Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook

Thomas Nelson What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook

Israel, oil, the European Union, Islam; every day the media report on these flashpoint issues, but they almost never put them into the context of the biblical end times. How they relate to each other and how they relate to the last days are more important than isolated stories containing them as elements, but what does the finished puzzle look like? Combining all these with biblical themes of the Rapture, the Antichrist and Armageddon, David Jeremiah singles out ten issues relevant to the end of history as we know it, and he expertly weaves them together to illustrate a framework for the future. Stark in its depiction of upcoming world events and bold in its declaration of salvation of the repentant faithful, What in the World is Going On? helps to lift the mystery away from these often difficult to understand parts of prophecy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Review 1 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trina
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this book before and gave it to a friend. Our pastor recommended it and is very picky on books making sure they stick with the Word of God. I bought this one for my aunt to read. Share Jesus saving grace today with others!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clearly lays out what to watch for in the world today that is indicative of the coming of the last days. Also, it makes clear that it is farther along the time line than is apparent without research into political, financial, climatic and spiritual milestones.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Howard Ward
Location:Ponchatoula, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must-read for anyone interested in what the bible has to say about today's world and how to be prepared for tomorrow!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
This review is fromWhat in the World Is Going On? 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written!

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:Richmond, Va
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the facts presented as to how Christianity intersects with Islam. Very well written!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exccellent Presenatation

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mickey
Location:Schertz, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to read and compiled in a logical manner to make the material very comprehensible. Presents interesting notes and opinions, backed up by suitable sources, on what Christians can expect toward the end. Should be read by every believer and shared with their unbelieving friends, who really need to understand this.
Based on my bible studies, the author is absolutely correct in what he writes.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KATHY
Location:York PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm still reading it , but it is very interesting and applies to current happenings of the world and applies the Biblical scriptures to the present day and future happenings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for anyone to read.

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
dustygramp
Location:Washington Mo.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far the book keeps your interest. I'm very interested in knowing what is going on with this world. I pray daily for a new Christian World to appear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monique Or Stephane Leblanc
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a Christian of 8 years. I'd like to think of myself as a person with average knowledge of end times. So, what I think. It's concise and to the point. It's logical, no fancy jargon, which is excellent for the average person like me. After reading the book, I had a better understanding of the history and the influences related the our present day and future. 
The most important part of this book is the education factor. People are deceived and Christians are deceived as well. As a people, a nation under God we don't know our history well enough. This is a very important issue concerning parenting especially. If our children are to grow up in this world, inherit it after we pass; What are they going to hold on to as truth? This book tackles lies that are very wide spread. 
Many a Christian seem to not have any care of their future, many seem to care but are confused and double-minded. Dr. Jeremiah resolves confusion and destroys lies from the enemy with the word of God. He includes many historical events to explain our current state in the world and biblical events and prophesy to explain our future. The book puts to rest fears and doubts that even though there is a known coming of age where earth's people dwell in turmoil, there is a hope greater; JESUS CHRIST.
A quote that struck a cord in me:
We can easily see and resist the effects of jihad in militant terrorism but we have trouble seeing and resisting the mere subtle strategy that the Muslims call fatah. Fatah is infiltration, moving into a country in numbers large enough to affect the culture. It means taking advantage of tolerant laws and accommodative policies to insert the influence of Islam. in places where a military invasion will not succeed, the slow systematic, and unrelenting methods of fatah are conquering whole nations.
from What in the World is Going on? Dr. David Jeremiah
This reminds me of God's constant reminders and discipline of His people in the Old Testament of the Bible. The people were warned over and over not to mix with other nations, not to marry their women, to destroy their high places, etc. Look at Samuel as an example of this.
Overall, this is a book that will stay on our shelf. My children will also use this book as a type of reference to acquire better knowledge of their current and future world. 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book, opens up your mind to whats goining on

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike L Smith
Location:Roscommon Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Jeremiah always has written many good books, this is another one; If you are woundering about this uncertain times, His book will be a help you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can hardly put this book down. It makes the prophecies come alive and easy to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For such a time as this

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
katypete
Location:Hudson Valley NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I havent full completed this book as of now, but, im 3/4 of the way through and I just find it a great encouragement for facing life today. Considering the fact that the tragic event in Japan just took place, I find Dr. Jeremiah has certainly put out a timely book. As scary as the world looks, and biblically speaking the worse is yet to come, its a comfort to read the prophecies written in todays terms. I am writing this review because I came to the website to order another copy of this book, its the book I really want to share with those who dont know Christ. With the daily attacks all over this world going on it just may be what some need. The news is overwhelming and without faith in our Lord, I dont know how unbelievers are managing life. I truly hope to use this as a tool for the kingdom. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Any book by Dr. Jeremiah will teach you something. Helpful information that is written in an easy to comprehend manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A worthy read.

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
serenecsl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One day we hear of a natural disaster;
The next day we hear of oil prices escalating;
Two days later we hear of war breaking out.
In due time, one will eventually ask such a question (as in the title). This book seeks to shed light on the issues that are taking place in the world and its relevance to all that has been prophesied in the Word.
The book is nicely divided into ten chapters that cover separate issues. This makes it understandable and easy for the reader. However, the overall message of the book continues to be seen throughout in a great flow.
As mentioned earlier, this book is really for those who want to know more about the last things (eschatology) and a better understanding of issues such as the;
- The oil crisis
- The importance of Israel as God's chosen nation
- The Antichrist
- The new axis of evil
He uses a lot of references; there is no personal bias toward the subject. More importantly, he quotes a lot of Scripture and interprets the issue based on what the Word says. Prophecies by the prophets Ezekiel, Daniel, Joel (to name a few) have been comprehensively covered in view of the issue.
This book has made me realize how ignorant I have been of the things that are taking place in the world. The interest in the last things have sparked within me since finishing this book leaving me with a hunger to know and understand more. It was an interesting read from start to finish. For many people, things covered in the book might be frightful but the author remind us of the very important truths; as His people, we need not fear but live in expectancy of His coming. He exhorts us to live for Him and allow the prophecies to be a wake up call for each of us. A sub message of faith, hope and love continues throughout.
The King is coming!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps me to see world events coming together

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
punter
Location:WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Jeremiah has done a good job explaining the national and world events in a Biblical perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 'Must Know' in today's world!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beanie
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the book...and I've only had time to read it when I'm sitting down to eat...so eating takes longer than it use to! The book is riviting regarding what the Bible has to say about what's happening in today's world, and it's significance to Biblical prophecy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enlightening

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Butch
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the items I bought on my recent order were gifts for other people but I have listened to the CD's that are also on these messages. They were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent and timely book.

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Saundra
Location:Yakima, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is reading this for the third time and we have purchased it as gifts. Author, David Jeremiah, has given us good information from a Biblical perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have information for today's world

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The economic downturn surprised us. National spending is out of control. Europe is rising in power again. Events in the Middle East seem to be getting worse, not better. What are we to think of it all?
After a tremendous amount of study, Dr. David Jeremiah chose the ten most important prophetic clues from the Bible that we all need to be aware of. As the subtitle of the book says, we cannot afford to ignore them. They are now affecting us and will continue to affect us until Jesus calls His children home or until He returns. In clear detail and a gripping style that makes it hard to put the book down, he explains these clues in terms we can all understand.
I’ve read a number of books about the End Times. They all speculate about what will happen in the future. What in the World Is Going On? is the first book I’ve read that includes End Times happenings which are already occurring. The first two chapters explain the importance of Israel, why it is now in the world spotlight, and why Muslims hate her so much. In the next two chapters, Dr. Jeremiah touches on the importance of oil and how it plays into the End Times events. He also speaks on the rise of the European Union and what its role during the End Times will be. The remaining six chapters prepare us for what is yet to come, and he explains how current events are leading to these final six important clues.
On top of it all, however, Dr. Jeremiah continually reminds us that God is in control. The world may seem to be falling apart, but God is bringing about His plan in His way. He has given us clues in His Word—clues He meant for us to understand when the time is right. Dr. Jeremiah does an excellent job of showing us that the time is right. We need to understand these clues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What in the World is Going On? by David Jeremiah

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura007
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“What in the World is Going On?” by Dr. David Jeremiah makes the case that we are living in the Biblically prophesied last days. Providing a scary, no-nonsense commentary on recent world events, this book motivates the reader to shrug-off society’s prevailing apathy and evaluate truth vs. falsehood, good vs. evil, and purpose vs. selfish indulgence. Regardless of whether you agree with Jeremiah’s conclusions, the reading of this book prompts examination of self and the world we live in.
Strengths: Jeremiah examines world events with stark candor; which is a refreshing change from the prevailing spin of ‘I’m OK, you’re OK’ and ‘world peace’. Also, he included much-needed proposals of a Christian response in light of his heavy conclusions.
Weaknesses: The subtitle is easily misleading, ‘Ten Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore”. Only about half the book addresses ‘clues’ that could be considered evident: Israel, Oil, The European Union, Islamic Terrorism, and the re-emergence of Russian power. The remaining ‘clues’ are more speculative and future-looking: the role of America, the Rapture, the Antichrist, Armageddon, and the return of Jesus Christ.
Bottom Line: Paul admonishes Roman believers to ‘know the time’ and ‘awake out of sleep’, “for our salvation is nearer than when we first believed” (Rom. 13:11). Dr. Jeremiah urges the same for believers today along with these sentiments: “Our trust has never been in governments, civilizations or cultures”, “we have always put our trust in the One who stands above institutions, above history, and even above time itself…”, “only He is worthy of our allegiance.” (pg. 139)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for What In the World Is Going On?: 10 Prophetic Clues You Cannot Afford to Ignore - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
Between the mystery laden covers are 257 high quality pages of hope, anticipation, suspense and great surprise concerning these times in which we are living.Dr. David Jeremiah simplifies prophecies given in the bible concerning the happenings of these last days, aka the End Times; Exploring the touchy subjects of Islam, oil and Americas role in the End Times happenings. He sheds light on the issue of the Antichrist, and gives the current modern names of places involved in such prophecies as the battle of Armageddon. Although this is not my kind of book, I must say I respect the research done on the presentation, and the detail with which it is presented. I recommend this book as a must-read not just for pastors and Christian leaders, or believers; but for every single person because we all sure need to know the signs, and make proper preparations.This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>