Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition

Avon Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition

It's not easy being a single mom, but Kiahna has a wonderful 7-year-old son named Max, a good job as a flight attendant, and a relationship with Christ. When the plane she's on crashes into the ocean, she prays that the Lord will bring Max and his dad together. Will God grant her this one miracle?
Average Customer Rating:
1.517 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
127
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Review 1 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Kingbury's best

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancy Bell
Location:Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Up to Karen Kingsbury's standards. One of her best. Keeps you guessing about the outcome. Written with passion and emotion. I found myself crying at times and angry with Connor's wife at other times over her treatment of Connor's son. Well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
writingrhonda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story with four main sets of characters: a man, a wife, another woman, and some children. The man is a husband and father, who lives oceans apart from the truth; and therefore, he lives oceans apart from his loved ones. It's also a story of a betrayed wife who experientially learns that "love doesn't begin until you forgive." It's also a story of children who get reconciled to their father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving story.

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Buscemi
Location:Sparrows Point, Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got hooked into the story by the third page. It is a heartfelt believable story. The touching hand of God is weaved all throughout the book. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written, I would like to see a followup

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
korki
Location:Riverside CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oceans Apart haled my attention from the first page. I have already past the book along to my granddaughter, I know she will enjoy it as much as I did. I am looking forward to more books about Max and his new family. This book talks about real life stores in families, and how there is hope through our trials.
I like the way Karen Kingsbury brings God, faith, family, and love together in her books. I am looking forward to reading many more books by Karen Kingsbury in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara McKinney
I really expected far more in Karen's character development - like real Christians addressing a fall from grace with honesty and maturity instead of a puffed up guy only irritated because he blew it. Serious disappointing. I went on Kingsbury's website to convey my concerns and all three e-mails were returned as "non-deliverable" - just like the message in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Harris
Unusual to see so many honest comments, in the minus column about a Kingsbury book. I found it ironic that all she writes about, even back in 2004 when OA came out was sexual sins and those who got off far too easy. I have closed the door on trying her work out. It really is the same old thing. Beverly Lewis writes the same old thing, but she has a message and her characters never walk away with a smile on their face or never having avoided responsibility. Karen might try that in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Happs
Second chances are awesome. This book did not have second chances, but rather a "get out of sin free card". Highly disappointing to see such a lax view taken of adultery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angus McDermitt
Our co-ed book club had this as the selection for Setpember. The breezy adoption and attitude toward adultery left a sour taste in my mouth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Owen Anderson
There is a sadness to this story - no real redemption, no real man taking accountability, no real woman, no plausible children's dialogue, and no theme worth the time to flip through the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
R. Kurtus Fowler
I realize this is an earlier work of Kingsbury, but my wife and I found it quite disappointing. Unless I overlooked it, I found no admission of guilt or repentance by her principle character and a total misuse of his role as a husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wilma Edna Stewart
I was irritated at the lax treatment of adultery, but enjoying the story, until the husband tried to pass off his sexual liason with an opening line stating he thought he was in his wife's arms! If that didn't nail my dislike for this book, the wife telling her children their father "love" his mistress of 12 hours did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bekah Winger
Really disappointed with this story. I'm a 2nd grade teacher and Karen's depiction of children was totally wrong. The relationship and dialogue between Conner and Michelle was ridiculous. The father/son betwen Conner and his dad, and Conner and Max was very poor. The entire treatment of adultery was immature and "whatever" regarding accountability. Not worth the time to read. Second chances is God's greatest gift to us; but it is a humble heart and contrite spirit He is seeking - Conner would never fall into that category with his pouting, spoiled little boy nature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Timotia LaFrambroise
I have difficulty with the perspectives of this work regarding extended family, marriage, fidelity, and forgiveness. The shallow characters and conflicting messages also warped whatever purpose the author intended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
D. Witherspoon
I found nothing to recommend this story. Very poor characterization. Weak, if any Christian themes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
1st LT Brett Armstrong
My sister sent this to me thinking I would like it. I have been in the same situation at Captain Evans - but was able to take responsibility for my sin. My wife and I are still working through my sin and I would never have considered the childlike behavior Evans did. My sister was shocked at my anger over this book; and frankly, I was shocked at Kingsbury's callous approach to adultery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roberta Shauna Riley
I really felt offended by Karen's lack of compassion for the wife, Michelle. She made her out to be a dunce, fix all her hubby's sins, and fall girl. The husband, Conner walked away scott-free of any feelings of his sin by feeling sorry for himself. Where is the Christian marriage in this snapshot?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terence Snelling
As a naval pilot my wife thought I might enjoy this story, as she's a Kingsbury fan. I guess it was okay, but frankly, if Christian writers have such little regard for adultery is it any wonder Christian marriages are falling by the hour.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Adair
Not the integrity I expected from a Christian author when dealing with the devastation adutlery creates in one's life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corrine Cox
I was angry by the time I closed this book. Grace is something none of us ever deserves; BUT there are consequences for our sin. Conner had none and Michelle did all the work. Where is God glorified in that?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oceans Apart, Mass Market Edition
This review is fromOceans Apart.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Rogers
As the child of an affair I can tell you this story line was way off the mark. Max was more like a college kid and the girls were too naive. Michelle was horrid as the walked on wife and liar who supported her husband being "in love for a brief time" with his one night fling. Conner was deplorable and got a free pass for everything just by pouting. Where is the victory in seeing a marriage stay together under these conditions? Really disappointing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>