Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Books This Present Darkeness

Living Books This Present Darkeness

Ashton is just a small town. But when a skeptical reporter and a prayerful pastor compare notes, they find themselves fighting a New Age plot to take over the townspeople---and the entire planet! A best-selling thriller that illustrates the power of evil---and the greater power of prayer as a weapon against it. 376 pages, pocket-sized softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Present Darkeness
Review 1 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The small college town of Ashton has becomes the center of a New Age cult. Newspaper owner Marshall Hogan and his top reporter Bernice Krueger have begun to dig into the rash of home and business foreclosures, but the more evidence they uncover, the more they find a sinister plot brewing just below the surface of their peaceful town.
Pastor Hank Busche is certain that God has called him to pastor a local church in this small town. But when the church is divided and Hank is left with only a handful of faithful saints, he begins to pray for guidance. Little does he realize that the Lord is sending a whole angelic host in answer to his prayers and that is when the showdown between good and evil begins.
First written in 1986, this book continues to be an influential book on the seriousness of spiritual warfare and the power of prayer. Although it is a work of fiction, it give the reader an intense insight into the spiritual warfare battle that rage today and it impresses upon the reader the tremendous importance of the power of intensive prayer and worship. While I don’t know if the battle scenes were accurate or not, it was fascinating reading. I absolutely loved the parts where the angels guide and helped the human beings and how the power of the prayers of the saints play a vital role in the defeat of the enemies of God.
I first read this back in the early 1990’s and recently just finished my second time through. I have recommended this book to almost everyone that I know that reads Christian fiction and have had a lot of positive feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Location:Bozeman mt
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book and series. Another familyfavorite of frank p is the Cooper family series. A great kids mystery aeries that the whole family loves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
JohnD
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Excellent Book. I could not put it down. The suspense was gripping.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the most important fictional books ever.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great (as is its sequel) . I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction. The story is compelling. It is hard to put down. It is built upon sound Biblical teaching but doesn't feel overly preachy. Who would have thought a fictional work would help so many people better understand what Spiritual warfare is all about? I have read this book several times and highly recommend it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the most important fictional books ever.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great (as is its sequel) . I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction. The story is compelling. It is hard to put down. It is built upon sound Biblical teaching but doesn't feel overly preachy. Who would have thought a fictional work would help so many people better understand what Spiritual warfare is all about? I have read this book several times and highly recommend it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book that makes spiritual warfare tangible.

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Garymo
Location:Acworth, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been several years since I read this book. I still give it and its sequel, "Piercing the Darkness", as gifts. In fact, I gave them both to the youth that I work with in a juvenile detention center this Christmas so that they would have something worthwhile to read. When I first read these books, my whole perception of spiritual warfare changed. I began seeing it as the true struggle that it is. I still tend to glance around at times to see if there are angels or demons hovering over me. I was a believer before I read these books, but I was convicted when I read them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev V
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent read! I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alice Tillman
A can't put down thriller! Makes you think...are we sure this is not really happening and the true power of prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shindana
OMG! This book, is not fiction! WOW! Great! I downloaded it in audio form, I was walking around the track forgetting others were around me cheering out loud for the heavenly host! GOD GETS THE GLORY EVEN WHEN WE DONT THINK HE WILL!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dennis Zahurak
Excellent book. Although it is fiction we are reminded satan is always roaming the earth and prayer is our strongest safeguard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Berger
I purchased This Present Darkness and Piercing The Darkness for my daughter. I read these two books by Frank Peretti years ago outloud on a trip with my husband while he was driving. I rarely have time to read anything other than my Bible, but these books are great, exciting, fast-paced and they definitely inspire you to pray and see the power in prayer! God does answer prayer!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cyndi Ramirez
I had read this book many years ago and was so happy to get into my hands again. It is a great book on how spiritual warfare takes places through our prayers!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Saddington
Love how Peretti merges the spiritual world with the natural to give readers a new clarity of what forces are at work in our lives. Great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Although the Product Inforamtion Section says this book was published in 2003, I know it was published long before that. Hopefully CBD will change that error when they read this review. I read this book in 1990 and still rememeber it WELL as being one of the best fiction books I've ever read. My opinion hasn't changed. It is one of those books you cannot put down. I stayed up all night long - literally - reading it, finishing it in one night. While it IS fiction, it has a lot of truth in it on the subject of spiritual warfare - and makes spiritual warfare much more "real" in our minds. My husband also loved it, as did our daughters, who read it years later - in their early teens. I think every Christian would do well to read it. I consider it too scary for children, however.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Joe
I am so glad I found this book this is one of the best books I have ever read. It really gets you to think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Bernice Krueger, reporter for the Ashton Chronicle, finds herself in jail after being in the wrong place at the wrong time. She came to Ashton to investigate the supposed suicide of her sister. Now, she and her boss, Marshall Hogan, start investigating some strange occurrences in town.Hank Busche is a small town pastor who is trying to keep his argumentative congregation from falling apart. Little does he know, there are dark forces in town that are set on seeing him fail. As demons characters carry out their assignments, Marshall and Hank become more determined to discover the truth. But can two men fight a host of demons they cannot see? And why is the host of heaven standing around and watching? Arent they going to do anything to stop this evil plot from taking over the town?Wow. This book has changed the way I think of angels and demons. There are many references in the Bible that lead me to believe there is a spiritual war going on around us that we cant see. But never have I read anything to give me such a clear picture of how that might look. This is the idea that Peretti builds his story around. This Present Darkness is an awesome story. Marshall, Bernice, and Hank slowly stumble onto the truth and have to work together to save Ashton. I love how Peretti showed the angels as mighty warriors interacting with one another. I also loved how Peretti showed the power of prayer. I kept rooting for the characters to pray, already! This book was thrilling, scary, amazing, and brilliant. I cant say enough wonderful things about it. Everyone should read this book at least once in their life, if not over and over again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Potoczny
A classic follow up as good as the first story in the series. Still great many years later
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Potoczny
Classic story of good vs evil - great read for young teens showing the realism of angelic and demonic beings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for This Present Darkeness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Strong
I read this in college and re read it before giving it to my son. It is a reminder God is always in control
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for This Present Darkeness
This review is fromThis Present Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abby Ang
Great book! Frank Peretti doesn't mince words. The spiritual warfare between the angels and demons is convincing. The characters are convincing. And even better, it affirms over and over again the importance and power of prayer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>