Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Zondervan One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Discover a way of seeing that opens your eyes to everyday amazing grace, a way of living that is fully alive, and a way of experiencing the constant presence of God that will bring you deep and lasting joy. There is purity in simplicity and a breathtaking beauty that can be found even in life's slightest details and heartbreaking moments. Ann Voskamp welcomes you in to explore her grace-bathed life of farming, parenting, and writing, and encourages you to live a life filled with gratitude, no matter where you are. Softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (225 reviews)
5 stars
200
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
7
211 out of 22594%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Review 1 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth a Thousand Reads!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Onion Workshop
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I purchased this book for friends and family. It was given to me at a time in my life when I needed it most and it has changed my life!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rocko
Location:Littleton, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The writer expresses excellent elements to deepen our spiritual maturity. There is much to contemplate and focus in our daily walk with God.
I call this book a "spiritual tune up." Wonderful reading from beginning to end.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
djff
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easily the most life changing book I have ever read, it makes me think differently about everything. Cannot recommend it highly enough, God will use Ann to reach and change man of His children.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Now in my careful, patient second reading

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bro Jonathan
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And, I just don't do that as a rule. This precious woman shares he SEEING in words perfectly expressing the heart of God and this author as direct injections of life enhancing medicine to the heart of her meditative reader. Nothing 'spooky' here - just LIFE, His life. I defy you to study this book and not come away a fundamentally thankful and joyful person - with understanding. She is beautiful! Sometimes, I cannot read more than a paragraph in a day, because I must carry her heart for Truth in my own with meditative purpose. My wife and I are both more thankful and joyful people through this dear woman's intimate sharing of her love for Christ. We've bought many as gifts. Be sure to select CBD Stock No: WW334859 - worth the price for the tastefully elegant binding. A treasure of a book!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to all women. Ann Voskamp writes as though she's sitting in your living room, speaking directly to you. Her writing is personal, thought provoking, and life changing. As soon as I finished this book I began thinking of family/friends I could recommend read it also!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I gave as gifts after I was given a copy.

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judi
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author has a way of saying things from a different perspective, and opens your heart to seeing things from spiritual eyes as well as an everyday event. You begin to recognize things you take for granted as wonderful gifts from God to be cherished. We are so blessed, and focusing on those blessings brings out the best in ourselves by the Grace of God.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A life transforming book!

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
kayleegirl
Location:Carmichael, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann writes poetically, even lyrically, but gets right to the heart of matters. She gripped my soul with the very first chapter. This book transformed my relationship with my Lord. I understand his loving provision and care more deeply than before. The phrase I took away from this book is, "God is always good, and I am ALWAYS loved."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lifechanging

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
sallyj
Location:Adams Center, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike any book I've ever read. Truly lifechanging.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
focused
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Beautifully written in prose, but more worthy of poetry category
this book makes you think and be thankful and I will read it again and again and bought numerous copies for gifts
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pauls wife
Location:Twin Falls, Id.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so thankful that I found this book! I enjoy the way Ann expresses herself...
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
jayannjackson
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent read -- causes one to examine their personal relationship with Christ - you WILL "reread" this over the years.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshinly beautiful

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Riverside, CA 92506
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply exquisite story telling and descriptive language. Inspired to keep a journal of gratitude. Giving as a Christmas gift along with journals-24 sets.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book will change your perspective.

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seasoned Sister
Location:Alaska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered three copies and shared two with friends.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Richellelee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful book! It was beautifully written...so much of it was very spiritually rich. I plan to re-read it in the future to glean more from it's contents.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this book!

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of three that I have read and will re-read periodically. After the 4th chapter, I ordered two more copies to give to my pastor and his wife. Then I ordered 4 more copies to give to some more friends for early "Christmas" presents. I asked my pastor what he thought of the book and he said it is one of the best books he's read...I also agree! Anyone buying this will not be disappointed. Read it outloud...it has a deeper impact.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ann Voskamp writes like all of us wish we could!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Culpeper, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most beautifully done video teaching sessions I have ever seen! And totally faithful to this amazing book which has changed my life. Each time I read it, each time I write down a gift on my list to be thankful for, I realize God led me to this study and at just the perfect time for me. You need to read and re-read these lovely phrases and emotionally uplifting thoughts. Ann Voskamp writes like all of us wish we could! With depth and passion for God, but in memorable and touching words that flow deep and stay there. A grace-filled book and absolutely beautiful study!! Do another, Ann!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is life changing

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
alida
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book leads you thru a process that turns your attention to the Living God and makes you appreciate the greatness of His gift of Salvation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very thought-provoking book on thankfulness

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bsweet
Location:Waterford MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I´m not done with it yet. The author has a bit of an
off-putting style (for me) but great content overall. Thanks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saskia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good book I really enjoy it I could read it more then once
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Blessing

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dramaroom
Location:Stony Plain, AB, Cdn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing way to look at the blessings of our good God. The language is a little "flowery", which is a bit hard to adjust to in the beginning, but if you can keep on reading, the message is life-changing. Thank you, Ann
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...12Next >>>