Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook

Thomas Nelson Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook

Join best-selling author and highly esteemed Bible teacher John MacArthur as he studies the lives and faith of key women from both the Old and New Testaments. Written in the same style as his popular book Twelve Ordinary Men, each chapter includes a biographical summary of each woman as well as spiritual lessons drawn from her life. Let Pastor MacArthur show you how God transforms ordinary women into extraordinary servants of Christ!
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Review 1 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful insights

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Trochim
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My ladies' Bible study just completed this book along with the workbook. I loved looking at these women with more than just a glance. God's Word is so rich and every woman's story is there for us to ponder and see God's glory on display. Dr. MacArthur's teaching of how God loves and can use even the imperfect was encouraging. It made me feel cherished as a woman created by God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great stuff

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy H
Location:Bryan, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love all the insights. Lots of information to contemplate. Very in depth so allows spiritual growth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study of women of the Bible

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Connect
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this in a college girls Bible Study/Connect group. They have loved it, and I have loved leading it with all of these wonderful examples of women of the Bible. Highly recommend for any woman to renew the importance of the Old Testament as it relates to our lives now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donny
Location:Medford, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing book describes in very much detail about the women, must read, you will learn alot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
avalonkay
Location:Clinton, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this book for our ladies bible meeting. It was fantastic and we all agreed that we learned much from the study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loretta Hutchins
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are currently studying this book in Sunday School. We have gotten into some great discussions from the info in it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Approach with Caution

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is severely lacking in scholarship, and MacArthur continuously represents his opinions and even wild speculations as absolute fact. He makes many social and historical claims that he leaves completely unsubstantiated (for example, he claims that humanism corresponds with poor treatment of women without citing any source for this view, and from my study of history, the opposite is true). He also bases major claims off of *English* translations, when the original Hebrew reveals the polar opposite of his stance (for example, Abraham's and Sarah's laughter).
I also took strong issue with one theme MacArthur pushes throughout the book: His claim that motherhood is the highest calling (which I personally believe contradicts Scripture since those with the gift of singleness are to be held in high regard, therefore a single woman presumably has a higher calling than a mother) and that none of the godly women of the Bible were active in careers outside the home. (1) This ignores the fact that ancient culture largely prevented them from doing so. (2) It ignores Deborah and Isaiah's wife's calling as prophetesses - which MacArthur references but makes absolutely no case as to why he discounts them. (3) At one point, he actually establishes that Lydia made her own fortune through an international business - and contradicts himself mere pages later when he reiterates that none of these women distinguished themselves through careers. MacArthur clearly has an agenda, which would be accpetable IF he backed it up - but he never does.
Please do not assume I take such issue because I am a feminist - I am not. The reason my objections have to do with these issues is because that is the subject matter the book deals with.
I am normally not this critical of Bible teachers because I fully realize that no human can ever know everything about God's Word and that I myself also surely understand a lot less about the Bible than I think I do (studying and teaching Scripture is an very, very hard job!) - but I hold MacArthur to a higher standard than others specifically because he is such a well-regarded Bible "scholar" and even wrote a popular study Bible. Because he treats history flippantly, ignores Biblical languages, and contradicts himself, I find this fact extremely disturbing.
The only reason I gave this book two stars instead of one is it does, admittedly, have a *few* redeeming qualities. The general applications to the reader's own life are edifying, and the chapters on Sarah, Hannah, Mary, and the Samaritan Woman did have some good insights.
I would ONLY recommend this book to solid Bible students who are skilled at separating interpretation from speculation, and will do their own study in Scripture to check MacArthur's claims.
I will not be reading anything else by MacArthur.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring. Still reading it.

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
kamal
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learnt a lot about some of the lesser known women. It is a great witnessing tool as well to women who are not familiar with the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book on some of the Bible's women.

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommabear
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have learned a lot from these women. It is a well written book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good study

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Newcastle, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am teaching a Sunday School & we are using this book set. We are enjoying it & learning from it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is awesome

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yoli1964
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having a hard time searching for information regarding Mary, mother of Jesus to prepare for a sermon. A former colleague of mine recommended this book and when I read the previews I was hooked. This book is very informative! It will be especially helpful to you if you are responsible for a Women's Ministry or teaching a Women's Bible Study group. I found it quite useful! I highly recommend it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An easy read that draws you into the book.

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book about the extraordinary women of the Bible was interesting and thought provoking. Women were viewed very differently than today which is one of the reasons why I enjoyed the book. It also showed the strong relationship each woman had with God and their strong faith even in times of desperation. It helped me feel closer to God in that I have a very special purpose in my life as did the twelve women of the Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blessed Hope Evangelistic Mini
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding and exceptionally informative. I thought these would be the best words to describe this course.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this study is very informative

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Candy
Location:Bear DE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My small groups chose this study for our bible study this season. We are really enjoying it. I purchased this book for my mother for her birthday. I rec'd a call from her today she started it last night and could not put it down. I knew going into this study I wouldn't be disappointed because Rev MacAuthor is a wonderful teacher
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
barb
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains more perspective, and insight than I expected. Really helps put into perspective how I can relate to characters in today's world. Doesn't seem to make assumptions, but gives the facts. For exp. doesn't say forbidden fruit was an apple or the serpant was a snake, etc.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for small group study

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jillian
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I am currently teaching a small group study and am so happy this is the book I have chosen! There are so many life principles from the lives of these 12 women which are applicable to our walk today. There is so much excitement each week as we explore the next chapter! I would definitely recommend this book to any woman searching for a better understanding of herself and God's divine plan for her life today.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Rosati
Just started reading the book, but I enjoy it alot!! It makes you think about how the women back then were not so different as they are today. We thing they had to be so much better then us but they were just like us
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Trochim
I found this book very interesting and an easy read. These women that God mentioned in the scriptures are worthy of a closer look than I had given them before. They remained faithful through hard times, heart longings, and even their own mistakes. God's grace is obvious in their stories.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Oryan
I fist ordered this on my Kindle and loved the book. I will be teaching a ladies' class in our church beginning in August. I love John MacArthur's writing style - very easy to understand yet he plumbs the spiritual truths that the casual Bible reader totally misses. It is a blessing!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twelve Extraordinary Women: How God Shaped Women of the Bible, and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan
I am about 1/2 the way thru this study. The book is astounding. Any character study of someone so long past would be based on consideration of how people today would react to similar issues. I have enjoyed how Mr. MacArthur has made the characters come to life and spurred me to look more closely at passages about them in the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>