Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2

Relive the glory of a Pennsylvania canal town through the eyes of those who ministered to the needs of the workers. Betsy Nelson reluctantly returns to her childhood home to care for her failing father, a faithful minister who served the town for years. William Covington, a confirmed bachelor, comes to town to become the new pastor and set aside the luxuries of this birth for service to God. Can Betsy and William find common ground on which to work together for the better of the townspeople?
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Review 1 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
This review is fromBetsy's Return - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betsy has become an old maid before she even realized it. After her plans to be a missionary were dashed, she stays in New York continuing what she believes is the Lord's work. After receiving news that her father was not in the best health, she returns to her childhood home in Lehigh Canal, Pennsylvania. Determined to care for her father till he gets better, she does everything in her power to help him.
William Covington felt the call of God to preach despite the well-to-do family he comes from. When the opportunity comes to preach in a canal town, he follows God's leading and direction and ends up in Lehigh Canal. Will Betsy be able to accept William as the town's new pastor in place of her father? Or will the old bitterness she used to harbor rear it's ugly head and ruin the way she relates to William?
Again, in very simple language, Brunstetter brings us a romance that is easy to read, fun, and entertaining. While the likelihood of falling in love so easily may seem unlikely, love comes in all forms, sizes, shapes, and ways in real life. And this historical portrayal is sweet and simple, a wonderful read for anyone who wants to travel back in time when things were simpler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another page turner ...

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Brides of Lehigh Canal series and it depicts Betsy Nelson and Rev William Covington as the main characters. This book is even better than the first one and the first one was excellent. I now look forward to reading the third one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betsy has become an old maid before she even realized it. After her plans to be a missionary were dashed, she stays in New York continuing what she believes is the Lord's work. After receiving news that her father was not in the best health, she returns to her childhood home in Lehigh Canal, Pennsylvania. Determined to care for her father till he gets better, she does everything in her power to help him.
William Covington felt the call of God to preach despite the well-to-do family he comes from. When the opportunity comes to preach in a canal town, he follows God's leading and direction and ends up in Lehigh Canal. Will Betsy be able to accept William as the town's new pastor in place of her father? Or will the old bitterness she used to harbor rear it's ugly head and ruin the way she relates to William?
Again, in very simple language, Brunstetter brings us a romance that is easy to read, fun, and entertaining. While the likelihood of falling in love so easily may seem unlikely, love comes in all forms, sizes, shapes, and ways in real life. And this historical portrayal is sweet and simple, a wonderful read for anyone who wants to travel back in time when things were simpler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neet
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very interesting and easy to read. Sometimes hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good series

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:N. Berwick, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the Lehigh Canal series...a quick & fun read...Rose
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
shoppermar
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wounderful story it kept my attention. I couldn't put it down. I want more stories. I read Sarahs choice. Wish there was one that continued after Sarah gets her bakery.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book.

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam Matthews
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanda Brunstetter is one of my favorite authors. She did a very good job of bringing the people and life along the Lehigh Canal System to life. I really enjoyed reading about a time and place that I could only visit in a book. I enjoyed this as I always do reading Wanda's books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Juan Burgos Chable
Gorgeous novel, very tender, romantic, very interesting. When initiating its reading, does not want one to stop and when finishing we wished it to read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Momma B.
I have always been a fan of Wanda Brunstetter and this series has not disappointed me. I would recommend this series to anyone who loves good inspirational romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I love Wanda Brunsteter and have many of her books. This one I related to as a minister's wife with 4 children who prefer to hear their father preach and just other minister's to their father. I thought the book was well writen. I liked that William was willing to leave all his wealth and go to a small church to pastor. I liked how Betsy's father encouraged her to give William a chance, and her willingness to do just that. It's hard for people to accept a new pastor, but when given a chance, the Lord truely blesses the congregation. I loved this book and highly recommend it. I hope there will be more books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
Much better than the first book in the series. Some nice twists and turned. Looking forward to the next story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lois Klobucher
I just finished Betsy's Return, and I just loved it, I read it in one day I could not put it down, it was fantastic just like all of your other books, I really hope that I win this contest all of the give aways are fantasticGods Blessing to you and yours
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maryann Quinn
Could not wait to read this book. What I like about this one is that it touches on all different aspects in life. The rich, the common folk, death, spirituality, gossip, caring, sharing and love. How no matter what happens love of God and our neighbor will always prevail and so will God's plan for us in life. Cannot wait to read book #3 about Sarah. Thank you Wanda ! Keep them coming...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Another excellent book by Wanda. It kept me on the edge of my seat. Very easy reading. I loved Book one, Betsys Return was absolutely wonderful, and I just cant wait for book three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
This is a different type of book compared to Wanda's amish books, but I must admit I loved the first one and this one also. Betsy came home a more compassionate woman to help her sick father. She never thought she would also find love with the new pastor of their church. I can't wait to read the third in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tiffany English
Wanda E. Brunstetters, newest book, Betsy's Return, is very well written. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It was a great romance novel. I really enjoyed the second book in this series and am looking foward to reading the rest of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Jones
Awesome book I love all of Wandas stories they are so amazing, I have all of them so spirtual and love in them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Tiffany
What a beautiful story as usual from Wanda. So enjoyed the way the story weaved Betsy and William together for a common goal - to love and trust in the Lord always. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Taylor
I really enjoyed this book. What a change in Betsy's life. After not winning Mikes' love in book one, left me wondering what happens to her. Life on and near the canal must have been very hard on the young girls. Was very happy that Betsy found her true love. And since she was raised with her pastor father, it was very fitting that she fell in love with the new pastor. Really enjoyed the book, can't wait for more!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Betsy's Return, Brides of the Lehigh Canal Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deliasue Wagner
As all Wanda's books this one leads us from our youth and growing up with problems in our lives that we take out on others of our own age. A book without using foul language I feel is a wonderful book, I can recommend this book to young people as well as older like myself. Betsy and Kelly become good Christian friends, which was a test of spirits but ended as a love of God. Looking forward to another Lehigh Canal book.It was wonderful to finally meet Wanda in NE Ohio, we don't get too many authors in our area. Thank you Wanda for coming and for your wonderful reading. Keep those books coming. Sue
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>