Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM

Hendrickson Publishers Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM

For 300 years, this commentary has been a favorite of teachers, preachers, and laypeople. His rich exposition and useful applications are perfect for devotional reading and sermon help. This reprint now comes with a companion CD-ROM, and features modern print and J.B. Williams' extensive 1828 account of Henry's life and writings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Review 1 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat
Matthew Henry's Commentary is excellent. I use it to plan and develop my Bible study lessons. The Commentary is especially helpful as we go through a soft cover book that we are studying now. The commentary helps to explain and expand on the scriptures that are mentioned and referred to in that book. The 6 volumes are much easier to read because of the larger print than the single copy of the Commentary that I had purchased earlier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
bweaver
I have recently began reading Book 1 (Gen to Deut) and I already feel so blessed to own these volumes. I attempted reading some of this commentary online, but it doesn't compare to reading out of the books. The writing is beautiful and Henry really brings each verse to life with his commentary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Kappler
The commentary is everything desired except the print would have been better if it was larger.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean-Richard Norzielus
I have found it very useful and complete for my preaching. It provides a very thorough and interesting description of a block of verses and it is very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dana L. Christmas
this was the very first commentary i purchased. it is very thorough and very comprehensive. great resource for seminarians as well as teachers. it is a very valuable and often used tool in my home library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lemuel
Great set of books, love them, very helpful; would recommend to anyone interested in the Bible!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ciby Thomas
These timeless wealth of knowledge is amazing and still speaking to God's people! A true treasure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Gray
These commentaries are great. I use them in my Bible study. They are very enlightening and helpful with explaining God's word and giving you insight to things of old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie D Barrentine
My dad was a minister for over 50 years before passing away at the early age of 73 and he used the Matthew Henry Commentary for reference all during his ministry. There is NO better commentary in the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glenda Burley
This 6 volume set is exactly what I need. It is easy to understand and digest. You have more information than you need and this is always a good thing. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Garry Lovins
Books are of high quality. I have always wanted this set. I just wish the print was larger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mona Clark
We love this very easy to handle collection of Matthew Henry's Commentary!! The old one was tough to study from because of its size...but this is perfect. The price is the best we have seen anywhere. Thank you for such a great offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Michael Bailey
I purchased the Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, for my Husband/Pastor for his birthday and he just love it. He is really not a person that work on the computer but, he is really enjoying the books. Thank You.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arlen
Excellent information and presentation.Great value. The shipping service was 1st rate, as usual. Only wish I had more time to read this all before 2009!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn McQuairter
This is a great study tool for every christian that wants deeper knowledge of God's Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eric Crawford
Very in depth. Refreshing to read the insight of someone from his day. Exciting to know that that we can have the influence of one of the people that Charles Spurgeon referred to a lot in his "Treasury of David" .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lance Craw
I must have a different version of Matthew Henry than our friend from Virginia. My set explains the Bible very well. It does so, not in dry technical terms as some modern era commentaries, but in a fresh and insightful manner that speaks to the heart. Matthew Henry has not remained popular for 300 years for no reason nor has not been used by greats like Charles Spurgeon. The language may be flowery, but it does not detract from the message of the true sense of the text. Our Virginia friend can borrow my set if she wishes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daniel
This is for the seeker of true spiritual benefit from scripture. I have personally been blessed and found similar sentiment in my friends who also read it. It speaks to the heart and focuses the mind on things above. It may not appeal to readers of more recent scholarly works which benefit head knowledge alone. It does not mean it lacks intellectual content, in fact, it is a magnificent scholarly work, yet it is primarily written to motivate the reader to reverence and love the LORD and live a holy life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Buchanan
He is flowery with words and has a lot of razzle, dazzle but he doesn't explain the Bible very well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible, Complete and Unabridged in 6 Volumes, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steve McLaughlin
This is was very glad to get my set of the Matthew Henry's Commentary. It arrived in great shape and on time, but unlike the earlier version I had owned (large, two volume set), there were six easily manageable books in this set. The CD is also a great tool, and I will use it often, but I must say, as old as these writings are, they are still quite useful and inspiring. Matthew Henry was truly inspired to make such an enjoyable and complete work of the Old and New Testaments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>