Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concordia Publishing House Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family

Concordia Publishing House Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family

Celebrating the true meaning of Christmas will become a family tradition with this beautiful Advent book of daily readings and prayers, which also features a lift-the-flap Advent calendar on the back cover.

Each day, families can read a reflection, a Bible verse, a prayer of thanks, and take part in an activity, then open that day's flap on the calendar for a special surprise. This delightful book is a great way for families to reflect on God's love, as they count down the days to the birth of Jesus, His only Son. Recommended for ages 4 to 8.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Review 1 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Something families can grow into.

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margaret
Location:South Dakota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been using this devotional after supper each evening during Advent. Our oldest is only 2 years old, so we just read the page to her, say a prayer, and look at the pictures. The activities are geared more toward older children (4-8). I knew that when I purchased the book. But, I definitely think this is something we can use every year as our family grows. I recommend this to anyone who wants a simple way to help keep Christ at the center of Advent/Christmas activities for their young families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yes, our grandchildren is enjoying the calendar..

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry Hebert
Location:Sulphur Springs, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I said earlier, our grandchildren are enjoying the advent
prayer calendar with the clear instructions to follow.
"Getting ready for Christmas" was the right one to choose for their ages, 3 boys, 11, 8 and 6. actually their whole family participates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lots of fun

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Mcinerney
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the craft ideas to go with the part of the story told and prayer at the end. Can't wait to use it again next year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jovin
Location:Kanata (Ottawa) Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for the whole family. We have not read each page yet but am excited to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent first advent book

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
memyselfandi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an excellent guide for my children's (ages 4 and 6) first advent experience. The illustrations were bright and engaging. The text was simple, to the point, and on their level, which is perfect for their short attention spans. My kids looked forward to the "advent activity" each night, as well as opening the flaps on the advent calendar at the back of the book. I would recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the little ones

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
I AM their mother
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a good little book to use with little ones to prepare them for Christmas. My 3 almost 4 y.o. loves to flip open the flaps. The only thing I wish was different is for there to be a very short explanation after the verse. However, I can do that myself, so it's not a big deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does not start with Advent

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
kps626
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have not started using this book yet, so I am not going to comment on that. However, the Advent calendar in back does not start with the start of Advent. This year, Advent began on November 27. The Advent calendar did not begin until December 1. That's 3 missed days! I was quite disappointed when I saw this.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter loved this book

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stella
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this last year and it was so well loved and so well used that I had to buy a new one for this Advent season.
I think for me the best part is, after doing this book last year my almost three year old daughter is entering this advent season completely aware of what Christmas is really about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Pick

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof3Boys
Location:Mansfield, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a book that would help my children to prepare for Christmas through the Christmas story. This is a perfect book to do that! We can read a small part of the Christmas story from the Bible ending with a conversation to God, and then an easy craft to help apply the story. The crafts can all be done with stuff that you have around the house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly Merced
It's so easy to get caught up in the preparations for Christmas. This book is a great way to remind the family why we are celebrating. My girls (7 & 4)both loved reading the stories each day. We didn't always get to do the activities but it's a great option that the kids love. Very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Maria Henderson
Very simple verse and prayer, along with an activity. My 4- and 5- year olds are enjoying it, and it makes for an easy Advent tradition. A couple of the activities are a bit abstract ("Think of someone who turned out different than you expected" -- that one stumped them. But most are easy and fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura Carter
This is a fantastic book for my 5-year-old son. The reflection, verse and prayer are exactly the right length for a child, and very accessible. While we're doing the activity we talk more about the meaning of Christmas. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Manny
This is a good book for short Advent devotions for those little ones (we have a 3-year old and 18-month old). Some of the activities we really enjoy; however, some of the questions and activities suggested are a little beyond their age. Some creativity will be needed for parents of young (<4 years) children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kara Anthony
I have been looking for a family devotional to help us all keep the right perspective every Christmas. I just received the book and started it with my 2 boys, 4 and 2. Last night, we read a short bible verse and then an activity. We all then, drew a picture of Gabriel, the angel who spoke to Mary to give her the good news, that she would carry a son named Jesus! My heart feels full that I can help encourage my boys to realize that Christmas is ALL about a child, a child named Jesus. It's his Birthday we are counting down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Getting Ready for Christmas: A Daily Advent Prayer & Activity Book for the Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
arizelle denice detiquiz
Its family oriented book that make us remember the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.