Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Concordia Publishing House Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition

Concordia Publishing House Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition

This book makes it easy for parents to accomplish the often difficult task of introducing and explaining human sexuality to their children. Where Do Babies Come From? helps boys better understand how a new baby develops. In a positive and Christ-centered manner, the second book in the updated and revised "Learning About Sex" series helps parents communicate honestly and accurately with their sons about sex. Using age-appropriate text and pictures, the book enables young boys to recognize gender differences as one of God's great gifts designed as part of His creation plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Review 1 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story book to explain basic information

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
2boysmom
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a story book (didn't know that until I got it) about the family of a 7 year old boy expecting a baby. It explains how baby grows, how a mother and a father are needed to make on, etc. It is very basic and doesn't explain HOW the sperm get into the mother's body, just that it does. It has good drawings, not too detailed. I got it for my 12 year old son and found it to be not enough information for him. I think we will use it first as an introduction and then follow up with the next book. We will use it with my 9 year old. I feel like this is appropriate information for a 9 year old. Overall, a good book and I am glad I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
uisey
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were very pleased with this book! We were thrilled with the level of discussion it endused. Our son is very inquizitive and we wondered if it would be enough or too much information. It was great!
We recommended to our neighbor that they consider looking at the version for girls. They are not Christians (yet) so we were not sure how comfortable they would be reading it with their daughter. They used our book and it went very well. This is a wonderful resourse for parents and caregivers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great help for a single mom raising a boy!

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MissM479
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has definitely helped me when it comes to this subject without another man around the house. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comfortably useful

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MSGMom
Location:Alabaster, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a clear and age appropriate presentation of sensitive information. My son (10 years old) and I read it together. It answered some of his questions and prompted a few others that we were able to discuss honestly and adequately without going too deep into the subject. At first I was a little concerned with the sketches but realized that they were not too detailed for his developmental level. I am not sure that I would have wanted to read it with him at the recommended age (7-9) but feel that to be a personal rather than general issue.
I would certainly recommend this book (and the equivalent one for girls) to any of my friends/family. I have already purchased the next one in the series as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good introduction to the topic

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof1
Location:Southern CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
As a single parent of a boy, I have been trying to find suitable material dealing with the topic of human sexuality. Many times, books are too detailed for his age or they discuss issues I do not feel he is ready to hear. I feel this book, though simple, is a great way to introduce the topic to my son without either of us having to feel uncomfortable. Most importantly, I am thrilled that the topic is covered from the Christian perspective. Parents may find that additional resources are needed as more questions arise, but this resource is a great place to start!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good, age appropriate

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
momof2boys
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I appreciate Focus on the Family's recommendation on this book. It is age appropriate. Tells the simple facts, in general terms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rick Smith
Using age-appropriate text and pictures, the book enables our eight year old son to recognize gender differences as one of God's great gifts designed in His creation plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Do Babies Come From? Boys' edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kr Wells
This was a little long for my 7 year old. But, I am thankful for literature to help with all the questions. It is unfortunate that all the kids talk so much about sex in 2nd grade public school. Thank you for making this available to my family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.