surprise ending which was totally unexpected to me
From the initials in the tree to the inclusion of Jan's dog story,this book gave real insights into "REAL"people and how God used one widow to touch each life..
Looking forward to more..........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story and characters.

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
TGR56
Location:Cooper, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. I could not put it down and when I did I was like a child waiting on Christmas. I finished the book and sent it to my wonderful daughter in law in Utah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
lipstick
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the quality of the book also. The cover and the pages edged. Neat.
Great writer..
Reading on.,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outside The Normal

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
AshleyNoelle
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for something new, something different than they typical in Amish, fiction, this is the book. Wanda Brunstetter weaves a very enjoyable story about an Amish widow who doesn't want her grown kids to have to continue interrupting their lives to take care of her. She decides to support herself the only way she knows how, through quilting. She begins to offer classes to an eclectic group of people, and gets of to a rocky start. In the end, there is much healing for each student, long-standing issues becoming resolved.
It is a great story. I like how the characters interacted, how everything came to end, and the twist with Jan Sweet. It was also very nice to read an Amish story outside of the typical love story. It was different, but in a good way. I would defenitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jks8
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful read! Great characters, story line and a few unexpected twists. I couldn't put it down. What a treat to get lost in these pages on a summer weekend. Would recommend highly and I am not a quilter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.