Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1

Tyndale House The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1

Can you prove Christianity is true? What's the big deal about stem cell research? No question is off limits in this frank discussion from the author of the best-selling How to Stay Christian in College. Featuring conversations and letters from real students, Budziszewski's guide tackles a broad range of classroom, spiritual and relationship issues with answers that make sense. Informal, fresh, and biblically solid!
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
Review 1 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the book is good

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy67
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love left behind books and they a good book to start before left behind
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
AngelaPrrfecta
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The before stories of the famous characters are so compelling. You will find yourself on God's side, even praying for the characters to find Jesus and ask Him onto their hearts...even though they are only characters! You sense the total transformation the rapture will cause them and you begin to fear the antichrist and how he will act in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joni Pearl
I am so glad I started reading the prequel to the Left Behind series. I enjoyed it very much. It is interesting to see how the characters are built from their youth into the Left Behind books (what drives them, etc.). Rayford and Cameron were very different from what I thought they would be like...they were not very likable at all...but then, that is probably why they are left behind. A must read for everyone who enjoyed the Left Behind books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Adams
It was moving and an inspiration can not put it down read it in 3 days
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
t
This book was great. Suspenseful edge of your seat. I could not put it down. I read it in 3 days. Can't wait to read the others in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gloria Zuniga
This is an excellent book of the Left Behind series, I recomend it to everybody to read it, you will sure enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Bailey
Didn't really enjoy the bulk of this book. Didn't really care about the young lives of Nicolie and Rayford Steel a/c the rest of left behind books told the background of these two characters. If I had thought it was so in depth about them I would NOT have bought the book, but I thought at first it would be an addition to my complete set of books of Left Behind series. But you never know about something until you try it, Right?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jon P.
I'd read the entire series and decided to give the prequels a try. The Rising is an enjoyable book. It provides good insight into how the characters we came to know in the Left Behind series made the choices they did. The section on how the young Rayford Steele was disillusioned with the church is powerful. It's a reminder of why it is critical that Christians truly understand our faith and study God's Word so that we are ready to give an answer to the questions of those who do not know Jesus Christ. This is a book that I can easily recommend for someone new to the Left Behind series or someone who's read them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristy Daubert
i loved it! I also read the next two and now I am reading the original series again...I can't wait to get to the final book Kingdom Come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Becky Hunter
I love the Left Behind series. Now, my collection is complete. Kingdom Come is just as thrilling as the other 12 are in the series. I hope it's just like it says it is when we get to the Millennium. I realize these books are considered fiction. But, the writers give Scripture, as it goes along with each theme of the book. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sharlet Moore
I'm a fan of the Left Behind Series. I found this book very interesting. It gave me some insight into the lives of Rayford Steele and Carpathia before they were introduced in Left Behind. It was also a little dark and deep in places leaving me to wonder about their roles in Left Behind. Overall, a good suspense novel that I would recommend to anyone who enjoyed the Left Behind Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
noname
How to write a bad novel:Take a bunch of one dimensional characters from a never ending series of books where nothing ever happens. Then write a prequel about those characters. Throw in lots of Christian proselytizing and right wing moralizing. Oooh... The Antichrists parents are homosexuals... I should have known...How to make millions of dollars by doing so:Aim the books at Christian readers who will faithfully buy any book that is Christian, no matter how bad it is.Let's be honest. The Left Behind series could have been made into a trilogy, but they so desperately wanted to make even more money out of the concept so they padded the story into (so far) 12 tediously slow books. And when the main story was finished, they started writing prequels, equally tedious. And not only are the books padded for length, Jerry No-Talent Jenkins obviously has no clue how to write interesting characters. "The Rising" is true to the style of the "Left Behind" book, except that it's, if possible, even less engaging, since, if we've read the "Left Behind" books, we already know what will happen to the characters.Why do I keep reading these books? I guess I just can't stay away from trash culture. Unfortunately, the Left Behind books have no redeeming qualities. I don't mind trash literature, but these books are not just trashy, they are boring - and stupid. This one was too boring to finish. I can not recommend this book to anyone who isn't a die-hard Jenkins/LaHaye fan, and even they may be bored by this tedious book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gary Drexler
If you have read the Left Behind Series you will enjoy The Rising. It gives you great insight into the characters. It is also thought provoking in it's view of what our world is like today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Rene
This is an interesting look at Carpathia's early life. The temptation scene at the end was ingenious - really brought out the nature of Antichrist. Good read, yet a bit predictable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
The Rising," the 13th book in the "Left Behind Series," and the first of a new three-volume set, is the prequel to the original dozen books. As before, LaHaye lends the theological nuances while Jenkins pens the narrative wording, a blending that has obviously worked well and continues to do so. If you've imagined what the main characters, good (Rayford, Irene, Choloe, Bruce, Buck, Tsion Ben Judah, and the rest) and bad (Viv, Nicolae, and others) were like before the Rapture, then "The Rising" will quench your thirst. Jenkins writes with a reality that is all-too-rare in Christian fiction. He tells of the checkered moral past of Rayford, as well as the the dark background of Nicolae. While some reviewers expressed concern over such depictions of evil, it actually resonates with all those read the Bible's real and raw descriptions of life on our fallen planet. If you've been a fan thus far, you will read "The Rising," unable to put it down and unable to wait until the next volume. Reviewer: Dr. Bob Kellemen, author of "Soul Physicians: A Theology of Soul Care and Spiritual Direction" and "Spiritual Friends: A Methodology of Soul Care and Spiritual Direction."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
In this book we get to see Rayford and Nicolae as young children on up to the time when they are in their twenties. I was excited to read about Rayford especially- since we are so familiar with him from the other books in the series it was interesting to read about his childhood, and his school expierence, and his college days to when he meets and marries Irene. We also get to know Irene, and since her appearance in the other books is limited, it serves to explain more about Rayford and the relationship they had before the events of left behind (book One). With Nicolae, we get to see how he was born and the role Viv Ivins played in his life all along and the conspriacy behind Nicolae's parentage and his eventual rise to leader of the world. This book expands very well on the story we did not get in the other books and on characters we did not otherwise get to know because of the rapture. If you have read the other 12 books as I have then this is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Rising, Before They Were Left Behind Series #1
This review is from#1: The Rising.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ashley B
Another exciting story by LaHaye & Jenkins. Finished the book in a day and a half. Can't wait for the next two in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.