Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook

Thomas Nelson Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Review 1 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

food for thought

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
bdavis
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why is it when we look around us in many churches, we see women, children, and elderly persons, for the most part? Since I have wondered this, myself, many times, it is good to see someone make an attempt at answering the puzzle. David Murrow in “Why Men Hate Going to Church” asks this important question, “What is it about modern Christianity that is driving men away?" What is it that men need from their church leaders and the church environment? What are the outreach methods that pastors, perhaps, are missing? While many churches are going strong and are filled with fathers and husband, sons and brothers, in many churches seats go unfilled by the men of a community. “Why Men Hate Going to Church” contains chapters like: Who Are the Missing Men; Men and Contemporary Worship; Twelve Things Men Fear About Church; How Churches Feminize Over Time; How Churches Drive Boys Away From the Faith; Why Megachurches Are Mega; Teaching and Men; What About Women; How Men Minister to Others; and many more interesting chapters. This is an important book for anyone who would minister to men, especially. I highly recommend it as food for thought. (Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing for my free review copy.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Dewald
I found myself disagreeing with some of the observations in the first half of the book. Looking at my church, I was not seeing there what the author was saying. The balance of men and women is very close in the church I go to.With that said, I almost put the book down. Sure am glad I didn't. I almost wrote a review when I received an e-mail from Christianbooks but felt it would not be fair to the author to do it with only half of the book read. Reading the second half was an eye-opener. It becomes a must read for any Pastor in a traditional type of church. I think David Murrow has identified a multitude of things that can be done in a church that will attract more men and allow them to be in their comfort zone. If this only gets one man to return to church, it will be worth the money spent and the time taken to read it. If you read it, do yourself a favor and read it all. Its worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Les Ford
I found some of the information good, but what frustrates me is when an author writes 8 pages to get to the point. he kept repeating himself it seemed just to fill the chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kyle Hogan
Good read. He makes a lot of valid points. There were/are certain things in some church practices that I was/am uncomfortable with, but couldn't put my finger on-in some of these things he's right on the money- churches are too feminized. I might take issue with some things about men's attention spans, and things. What was I talking now...?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Salo
A must read for all men and especially us men pastor's! I read this because I just started a new men's ministry and wanted to know why men hate church--if that's where I want them to end up at! It has impacted me so much that I've given challenge to setting our whole church on a new course of being effective through men's leadership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kurt Mueller
This is a must read for men and women alike. Women can discover why the men in their lives are so often turned off by the usual church business. Men can now confront the feelings they've had in the past about church. Tells the real situation that most men face when going to or trying to go to church and how we can all do a better job of bringing Jesus to all those tough guys out there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joseph Ross
This is a very informative book. With fresh unbiased opinions that should have interest across denominational and men/women pastorial leadership lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Douglas Huene
This is an excellent book and should be a must read for anyone who wants to bring their chruch back to the way God intended. My only issue is the practical application of the in's and out's of accomplishing this difficult task is lacking. "No Man Left Behind" is a good compliment to this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Douglas Huene
Excellent book which I feel is a must read for any person who attends a church that has more women than men actively attending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dr. Marlin Lance
Good insights and full of stuff that will cause no small stir in most churches. He has certainly done his research. I loved the book and am working through it again...this time taking good notes and getting ready to make changes in our men's ministry.I recommend it to those men in leadership that aren't afraid of stirring up the nest! If we don't get our men into shape, heaven help us when persecution hits on our homefront! A book like this can get the revolution started...if men will rediscover their heart and courage to stand as men of the new testament did...serving a Jesus that's a warrior...not a flower picker!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark
While Murrow diagnosing an actual problem, his suggestions and thoughts at a solution amount to just repainting the facade of church. The fundamental problems that keep men away find no solutions within the pages. This book is as constructive as telling a fat person they need to exercise and eat less.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Franklin Clark
This book speaks directly to men and women. The church has changed dramatically over the years as it has become feminized leaving little place for men to feel comfortable or have a purpose. This book clarifies many of those reasons and give practical ideas for making men comfortable with the idea of church. Everything said may not ring true depending on your background but it sure hits enough touch points to be well worth reading. Wives attending church without their husbands may find this book very enlightening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rob O'Gorman
David Murrow has done a first-class job in producing this book. It should be placed firmly in the hands of every male minister/ pastor/priest in North America! Its a superb book on nderstanding men and their spirituality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erik Watson
This is a great book for people trying to add more men to their churches and making the men that are there feel welcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Richey Pike
The book is informative, but it teaches an "easy believism" and encourages us to tone down God's message. It is an eye-opening book with some very good ideas- to be taken with a grain of salt and along with a firm stance on what God's Word says.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bruce Loggins
This book get right to the cause and effect and is very helpful for church leaders. Who want to turn the mens ministry around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michael Carey
Look around on Sunday notice more women than men in the church? Notice a significant number of women compared to the men? Does this bother you? If you want to know why this book is a great resource. Not only does the author identify the problem he proposes some solutions. This is a very valuable resource for anyone who wonders where are all the men? I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Don Shaeffer
Seldom does one find a book that takes a controversial subject and treat it with deftness and dignity. David Murrow's thesis, that men are not present in large number, is a truism. Mr. Murrow treats the subject with objectivity and also give remedial actions that can be applied to this area of church problems/concerns. The actions recommended are viable and as a Pastor I look to take a second [or third] look at the problem and attempt to take remedial actions. Even if only a small percentage of his actions 'take' it will be well worth the effort. Thank you Mr. Murrow for causing this Pastor to take a minute and examine the causes/remedies of why men are missing in our houses of worship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Don Low
This book should, in my opinion, be required reading for every pastor or minister in the Christian churches today. Very professional. Perfectly on target. A real eye opener. Order a copy for each ministry leader in your church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
This review is fromWhy Men Hate Going to Church.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rex Baker
This book nails the state of the Christian church in America. From the perspective of someone who has spent my entire life in the evangelical church, I can personally attest that David Murrow's assessment of the church today is highly accurate. It is not a message that some people want to hear, because it challenges the status quo.<br /><br />I challenge you to read this book and decide for yourself where your church "sets its thermostat". For men or women?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.