Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2

Random House, Inc Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2

Following up her bestseller Thorn in My Heart, Higgs takes you back to the 18th-century Scottish Lowlands, where gentle Leana and her bonny sister Rose vie for the love of Jamie McKie. Who will win? This unforgettable story of entwined lives, passion, faithfulness, heartache, and redemption parallels the biblical accounts of Jacob, Esau, Rachel, and Leah. 496 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Review 1 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We return to 18th century Scotland to the thorny love triangle that is Jamie, Leana, and Rose. Desperately determined to have Jamie to herself despite his marriage for Leana, Rose employs every charm in her employ to bring his heart towards her own once more. She ignores her conscience thinking all is fair in love, never dreaming of the tragic consequences. Her sister, Leana, patient and full of faith in Jamie and God, never sees what the future has in store. But she dotes on Ian, hoping that she will one day be as happy as she once was.
Jamie has every intention of returning to Glentrool to claim his stolen birthright. But again, things do not go well for him and his plans, and Lachlan delays him at every turn. Which McBride sister will be his bride upon his return? And will he be well received, or will Evan's jealousy that has taken root over two years finally yield it's bitter fruit?
The saga continues in this breathtaking second installment of Higg's Scottish series. While I couldn't help but love each and every character development in this story, it broke my heart to read line after line of terrible, yet necessary details. I knew things had to happen, but that didn't make it any easier. There are moments of joy, pain, happiness, dread, peace, passion, faithfulness, heartache, and redemption, in every chapter. I reveled in every moment in all their lives, and I despaired with them when it seemed all was lost. While this book is very important to the story and a pivotal book in the series, it was hard to not get emotionally involved the more I read on. If you're not a fan of this author, by the time you get to this book in the Scottish saga you will be involved as you're going to get. Love, love, love this book and series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great but sad

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Megan
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great read. It was a little slow moving at first but it definitely picked up the plot. While it was extremely interesting, I thought it was so sad, the further on I got in the book. I started to hate the church. I mean, what right do they have to do what they did to Leana and Jamie? But it was good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We return to 18th century Scotland to the thorny love triangle that is Jamie, Leana, and Rose. Desperately determined to have Jamie to herself despite his marriage for Leana, Rose employs every charm in her employ to bring his heart towards her own once more. She ignores her conscience thinking all is fair in love, never dreaming of the tragic consequences. Her sister, Leana, patient and full of faith in Jamie and God, never sees what the future has in store. But she dotes on Ian, hoping that she will one day be as happy as she once was.
Jamie has every intention of returning to Glentrool to claim his stolen birthright. But again, things do not go well for him and his plans, and Lachlan delays him at every turn. Which McBride sister will be his bride upon his return? And will he be well received, or will Evan's jealousy that has taken root over two years finally yield it's bitter fruit?
The saga continues in this breathtaking second installment of Higg's Scottish series. While I couldn't help but love each and every character development in this story, it broke my heart to read line after line of terrible, yet necessary details. I knew things had to happen, but that didn't make it any easier. There are moments of joy, pain, happiness, dread, peace, passion, faithfulness, heartache, and redemption, in every chapter. I reveled in every moment in all their lives, and I despaired with them when it seemed all was lost. While this book is very important to the story and a pivotal book in the series, it was hard to not get emotionally involved the more I read on. If you're not a fan of this author, by the time you get to this book in the Scottish saga you will be involved as you're going to get. Love, love, love this book and series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Thomas
I borrowed the first of this series from a friend bought bought the next two. I LOVED them, couldn't put them down!!! I'm sure I cried somewhere along the line... Really makes you think of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah. I came away thinking that Leana is far more gracious than I could EVER be!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christina Self
a great follow up to her first book in the series. i couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
pAT
What can I say! Another great book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
As promised, Im back with a review of Liz Curtis Higgss second Scottish historical fiction book, Fair Is the Rose. I took this book with me on a cruise, and read nearly non-stop. Book two delivers on the promises made in book one, but leaves unanswered questions for book three, Whence Came a Prince. If you like historical fiction, youll love this series. If youre not a historical fiction reader, this may very well be the series that herds your heart into the sheepfold. Jaime, Leana, and Rose once again draw us into eighteenth century Scotland. So much so that I almost felt like a guest in their home. Not welcomed by Lachlan, of course, who would have considered me yet another unproductive mouth to feed. My heart ached for Jaime, Leana, and Rose as they sought God while making seemingly impossible choices. Once again, they gave me a glimpse of the struggles Jacob, Leah, and Rachel must have gone through when faced with similar circumstances. Fair is the Rose reminds us that, as always, God will give us the strength to endure His tests.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Robyn
This book was incredible! Sometimes sequels tend to loose their momentum but this one certainly did not!! It has many suprising twists and I cried through them all. I would rate this book even higher if I could! I can't wait for the final book of this trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2004
Customer Avatar
Lauren
I couldn't wait to read this book, hoping it was as good as the last. And I wasn't disappointed. I couldn't put it down. The characters are so real and the love and forgiveness and selflessness that they show, especially Leana...well, just let me say: be ready to cry. I experienced so many different emotions during this book...it definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat! Though I love this book, I didn't want the things that happened toward the end of the book to happen (it was so heart wrenching)...but I better not explain farther because you'll definitely want to read it for yourself. Now we have to wait a year for Whence Came a Prince to come out.:-( I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.