Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1

Now enjoy two of Philip Yancey's bestselling volumes in one convenient edition! A Gold Medallion and ECPA Book of the Year winner, The Jesus I Never Knew takes a fresh look at the Gospels. In it, Yancey discovers a Jesus more passionate and ultimately more satisfying than he ever imagined. Disappointment with God, also a Gold Medallion Award winner, tackles why actual Christian experience often falls short of our expectations. Viewing faith through the eyes of doubt, Yancey first explores the Bible to determine what we can rightfully expect from God. Then he applies his findings to real-life situations where we're often disappointed. Together, these volumes embrace and illuminate some of the toughest questions of faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Review 1 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emmie
Location:MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I read this 10 years ago and reread it this year. Purchased two copies for friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent insight

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
peggyj
Location:brentwood, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying the writing of Phillip Yancey. There is great insight into the life and love of our Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Getting 2 books in 1 is a super bonus.

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dottie
Location:Titusville FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small group is using "The Jesus I Never Knew" for our study - it is the 2nd one by Philip Yancey, and we are all excited as we begin this new one. Having the DVD and Participant Guide gives extra dimension for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transparent, truly great, Christian author.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sparky Girl
Location:Woodbridge VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philip Yancey tells it like "he" is. His honest observations and transparent writing breaths new insight into what most Christians think about and are afraid to share. After I read one of Yancey books, I couldn't wait to read all the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good books, well researched and written.

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Papas Brat
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author has much to say that 'Christians' need to hear. Some ideas are bound to make you uncomfortable if your approach to God has been lackadaisical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Bollinger
I have not read "Disappointment with God" yet, but really like "The Jesus I Never Knew." Yancy keeps the book interesting and makes you think, giving us a more realistic picture of Jesus than we normally get. I am looking forward to the second book in that set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sokho Oh
This is an excellent book! I have been recommending this book to everyone since 2005. We should know Jesus Christ according to the Bible just like the author of this book say. I totally agrre with him in many parts of the life situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Calhoun
I can hardly put it down and I can't wait to get to the second book included in this 2-book volume. Yancy answers the questions we all ask straight out of God's Word. He gives eye-opening insight to the Gospel's as a result of his quest for truth. I can't get enough of Philip Yancey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela
I love this book! I bought two more to give out to friends. I believe he uses a biblical approach to answer questions lots of Christians have and he is honest, humble and finds answers to questions that are on one hand very simple, but complex enough to feel satisfied with the answer. It was not too heavy and was easy reading, which I love having two kids! Also, it is the type of book that made me pause and think a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
C R Keithline
Mr. Yancey is an excellent writer. I have only read 'The Jesus I never knew' at this time. It is a good read and I find the context to be in line with teaching and expressions from other Bible teachers and scholars. He doesan excellent job giving scripture references. I enjoyed this work very much and would recommend to anyone who is wanting an good overview to Jesus life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dennis Roebuck
This is a great product at a wonderfully affordable price. Philip Yancey presents theology in a down-to-earth format which anyone can comprehend and he is not shy about approaching the burning questions which we all face in life. I highly recommend anything he writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie Neff
i am almost done with Disappointment with God. I highly recommend it. I think everyone of us has been disappointed with God but many are afraid to verbalize it. This book is helping me through a hard season right now. Thank You Philip Yancey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Gilchrist
Excellent book. I can't say enough about it...very Good!!! He understands the skeptic and knows how to relate and compare the skepticism to the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Boge
Philip Yancey is a very insightful writer. He asks the questions that if everyone were honest, are asking too. I like what he comes up with, because it is based on our only true source for answers concerning God-His Word. While not giving us answers to all our questions, he provides enough evidence to give us confidence that we have placed our faith where it belongs-in God's capable hands; no matter if the heavens fall. I recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Guy Desjardins
Having read several books on Christianity, spirituality and Jesus written from many perspectives, I was pleasantly surprised at the well researched synthesis, cohesiveness and accessability of The Jesus I Never Knew. It was an exhilerating and motivational tome. I feel as though The Jesus that Yancey never knew is a person that I know more intimately now after reading the book. The second book Disappointment With God is a biblically based revelation in which Yancey gives fresh insight into Job's travails and the cosmic oneupsmanship therein. Yancey does a laudable job of speculating on how God may "think" through the universal passion without and throughout the boundaries of space and time. A comforting and illuminating read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrea Anderberg
This book was very entertaining and very enlightening. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and had trouble putting it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Croft
Philip Yancey is one of my favorite Christian authors, and getting two of his writings in one volume is like getting a double blessing. He seems to have some of the same questions I have and he answers them so well. The price was right too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Letcher
I have given a copy to all the adult family members..from 30 to 88! We have an extensive Christian library and believe that these two Yancey books (bound together)belong alongside Lewis and Spurgeon.Truly inspired by The Holy Spirit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin Otto
I have read both of these books and would highly recommend them. As I was reading the Jesus I never knew book I was finding myself relating personally to so many of the stories and shared experiences of Yancey as he was growing up and then also as he was maturing in his walk with the Lord. It was a refreshing "new" look at the gospels and life of Christ and then challenging to reflect on whether I'm really following Christ or just an idea of Him that I grew up with. Thank you Philip for your insight and wisdom.I also have read Disappointment with God and would recommend it as well. Both books are must reads for anyone wanting to draw closer to the Lord in or out of difficult times. I thought so much of them that I got a copy of each for each of my kids for their own libraries.God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Jesus I Never Knew/Disappointment with God, 2 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joyce Honea
A wonderful fresh approach of the life and character of Jesus is the Jesus I Never Knew. Disappointment with God goes deep into God's plan for His creation with a new perspective. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>