Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1

NavPress Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1

Lauren Holbrook has decided to add a side career to her regular job as a photographer: matchmaking for the romantically challenged. After successfully hitching her sister and her new husband, Lauren decides to sets out to strike sparks between her carefree singles' pastor, Nick, and her neurotic, obsessive compulsive coworker, Ruby. However, Lauren finds that certain combinations of people results in explosions, rather than sparks, and her foolproof plan begins to unravel. As Lauren is faced with disaster after romantic disaster, will she rethink her matchmaking role as well as her vow to her father to remain single forever? Erynn Mangum, softcover, 365 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Review 1 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
This review is fromMiss Match: A Lauren Holbrook Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
sdrautio
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book and I can't wait to read the next one! Found a new Author that I will enjoy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
This review is fromMiss Match: A Lauren Holbrook Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I had to describe this book in one word it is Adorable. I loved this book I was laughing out loud. The people around me thought I was nuts. I would like to introduce you to Lauren Holbrook and she is the towns matchmaker also our leading woman. This book is filled with comedy,schemes, and wonderful friendships. I thought this book was great. When I need to get away from all the serious studying I pick up a book that will not fry my brains and this book was a God send. Erynn Mangum really draws the reader in to feel that they are in that town witnessing the plot. Well our leading lady is busy matching everyone else up that could it be that she is also discovering love. You will have to read the book to find out. I am planning to get part two of this book Rematch: A Lauren Holbrook Novel it was a great lighthearted read. I even found it interesting that our Lauren Holbrook ended her day in Gods word, and memorized scripture that only she could memorize. I found myself laughing all the way to the end of the book I received this book for free from Chirstianbooks.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
This review is fromMiss Match: A Lauren Holbrook Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice light read with enough depth to the Christian elements to make you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
This review is fromMiss Match: A Lauren Holbrook Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fun read

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
bsc1
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the story. Fun book. Had to read the rest of the series.
Made me feel good. Enjoyed the spiritual messages as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect series!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
CaitGM
Location:Tyler, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially liked the way they interacted with each other. It had some funny parts that I especially liked. I had to buy this copy because my sister's copy had been duct taped together from being read so many times!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun & inspirational!

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina Hott Books
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun and inspirational read. I was really shocked that something that had me looking up Bible references would also have me laughing so hard. This deals with God's sovereignty in am impactful yet easy way. I'd recommend this for ages 15+ -- Christians & those looking for meaning (or just a little fun).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
This review is fromMiss Match: A Lauren Holbrook Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun to read

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
sony
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I was entertained from begining to end.
Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brittany Parks
Photographer, friend, sister, and now match maker. Lauren Holbrook understands God has matrimonial plans for some singles. Her belief is that the good Lord doesnt mind her helping out. After all, she slightly pushed her sister and new brother-in-law together. In six months, maybe, seven shell have successfully brought together another couple. Laurie would happily meddle in more singles lives if Brandon would stay out of it. He has been her best friend since second grade, and he talked about the someday marriage becoming less and less on the someday part. Laurie doesnt want to get married. She doesnt want Brandon too either. Because once he finds a girlfriend, she wont like Brandon and Laurie being so close. Hannah, the new secretary, might be the perfect match for him Laurie is seeing a dearly beloved possibility. Her own life takes a romantic spin when she agrees to fake date Construction Sam and could she possibly be falling for him? No, that cant be possible. The weird feeling shes having must be from the bad food at Halias. I couldnt put it down, and I couldnt stop smiling. Its a chick-flick movie written out. Im not ashamed to say I finished it within twenty-four hours. (Check out more of my reviews under TEEN REVIEWS at www.christianromancemagazine.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liana
My friend and I are obsessed with these books, and I can't say anything more than that they are amazing for a first novel!I couldn't put it down, and although I bought all three at once, I read through these books at a nice speed.Defiantly now a favourite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Twenty-three year old Lauren Holbrook is single, lives with her dad and couldnt be happier, but one of her favorite hobbies is matchmaking. Lauren never wants to get married, but she loves to see her friends find true love, especially when she has something to do with it. Her latest project is trying to match her coworker Ruby together with her Bible study teacher Nick. This proves to be a challenge, not only to Lauren, but to Ruby and Nick as well. Adding to this challenge is Laurens new found confusion about her plan to never get married.Life has been a little stressful for me lately and I have found that I have not been enjoying heavy or serious stories much and I was looking for something light and more importantly, funny. Miss Match was the answer. I was absolutely delighted by this story, and especially by Lauren. Her character was such a treat and so very likeable. At first, I found her a bit annoying, but the more I got to know her, the more I wanted to read. One of this books strongest points is the dialogue, especially the dialogue between Lauren and her best friend Brandon. They were very good friends, but their teasing was funny and natural. Lauren is sassy and funny and adorable. Miss Match is the first book in the Lauren Holbrook series and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series one of these days. I think Erynn Mangum is a writer whose books I will seek out in the future. I really enjoyed Miss Match and I strongly recommend it if your life needs a little comic relief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey Pitts
Any novel that features a coffee cup on the cover draws my attention. Erynn Mangum knows how to to entice the coffee-lover into the world of Lauren Holbrook, star of Miss Match.Lauren's career in photography brings her in contact with families, business people, and singles from all walks of life. But her real devotion surfaces as she matches her friends with prospective mates. Just like Yente from Fiddler on the Roof, Lauren discovers that our assumptions about the perfect match are often wrong.Mangum uses peripheral characters to emphasize Lauren's quest. The reader discovers that Lauren wants what all women want - true love.While Miss Match and sequels, Rematch and Matchpoint, are geared toward twentysomething readers, this fortysomething reader enjoyed the lighthearted style of each story. The protagonist reminds me of Jane Austen's Emma, innocently compassionate in her intentions to see her dearest friends happily married. Ah, to be young again.After comsuming the Lauren Holbrook trifecta, you will be happy to know that Erynn Mangum offers a new series, also with coffee on the cover, the first entitled Cool Beans to be released next month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
This book is a joy to read. Erynn Mangums writing truly captures your attention and keeps it until the very end. I loved the characters in this book. They are crazy and funny while at the same time true-to-life and believable. Lauren is one of the few characters Ive ever read about that I actually wish was a real person, because I think she would make a wonderful friend.I cant say enough good things about this book. I highly recommend this series to people who enjoy reading authors such as Jenny B. Jones, and Mary Connealy. Erynn has the same zany, lovable characters and quick wit that makes these authors so much fun to read.I love that Miss Match was mainly inspired by Jane Austens books, Emma and Pride and Prejudice. I love those books and was very pleased by the similarities while not being the same book in a contemporary setting. This is a definite to-read along with the other books in this series.Thanks to NavPress for sending me a copy of this book for reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Lauren Laurie Holbrook is a chocolate eating, coffee addict with a knack for matchmaking. After she successfully matches her older sister, Laurie goes on a mission to matchmake everyone else too, starting with people at her work. Laurie works at a photography studio run by her best-friend-since-forever, Brandon. Brandon is a more serious person, a great balance for Lauries wacky, mile-a-minute self. The camaraderie between the two is fun, the prime brother/sister relationship, but with quicker and more humorous retorts. When the atmosphere at work spoils, due to a cranky, neurotic coworker, what else is there for Laurie to do except matchmake? Say, with Lauries laidback singles pastor? Then, Brandon hires a much needed secretary for the studio. To Lauries chagrin, it turns out to be Hannaha flawless blonde with gorgeous hair, a great style, and a bubbly personality. Brandon invites Hannah to their singles group, and although Laurie does not like Hannah butting in, it doesnt take long before Lauries disdain for Hannah fades. Laurie discovers that behind the natural beauty, Hannah is a sweet girl with a good sense of humor and similar tastes in movies. In fact, Hannah would make a good match tooLauries love for classic chick-flicks adds to the story, and anyone who enjoys Pride and Prejudice, While You Were Sleeping, the Princess Bride should pick up this book. Laurie frequently quotes lines from movies like these, and even though shes just a character, its easy to hear her corny British accent when she quotes Pride and Prejudice or see her friends roll their eyes at her imitations. Anyone who loves coffee, chick-flicks, or humor has got to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
sarah
One of my FAVORITE series! I laughed out loud all the way through these books! Highly Highly Recomend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenness
Love, love, love this book and this author. I laughed out loud on every story in this series. If you want a fun read, this is it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Miss Match was a very good book. In the chick lit genre, you will find a lot of authors who try really, really hard, sometimes too hard, yet still miss that mark. It takes a special something to be able to capture that snappy, witty prose and make it into a good story. Mangum does this, however, and in the process she creates loveable, multi-dimensional characters who you feel like you truly know personally. While I would suspect that some readers out there may perceive our heroine as immature, I simply found her loveable and funny. Mangum's sense of humor really works, and I loved how she challenges typical stereotypes - for example, the beautiful blonde is not shallow, dumb or catty for once - instead she is intelligent, funny and kindhearted. Chocaholic Lauren is not a weightwatcher who imagines every morsel she consumes spreading to her thighs, but rather has fast metabolism, as in fact, many young women do. Miss Match was a delightful, refreshing book, and I look forward to reading the other two in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julianna
I was packaging books at the library where I volunteer 2 days a week, and Miss Match caught my eye -- because the author, Erynn Mangum, is 22 -- just like I am!! I immediately got Miss Match, finished it in a few days (with many outbursts of laughter!), and am now reading it aloud to my parents, who are enjoying it as well. Now I just have to put a bug in somebody's ear that Miss Match & Re Match are what I want for Christmas, more than anything else!! Great reading. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sala
A few times in this book I couldn't tell who would end up with whom. I thought it would be Lauren and Brandon together at one point... Quite a few turns later, I realized that wasn't the plan. An easy book to read, I'll be sure to get the next one to see how it all ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rachel J.
I absolutely love Erynn Mangum's unique style of writing. I normally dislike books written in the first person, but from the very moment that I started reading about Laurie, I fell in love with her. I also love how this book is written directly to single, twenty-something women. Yes, relationships are formed, but it's not just about the romance. It's about awesome friendships, your relationship with God, and just being who you are. I loved this book, and I am excited to read more from Erynn in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Miss Match, Lauren Holbrook Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sue H.
I devoured Miss Match by Erynn Mangum in a day at the beach. It was such a fun read! I look forward to ReMatch coming out in September! Can't wait to find out if Laurie and Brandon will marry or just remain friends. Erynn is a gifted writer and will capture the heart of all looking to enjoy an escape with Christian "Chick Lit" - it is good clean fun!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>