Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose

NavPress A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose

Life is looking up for Katie Parker. After being placed in a foster home, she's finally adjusting to her foster family. But tragedy shakes her fragile world as a tornado rips through the town of In Between and her foster mother is diagnosed with cancer. Faced with the possibility of losing a loved one, Kate begins to doubt if God really does care. Making matters worse, Katie is accused of stealing at school Just when it seems nothing else could possibly go wrong, she loses the lead role in the play and any shot at getting closed to her real-life Prince Charming. In the middle of her chaotic--and humorous--life, Katie reconnects to God's amazing love and grace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Review 1 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Engaging and Witty Cast

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading In Between, the first book in A Katie Parker Production, I was excited to read On the Loose. One of the benefits to discovering books after a series is complete is that you don't have to wait for the release of the sequel! Although the series is designated as young adult, you do not have to be a teen to relate to Katie's struggles and to laugh at the infectious humor. Katie is a great example for teens who are trying to find themselves in the face of pressure and doubts.
Jenny B. Jones never fails to completely draw me into her novels with the wit, sarcasm, and quirkiness that are unique to her work. She balances such traits with relatable problems, touching moments, and infusions of faith. On the Loose is a shining example of this balance. There are some extremely funny scenes throughout the novel; but there are also very tender moments, especially at the end of the book. Jones' writing is so engaging that I can clearly visualize each situation and empathize with the characters.
I love the cast of characters in A Katie Parker Production. Katie is the star of course, but the supporting stars shine as well. Maxine, Katie's foster grandmother, is particularly humorous, and her interactions with Katie and the rest of the family offer plenty of comedic moments. James and Millie, Katie's foster parents, are heart-warming examples of sacrifice and unconditional love. I look forward to catching up with Katie, her family, and the rest of In Between in the last book The Big Picture. I whole-heartedly recommend losing yourself "in between" the pages of A Katie Parker Production or any other novel by Jenny B. Jones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colleen Leftwich
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my 13 and 15 year old daughters for Christmas. It was on their wishlist. The first time they read these books was in 2009 when they borrowed them from the library. The would return them and check them out again a couple of months later. They think this book is funny and has a good story. There are 3 books in this series, they have read all of them, and have enjoyed each one immensely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
On the Loose is the second book in the Katie Parker Production by Jenny B. Jones. Just when Katie Parker is getting used to life with her foster family, a tornado blows the roof off Mad Maxines house. Since her foster grandma has no place to go, guess who Katies new roomie is? Then Millie is diagnosed with breast cancer. Katie cant believe God would allow such horrible things to happen to the Scotts. She worries constantly about her foster moms health and is angry they seem to be hiding information from her about the treatments. Then Amy, the Scotts real daughter, shows up, sending everything into chaos. Amys rude and insulting attitude causes Katie to doubt the Scotts true affections. Things arent much better at school. Katie has been accused of stealing, her best friend and Max Maxine are completely against her dating the cute senior star of the school play, and her mom is being released from prison. With Amy back home and Katies mom getting out, will the Scotts send Katie back to her old trailer-park life?Jenny B. Jones has written another amazing book. Between Katies sarcasm, Mad Maxines bizarre behavior, and Katies hysterical letters to her social worker, Ms. Smartly, I couldnt put this one down. Very funny, very realistic, and very touching. Looking forward to book three!Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I thought In Between was the best YA novel I'd ever read (other than my own - LOL), but I was wrong. On the Loose, A Katie Parker Production, Act 2, was even better than In Between! Katie really grows a lot over the course of these first two books in this series, and toward the end of On the Loose, I was wiping tears from my eyes. I love Katie as if she was my own daughter (I have a 16-year-old son) and even though she's a fictional character when her heart broke, so did mine. When I wasn't laughing my head off reading On the Loose, I was wiping tears from my eyes. I drove my husband up the wall by asking him if I could read him just one more page. This story is read-out-loud funny. Seriously. I couldn't help sharing the humor because it was so zany and tongue-in-cheek, yet insightful and deliciously entertaining. I can't say enough great things about this book or this series. Jenny B. Jones is a favorite author, and this book makes me even more sure of my decision to rank her my #1 favorite YA author of all time. I'm reading every book she writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Just like the first Katie Parker book in the series, I totally had a blast reading this book. It brought me back to my high school days (not necessarily a good thing lol). I think Katie is one of the best characters for teen readers these days. She is going through everything a regular teen faces and she handles them totally realistic. I laughed over the scenes with Charlie and his girlfriend because I know exactly how it feels to be in Katie's situation. I can't stand guys who are blind to their girlfriend's faults and can't see when a girl is using them. Chelsea really got on my nerves because Katie reluctantly did try to befriend her but still got the cold shoulder from her. You can bet I was rooting for Katie at the end of the book. I was really glad to see the Scotts' final reaction to Amy's behavior. If it had been anything less, I would have been severely disappointed in the characters. But I was pleased to read about their decision and I supported them completely. I also understood about how Katie felt during this whole situation. I thought that her foster parents could have been a bit more understanding but it's also easy to see why there was a lack of communication.This is one of the best YA series out there and I would definately recommend it as an alternative over the highly secular Gossip Girl books. Looking forward to reading my copy of the 3rd book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
What a delightful read! Jenny B. Jones has done it again with her second Katie Parker Production book. Katie Parker moved in with her foster parents, James and Millie, six months ago and has adjusted well. Life is finally settling for her. Then a tornado hits her town of In Between and leaves more than just debris and broken houses in its wake.Immediately after the tornado, Katie's world is invaded when Maxine her eccentric foster grandmother, moves in with them temporarily. Maxine's apartment was damaged by the storm. Maxine invades Katie's bedroom, space, privacy and life. As Katie tries to adjust to that, the family finds out Millie has breast cancer. The rattles Katie's already weakened sense of security. Will James and Millie want her around as they deal with this cancer? Or will they send her back to the children's home? Add to these circumstances, relationship issues at school between Katie and her best friends, preparations with her drama classmates for a school show, the school science fair, a bully girl named Angel, her own attraction to the school's version of Prince Charming, and Katie's life becomes worse than the tornado that hit her town. Can Katie find her way through the whirlwind of her life to the things that matter most and realize the love and family she always wanted is truly right at her fingertips?Jenny Jones wrote a most entertaining book. Katie is a likeable teenage girl and your heart will be drawn to her life. As you read this book you will laugh out loud one minute and wipe away tears the next. I highly recommend this book for teens and up. Wait until the end when you realize you have fallen in love with Charlie Benson, too. I look forward to the next Katie Parker book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
On the Loose is one of the best books I've read. WARNING: HARD TO STOP LAUGHING, CRYING AND READING! It makes you feel lucky to beloved by friends and family.Can't wait for THE BIG PICTURE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sharon A. Lavy
I enjoyed reading Jenny B. Jones second novel of the Katie Parker series. It's hard enough to be a teenager. Fifty years ago I entered the teens and I can testify it's not for sissies. I appreciate the realism of the cast of characters. Although it's a YA novel It's not filled with only teens. I enjoyed the antics of Katie's foster grandmother, Maxine. Since I've been a teenager and am now a great grandmother I got a kick out of the interaction between them. Laughter is the best medicine and you can't read this book without letting out a chuckle now and then. But it's not all fun and games. Katie's foster mom is fighting cancer. The long lost daughter comes home. A girl who is dearly loved and who Katie feels she can never live up too. And as if that isn't enough, high society, Chelsea tries to win Prince Charming.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READING.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessica Epps
On the Loose was an easy & super fun book to read! The author is extremely witty and I laughed throughout the whole book! It had a great Christian message but it was not thrown in your face. It would be a great book to give to your non-Christian friends. The book shares the love of Christ in a fun & hip way for teen girls. LOVED IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura
I am currently reading this book and completed wrapped up in it! I can't stop reading it. It is hard to put it down at night to go to sleep when I am supposed to. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
I only wish I could give this book more stars! This is genuine teen lit that has a point and a purpose, and Katie's story is a wonderful illustration of how important it is to LIVE our faith as well as SHARE our faith. Katie has finally decided she wants to be a part of the Scott family...but have they decided they don't want her? Left out of important decisions, out of the loop of information on her foster mom's health, and booted out of her room when the "prodigal daughter" returns...has Katie's welcome worn thin?Add in an enemy out to get her at school, a heartthrob with more than rehearsals on his mind, and a confused view of God's control...and you have one mixed up teen. What will Katie do? Who can help her? And will Maxine be able to fly without killing anyone?This book is a hoot, a hankie, and a winner in my book:-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Katie Parker Production, Act 2: On the Loose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Katie Parker is still adapting to living with her foster parents, Reverend James Scott and his wife Millie after living with a drug dealing mom who had no time or inclination to raise her. The teen actually finds she likes having rules and discipline; she enjoys the antics of her foster father who shouts at the TV and even the over the top antics of her foster mom, the ultimate obsessive person who wants everyone in her circle contented including Katie even if it means driving them to distraction. In other words Katie has had a taste of genuine adult nurturing and wants more of it.<br /><br />However, the newly formed family has not faced a test of their relational bond until a tornado hits the town of In Between hitting the Scott home. Millie is hurt from flying glass and taken to the emergency room where they learn she has cancer. Katie is stunned that God would take away a loved one just when she finally has met someone to cherish. At school, trouble also occurs when Katie is blamed for stealing, which costs her the role of Cinderella in the school play. Katie with the help of her loving foster grandmother Maxine turns to God to praying mostly for Millie to be okay.<br /><br />Jenny B. Jones continues the dramatic ups and downs of Katie Parker (see IN BETWEEN) as the teen begins to feel comfortable with her foster family only to have several setbacks make her wonder if God is abandoning her. Katie is terrific as the prime focus of the character driven story line as she struggles with the issue of why bad things happen to good people. Teen readers will appreciate her doubts while enjoying the antics of James screaming at Simon of American Idol and Granny having a dude on the side. Of course there is always Einstein to make relationships happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.