Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mott Media, LLC The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide

Mott Media, LLC The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide

Out-of-print for over 125 years, the original McGuffey's Eclectic Readers are considered educational classics. These books are world renowned for their teaching of reading through the integration of faith with learning. William Holmes McGuffey, outstanding 19th century educator and preacher, combined both of his God-given talents in the preparation of these early textbooks. Millions of copies were sold in their original Christ-centered form. The character of our Nation was molded in an upright manner through the repeated use of these textbooks over several generations.

In order to capture the true spirit of the original McGuffey's Eclectic Readers, no major content changes have been made. While this edition of the authentic Readers is being presented in a more easily readable form, the stories, poems, and pictures appear as they did in the first edition. Slight changes have taken place for the sake of clarification. However, no changes have been made in editorial content.

This boxed set includes:

  • Eclectic Primer
  • Eclectic Progressive Speller
  • Eclectic First Reader
  • Eclectic Pictorial Primer
  • Eclectic Second Reader
  • Eclectic Third Reader
  • Eclectic Fourth Reader
  • Softcover Parent/Teacher Guide
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Review 1 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

homeschool

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
granny
Location:Chicago IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter is homeschooled, and she is an avid 2nd grade, reader. This set is a treasured addition to her reaading library. Thank you CBD, for it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is well worth the money.

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had researched several other "curriculums" to use, and almost ordered another very expensive one. I am so glad I found this series. I am using it along with the Three R's by Beechick. Right now my 7 yr old daughter is doing copy work and dictation, as well as reading and comprehension from the primers. My 5 yr old son likes to look at the pictures with the alphabet and is working on the letter sounds. We use these books every day to work on the basics in addition to the books they choose to read everyday from our home or public library. This is a must have for any home library.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is better than high school English!

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
ProudPapa
Location:LA, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price, Fast Shipping, What a time-testament to sound teaching and a must-have for any homeschooling Library.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen Ann
The McGuffey Readers are fantastic. I'm now 18 years old and by the age of 5 i was reading with the help of this series. My mother home schooled me most of my childhood, where me and my 3 older sisters all learned to read with these books. I recommend these for parents who may be home schooling their children or would like to teach their child[ren] in addition to schooling. The levels are in good taste for beginning readers as far as alphabet and learning words go. Sentence structures and grammar are conveyed in a challenging, enlightening, and beneficial progression. Five stars to this century old collection, a great thing to hold onto/pass on to younger children.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andy and Cheryl Anderson
We use this set to help our youngest learn to read and spell. He has developed more of a vocabulary since the words in the spelling list is the same ones he reads. I love this set. Recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine
This set provides a classical, Charlotte Mason, and very high quality approach to reading. I have used it for 2 years, and I highly recommend it. It comes with a speller, so you could actually use this set for reading, spelling, vocabulary, and as a great source for copy work. It has prose and poetry selections, moral stories, nature stories, and more. The reading selections do have questions at the end,and are full of areas for discussion. The parent guide is helpful with suggestions by lesson. The readers do not go by grade, but have general recommendations in the parent guide about what reading level the child is at and which reader(s) correspond to that (e.g., primers are for decoding stage/phonics, 1st reader and part of second are for fluency, 2nd and 3rd are for information reading stage, and 4th reader is for advanced comprehension / high school level.) So, this set goes a long way for your money! My daughter started the 2nd reader in 3rd grade, continued it in 4th grader with about 5 or 6 selections left. So in 5th grade she will finish off those, then start the 3rd reader. That 2nd reader starts out gently, but quickly ramps up into an impressive selection of readings. Her fluency and vocabulary went through the roof in that reader...it is not the kind of thing you want to rush through, you may miss the bountiful benefits it has to offer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Proyecto Latino
The first 3 books of this set have offered an easier approach for my beginning level students. I use them to teach ESL.We are barely starting to ude them, but I am sure they wil be a raving success.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Original McGuffey's Eclectic Reading Series, Boxed Set with Teacher's Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill
My children are thoroughly enjoying this box collection! I only wish we had found it sooner so we could have started from the very beginning. The reading lessons not only teach the children rules of grammar and spelling, they also teach character. The stories contain simple rules from the days of old that help with life today. (i.e. a place for everything and everything in its place) Children will learn intelligible words to use in everyday conversations. I highly recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.