Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2

Bethany House Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2

The drama of the Civil War unfolds through the eyes of two very different Northern girls. Lovely Julia Hoffman has always enjoyed the carefree life of her well-to-do family, but when she fails to attract the attention of Rev. Nathaniel Greene, a fierce abolitionist, she determines to bring meaning to her empty and shallow existence. When she becomes a Union nurse, her eyes are opened to the realities of war and suffering. She also meets Phoebe, who has entered the army under false pretenses--and whose journey to understanding herself, as well as the tumultuous world about her, is revealed with sensitivity and drama.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Review 1 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
This review is fromFire by Night - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding historical Christian fiction

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maren Moseley
Location:rural PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jane Austin does a superb job of dealing with issues of the heart and historical/social issues. The main character is a young socialite from the North during the Civil War era. At first she is self-serving and attempts to please and impress men by her actions. She learns during the course of the war that service to your fellow man must come from the heart as the result of loving and serving God. The descriptions of the Civil War are vivid, realistic and often times heart-wrenching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overmet my expectations

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Lynn Austin's novels and Fire By Night did not disappoint. The characters were incredible because she allowed you to feel their experiences during this tragic time. I did not even imagined the magnitude of the war and what Lynn Austin allowed us to see through her words was especially revealing. Everything seemed very well researched and thought out, and the details were staggering. She showed what happened in the North with the slaves, the wealthy socialites, and the people that went to war to serve their cause. I believe Lynn Austin to be a top writer in Christian fiction. FYI, people who read this novel need to realize that the civil war was gruesome and that the cruel reality of it is portrayed in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
I am reading this series as a series this time. I really liked this book for the nursing aspect of it since I am an RN. I have done a fair amount of reading about this time of American history so was interested to read her accuracy about Florence Nightingale and Dorothea Dix. Again, I am recommending this book to others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lydia
I love this book!!! The writer gives a very real picture of life in the Civil War. Also the romance has excellent chemistry. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction. The other books are excellent as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Garvin
Another great example of Christian service and make work service. A great love story as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
I am an Rn, and a former civil war reenactor. I LOVED THIS BOOK! I have enjoyed many of Ms. Austin's books, but this one topped the list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica
I thought this book was wonderful. I liked Candle in the Darkness but thought this book was even better. I look forward to reading the 3rd in the series. In a world where quality literature is hit or miss, I would recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katelyn
Fire by Night is one of my absolute favorite books of all time. I love any historical fiction especially if it's set during the Civil War so this book was perfect for me before I even read it. There's so many reasons why I love this book! The character development is great and the drama, the romance, and the suspense are great. I also love that the United States Christian Commission is mentioned because not many people know about it and it was an amazing organization during the Civil War. I love this so much that I've read it 3 times. Oh and my sister also loves it, though not as much as me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
kirsty
This book is my favourite one in the series. It is so touching, and romantic, and sad, all at the same time. I love the indepth recountings of the medical work during the civil war, and i am so glad that Julia didn't marry Nathanial. I was just so overbaring, and pushy, and has no feeling whatsoever to Julia's feelings. My favourite part was when Julia and James kissed. You could feel the passion, and anguish, and shame of that moment. And also, when James explained to Julia that he wasn't a drunk. This is such a compelling book, i couldn't put it down, and really great read. I really liked how Lynn wrapped everything up. I would reccomened it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
What an awesome book. I hated to put it down. Lynn surely has a gift...and I want more like this. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelsy
Like every other Lynn Austin novel, I have not been disappointed in the sheer brilliancy of the content. In "Fire by Night," you feel as though you are right there on Gettysburg, helping patients, or marching in the fields of Antinam. You find yourself rooting for impossible love and crying when a character dies. A must read for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Meredith
This book is amazing, I absolutely loved it, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys romance or historical fiction. It shows very strongly the doctors and nurses side of the story during the Civil War, and does a brilliant job of placing God at the center.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dixie
This is the best book I've read since I (like the other reader) read Francine Rivers' Redeeming Love and Mark of the Lion books. It is very well written. The book doesn't have a place in it where where you feel bored with what you are reading. And it makes a stand for feminism that isn't to obvious, and doesn't go over the top with it. I think that everyone who loves a good christian romance novel should read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kathy
This is an exciting read but read with caution because it is heavily laden with a feminist message. Woman who chose husband and family are disdained particularly by one of the heroines and not one happily married woman with children is portrayed in the book. Both heroines are strong willed women (which I think is perfectly fine.) Only the two heroine's both lie to do 'God's calling' in their life, now it may be God's calling but lying is a Biblical abomination. So it's an exciting read - theologically it needs to be scrutinized. Also a preacher is villainized and he is a Biblically sound man who is looking for a helpmeet in his life, he is villified for looking for someone he can share his life's work with. It's an exciting read it was the after taste that didn't settle. Try God's and Kings by same author.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Morgan
This was a wonderful historical fiction book. A well told story with very interesting, strong female roles. The first book was good, but this book was hard to put down! The best I've found since reading Francine Rivers "Mark of the Lion" series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2004
Customer Avatar
Brittany
This book was great! It had romance and action the way it ended was perfect. I think that this book should be read by everyone because of the lessons it teaches you about friendship and true love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2004
Customer Avatar
E. Burns
Lynn Austin is an excellent writer, and I agree with the other reviewers. This is even better than Candle in the Darkness. The Civil War just comes to life, and the women seem so real. It helps you confront your own motives for why you serve the Lord. Is it for His glory, or your own personal gain? If you're looking for "fluffy" book to read, try another book. This one makes you think. Excellent book...Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jami
This is an excellent book! Candle in the Darkness was good. But I think this one is even better. Julia is a woman of high society who wants to become a field nurse in the civil war so she can prove a point to the man that she wants to marry that she is not spoiled or self centered. But while becoming a nurse she realizes its more important to be the person God wants her to be. All in all its a great book. I do wish that Lynn would have talked a little more about Dr. MacGraths daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Peggy K
I'm a Lynn Austin fan, and I enjoyed Candle in the Darkness so much I didn't think her next book could top it. I was wrong. This book is excellent! A must read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fire by Night, Refiners Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2003
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
This is such an AWESOME book I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to adults and teenagers. If you liked the first book you will LOVE this one! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.