Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1

When Kim Hartlinger arrives late on a mission trip to Mexico and discovers that the mission location has changed and now she will be doing construction in a remote village without plumbing and electricity. She can rough it with her designer clothes, or turn around and head home. With no English speaking villagers, Spanish speaking team members, or any translators, Kim worries they will not be able to reach the heart of the villagers in just 14 days. Will Kim be able to touch the villagers' hearts with the Gospel? Or will her time in Mexico be up before she gets the chance?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Review 1 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:18-24
Found in Translation by Roger Bruner with Kristi Rae Bruner is a teen novel about Kim Hartlinger, a spoiled eighteen-year-old who is going on a mission trip to Mexico where God transforms her to be more like Him. This novel was interesting to read, especially considering the fact that while I was reading it, I was preparing for my first short term mission trip! (Plus I am 18 and recently graduated from highschool...like Kim :).)
In my opinion, the characters in this book make very sudden changes in the way they behave...yes, there are reasons but it still seems way more immediate than it would be in real life.
The interaction between Kim and her newfound friend Aleesha is cute and fun to read. I like that the author(s) didn’t paint either a rosy or depressing picture of missions. They showed that there are joys and challenges. It’s hard work but it’s so worth it. And God can use you in ways you may never have imagined. This book illustrates the need to be flexible, obedient, forgiving, and to trust in God. To be willing (and want to) do things His way and not stubbornly cling to what we think is best. Even though this is fiction, it was great to see how much could be accomplished, by the grace of God, when a group of Christians worked together as a unified team.
I think that the ending is awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Spoiled to Surrendered

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
RachelleRea
Location:South Carolina
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I Loved
Every once in a while I enjoy reading a book with a main character that I can't totally relate to (not at first, anyway). When this urge strikes, I usually turn to contemporary YA fiction because while at the end of the book, we may have more in common than I expected, at the beginning most contemporary teens are either self-centered or just on the wrong track.
On page one of Found in Translation, Kim Hartlinger is both.
Kim's story begins with the distressing news that she has missed her flight to Dallas/Fort Worth (though the author kept me rolling with laughter through this account). When she finally arrives at her destination, she finds one leader of her mission trip disgruntled and a passel of teens, all of which are aggravated with her for setting them behind schedule. That's the not the worst of it. Kim discovers that her plans for the next two weeks in Mexico are being radically altered. Instead of Silver City, they are going to Santa Maria, which boasts no beds, no facilities, and most importantly, no translator.
The mission team is well equipped to supply the citizens of tornado-ravaged Santa Maria with new buildings in which to live. But the language barrior leaves them unable to tell the villagers the reason they have come or Who sent them.
What I Didn't Love As Much
The author's style lends itself well to the story and Kim's accounting of the mission team is an enthralling one that kept me turning the pages. However, more often than I would have liked, the tense of the sentences turned from past to present. At one point I found myself flipping through the pages trying to figure out whether or not this book is a journal Kim kept throughout the trip or what.
Some important scenes seemed skipped over and towards the end I felt like Kim was telling me what was going on instead of showing me.
Also, there were two instances in which Kim talked to an Angel and the introductions to these scenes left me skeptical. Whether or not she really spoke with an Angel or dreamed it is unclear, even to Kim.
Why I Recommend This Book
Kim is exactly what the back cover claims: spoiled. At least as spoiled as the average American high school grad who has always enjoyed indoor plumbing and microwaves. The way that she develops relationships with the villagers, especially with her friend Anjelita, is endearing and portrays how the trip impacts Kim. She makes a dramatic turn-around from self-absorbed makeup-addict to deciding to major in Spanish so that she can return to Santa Maria.
Also, Kim learns a lot about faith, obedience, and forgiveness. Her relationship with God leads to an engaging (and two-way) prayer life. She exercises forgiveness with a trying fellow team member. Most importantly, though, is the "big mission" she takes on, wholly depending on God to make things work.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in return for an honest review.
***
Team Novel Teen is a group of bloggers dedicated to spreading the word about clean teen fiction. Check out other posts about Found in Translation by Roger Bruner by clicking on the links below and check out www.NovelTeen.com for more information about Team Novel Teen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I adore missionary stories!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kim heads off on a mission trip adventure that will be filled with what she knows she does best: evangelism. Only Kim missed the memo. The trip was changed and is no longer the one she signed up for. Instead of going to a Mexican city to tell people about Jesus, she is sent to a remote village to do construction work. Kim starts out with a seriously disgruntled attitude about the misunderstanding until she remembers why she signed up in the first place.
I enjoyed this story, especially that it was inspired by Kristi Rae Bruner’s experiences in Mexico. I adore missionaries and love to hear about people who went on mission trips and how God works in those places. There were a few places in the storytelling where I got confused. Suddenly we were told that something had happened and we read about it after the fact. In a way that gave kind of a journal-like feel to the story.
Still, I would have liked to have been there for the action in the scene when Kim got hurt, not just to have heard about it after it happened. Kim’s rollercoaster personality amused me, how she’d be a bit of a brat one moment and a humble servant the next. The girl was the real deal, that’s for sure. I know I have moments where I do and say things I wish I could take back. (And still wish I could take them back years later…) Overall, I found this to be an enjoyable story with a great message, and I can’t wait to see what happens to Kim in book two.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mission Trip gone awry

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great read for any teen who has been or wants to go on a mission trip. Kim starts out with several oversized suitcases and all the essentials of life (hair dryer, cute clothes, etc.) And, she has big plans for what she wants to accomplish on her mission trip. A few blunders on her part and a few mishaps and the mission trip is anything but what she thought it would be. The characters change not only the town they are helping, but change themselves as they learn to follow God instead of their own ideas of what to accomplish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mission trip transformation

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Take a self-absorbed 18-year-old girl on a mission trip to an extremely remote Mexican village and you may have a recipe for disaster. Roughing it is not part of her vocabulary or lifestyle, yet Kim Hartlinger (appropriate name, don’t you think?) surprises herself as she adapts and proves equal to the tasks God puts in her path. Found in Translation by Roger Bruner, written with his daughter Kristi Rae, found this reader excited to be along for the journey.
Each unique individual is believably portrayed—foibles, failures, fears, and finding the way. It’s a story of growth and exploring relationships as well as the maturing process. But don’t think it’s all serious and too churchy. Found in Translation is a fun read, like listening to a close friend share personal experiences, including the funny and the embarrassing along with the full truth. Kim’s first person narration reveals her heart and her dreams while telling of her two-week adventure. She also develops a close friendship with an African-American girl, which adds a deeper dynamic to her experience.
Although marketed as YA, this touching story speaks to adults too. It will challenge and encourage believers to follow Kim’s example of surrender and obedience to the Lord’s leading. I suggest youth groups read this before heading out on that short-term mission. It would also be insightful for graduating teens before heading off to college. I look forward to the Bruners’ next well-written installment in their Altered Hearts series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved this book. !!!!!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Lewiston, Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book from the moment i started it, i couldn't put it down. From cover to cover this book never bored me, it kept me going. The story of Kim can be applied to my life in so many ways and is very convicting too. This made me think a lot about my life, and how i want to go on a mission's trip so much more and seek after God. It also made me think of how much i really do obey, and fully trust Him in everything and just waiting for His timing and His answer. I loved this book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would suit teenage girls needing redirection

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pampered Kim Hartlinger is in for the shock of her life when she arrives at her mission trip in Mexico with several suitcases full of designer clothes and a karaoke machine. Convinced that she's going to single-handedly convert everyone she meets with the help of her Spanish-English Bible, Kim sees the trip as an easy alternative to getting a summer job. But before she can unpack her Gucci loafers, she's informed that she's forgotten to read a very important email - the one telling her that the trip has changed, and that she'll now be building houses in an isolated village with no running water, let alone a fast-food joint. To make matters worse, the natives don't speak any English and the team is without a translator, so Kim's going to have a hard time bringing the villagers to the Lord. Could God really have a reason for bringing her to this desolated part of Mexico?
Although reading YA fiction when you're no longer a teenager is incredibly popular right now, I've never really seen the appeal. Being nineteen myself, I often cringe at the behaviour of characters who are meant to be the same age as me, and this was my problem with Kim. It took me a while to warm up to her, but by the end of the novel I could appreciate why teenagers would enjoy her story, even if I’m still nowhere close to being a YA fanatic.
Kim makes a bad first impression on most of her mission buddies, with the exception of stereotypical black girl #492, Aleesha. I say this because she really is a walking stereotype. I found her amusing for a few pages, but Kim and Aleesha’s constant banter of “Do all black people do X?” and “Can white girls really do that?” got annoying very quickly. Of course, Aleesha has attitude, is excellent at preaching, a great hairstylist, loves to sing...and her name is Aleesha. Just once, I’d love to see a black YA character called Sarah who wants to be a lawyer. Thankfully Aleesha was replaced as Kim’s sidekick by the adorable Anjelita, who is shunned by the other local kids for having been born with a deformity. Anjelita made this book a lot more enjoyable to read, and it was lovely to witness Kim becoming more responsible by caring for her new friend and finding ways to involve her in restoring the village.
Although she spends most of her time litter-picking with Anjelita, Kim does get a few chances to witness to people. Firstly, she meets typical bad-boy, Geoff, who constantly flirts with Kim and doesn’t seem to care about the mission trip. It turns out that Geoff is only pretending to be a Christian, so Kim decides to show him the truth about God’s love. After a surprisingly short amount of time, Geoff has a complete turnaround in character. While I initially liked this plot-line, Geoff’s transformation was a bit unbelievable, and I felt it gave the wrong image to teenage girls about how easy it is to change a bad-boy into a Christian. Especially as Kim immediately becomes attracted to Geoff after he’s committed his life to Jesus.
I much preferred Kim’s second attempt at evangelism, which comes about after she discovers that her Spanish-English Bible is actually only in Spanish. Kim prays and relents to God about how her Bible is useless, but then feels him calling her to read the Bible to the villagers. Despite her atrocious Spanish, the locals become interested in her story sessions. Unfortunately, Kim has to leave before she can see the true affects of her Bible-readings, but I felt this was a good lesson in sowing seeds of faith but not always seeing how you’ve affected people.
As I said before, I’m clearly not the target audience for this book. I might have appreciated this when I was younger, although I’m not entirely sure how my gothic, teenage self would have reacted to spoilt, designer-clad Kim. I think a lot of girls would get annoyed with Kim initially, but hopefully grow to like her as the novel progresses. To be honest, the perfect audience for Found in Translation is girls like Kim – those who are materialistic and forget to put God first in their lives. I think this book could really speak to these girls and hopefully have a impact on them. And of course, I reckon that this series is going to encourage more young people to go on mission trips – and to remind them that building houses and picking up litter are just as important as preaching the gospel. 7/10
Many thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for giving me the chance to read and review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this and be blessed.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been to Mexico. We visit the real Mexico and live with friends. We travel to the places where the Mexicans go. So when I heard about Rogers book, I begged for an advance copy of the book.
I am 66 years old I loved this story. Roger's sassy heroine with a need to grow-up, reminds me of the books of Jenny Jones. And that is high praise.
I did not expect the way the Spanish Bible was used. The way God used it in the story was much more beneficial to the native people and to Kim herself. I am eager to read the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Translates to a Good Read

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah Anderson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Kim Hartlinger, age 18, misses a flight for her mission trip in Ciudad de Plata, Mexico, she fumes. She’s never flown before but it shouldn’t be that difficult to catch another flight.
Or so she thinks—until she meets Millie Q.—the airport employee with bad teeth.
No thanks to Millie Q., Kim finally finds another flight, but she’s now held up her mission team—who’s waiting for her in San Diego—by several hours.
Oh well, at least she’s come prepared. She has her cell phone; a professional-quality hair dryer; enough matching shoes (Gucci leather flats) and purses for a new look every day; a treasure chest of her best cosmetics and toiletries; enough clothes (American Eagle jeans and Hollister tops) to wear separate day and night outfits for the next fourteen days; a steam iron and travel-sized ironing board; and a small, high-powered portable karaoke system.
What she finds out when she arrives, though, is that their project destination has changed; only she didn’t get the message. The place she’s really going to is a tiny village called Santa Maria. Due to a twister that ravaged the small area, there’s only one building left—a church. In addition to having no sleeping accommodations, Santa Maria has no electricity, plumbing, or running water. And the mission team will be doing construction. At least things couldn’t get any worse.
But they do.
On her first day of work toward rebuilding the new village, Kim breaks her arm. Then there’s this guy named Geoff who keeps following her around. And none of the villagers speak any English. And nobody on the mission team speaks any Spanish. In addition, there are no translators.
Kim worries. Will she be able to reach the villagers with the gospel of Jesus Christ in just fourteen days?
Found in Translation is laced with humor, hope, and teenage angst. Even more important, the story has heart. The ending comes to a satisfying conclusion.
The author gives this genre a new and unique voice, which is refreshing to see in this market.
I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
sandigrn
Location:Lehigh Valley PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just finished reading Found in Translation: An unforgettable mission trip where faith, obedience, and forgiveness intersect (Altered Hearts). This story is full of raw emotion and heart reaching actions. I would recommend this book to adult, youth, youth groups, or to any person unsure in their faith and searching for answers. Book Two in the series can't be released soon enough. This author is now on my must read list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it! A fun inspirational book!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katnip
Location:Ashland, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book and thoroughly enjoyed it! It gives the reader a lot to think about as it takes you through a wide range of emotions. It was inspirational to see the transition of Kim Hartlinger from a spoiled and selfish girl to a much more spiritually and emotionally mature young lady in just the space of two weeks! I've never been on an organized mission trip, but hope to go on one someday and pray that it has as much effect on me as it does on Kim. The themes of faith, obedience and forgiveness, as well as the importance of flexibility are presented in many different ways throughout the often funny story. You'll find yourself laughing out loud, but keep tissues handy for the ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Found in Translation, Altered Hearts Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved my advance read

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Amarillo TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Found in Translation is a book with a fresh, authentic young adult voice and embodies a message that speaks to young people everywhere. It pulls the reader into the story and beautifully compels them to keep reading. It is a
book that is easy to recommend. I read it through in one sitting.
Terry Burns
Author of "Beyond the Smoke," 2009 Will Rogers Medallion Winner for Young Adult Fiction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.