Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3

Bethany House A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3

Kitty, a house slave, always figured it was easiest to do what she'd always done--obey Missy and follow orders. But when word arrives that the Yankees are coming, Kitty is faced with a decision: will she continue to follow the bidding of her owners, or will she embrace this chance for freedom? Never allowed to have ideas of her own, Kitty is overwhelmed by the magnitude of her decision. Yet it is her hope to find the "happy ever after" ending to her life--and to follow Grady, whom she loves--that is the driving force behind her choice. Where will it lead her?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Review 1 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
This book ties into the first book in this series and I like that!! It is insightful why the African Americans had such anger against the white people and it is understandable. What I also found uplifting in this book is how some of the African Americans resolved their anger and hatred and tried to teach this to others. We all need this encouragement to look at people as God does
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty
This book has so many issues that have faced many people in this nation. It matters not what the circumstances we find ourselves in, God in his all knowing power will work and show us the path if we but listen. I would like to see another in this series. Grady and Anna had come so far. I could see Grady ministering to his people and showing God's love in a very unique way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
A Light to my Path was an amazing book. Many times I was in tears for the pain and suffering the characters went through! How could we white people be so inhumane? So cruel? Though in the end I was a bit disappointed that Grady couldn't get over his anger issues, though over all it's a captivating story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anneka
This is an awesome book. I can't imagine how humans can treat other humans in such a way, but I guess history spells that out over and over. I couldn't help but think that it's no wonder that there's often still a divide between races in North America -- look how we've treated one another. Hopefully we can learn from our mistakes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alisa
I thought the overall story was an interesting one. Though Lynn Austin tried to depict her moral of the story, it didn't reveal as well as it could have. The ending was reasonably good, but it left a sense (to a non-Christian) that money solves all anger problems. That is also an annoying thing about her story, Grady never seems to resolve his hatred and frustration. The relationship between Grady and "Kitty" doesn't appear as one of true love. Austin almost writes it as one of dashingly handsome or beautiful looks. Not a good foundation for marriage. I think of this story as well written, but open-ended in moral resolves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Jones
I really loved this book, I couldn't put it down, but as a black woman it made me very angry! I don't know if I would have been as submissive as Kitty. It also helped me to see how blessed I really am.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth M
OUTSTANDING! I will never view our plight today as adverse. This truly shows what it means to hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Robyn
Another excellent story by Lynn Austin! It gives true insight to the times during the Civil War.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kelly
This is an emotional tale of learning to love and trusting God to know what's best. Each book in this series is progressively better. I am a librarian and happily recommend the series to my patrons. Lynn Austin is an is an incredibly talented author. You won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Light to My Path, Refiners Fire Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
peggyk
If you liked the other books in this series, you'll like this one. It tells the story of Grady from Candle in the Darkness and his life when he is taken from Richmond. Another great read by Lynn Austin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.