Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine

Zondervan Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine

Wayne Grudem's Systematic Theology is now available in paperback. The Christian church has a long tradition of systematic theology, that is, studying theology and doctrine organized around fairly standard categories such as the Word of God, redemption, and Jesus Christ. This introductory textbook on systematic theology has several distinctive features:
  • A strong emphasis on the scriptural basis for each doctrine and teaching
  • Clear writing, with technical terms kept to a minimum
  • A contemporary approach, treating subjects of special interest to the church today
  • A friendly tone, appealing to the emotions and the spirit as well as the intellect
  • Questions for personal application at the end of each chapter
  • Resources for worship with each topic
  • Bibliographies with each chapter that cross-reference subjects to a wide range of other systematic theologies


Average Customer Rating:
4.796 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
57 out of 5997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Review 1 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Theological Bridge

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick Ayers
Location:Batavia, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book provides an excellent and trust-worthy theological bridge for discouraged Charismatics to investigate Calvinism and the Reformed faith. I expect it to be crossed by many weary sojourners for years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:New Jersey
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book because of its completeness. You can get a great Biblical summary of every topic of scripture. It has really helped to support me in the defense of my own theological views. Grudem presents Calvinism in an extremely logical, sensible, and Scriptural fashion. This book is a must have for any believer!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crystal clear, and easy-to-read

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
AR Reid
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been diligently studying Wayne Grudem's "Systematic Theology" for several years, and I still stand in awe of its crystal clarity. Much like R.C. Sproul, Grudem has a gift for making difficult concepts easy to understand for all of us non-specialists.
Theologically, this work follows the Protestant Reformers (i.e., Calvinism) on almost every page except, for example, in such areas as six-day creation, infant baptism, and spiritual gifts, where Grudem deviates from the long line of theological giants from church history. These deviations, however, should not deter one from buying this book and studying Grudem's arguments in those areas. I, for one, have found those chapters not only challenging, but very insightful. And, after thinking hard about what Grudem says in those chapters, I've often found myself wondering if he's not right.
As a pastor, if I could own just one systematic theology, Grudem's would certainly be it. Buy it with confidence, find a quiet place to sit and study it, and be prepared to have your mind stimulated, your heart stirred, and your God exalted. Happy reading.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
vmathews
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent review for anyone seeking to enhance their understanding of Scripture. Grudem synthesizes some of the major arguments on various doctrines of the Christian faith. This serves the reader by making it easy to consume. Every student of the Bible should have a copy of Grudem's Systematic Theology.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an outstanding book.

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronnie
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must have book for the serious student of the word. The authur makes the subject of theology comprehensive and yet so practical.
I have waited a while to make this purchase because I just didn't have the available resources, but when I saw the sale I quickly made the purchase.
If you are building your biblical library, you must make this book a part of it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scott
Location:New Albany, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this resource to anyone wishing to gain greater knowledge about many Biblical principals.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book had everything that you need to know!!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
WordOfGod2013
Location:Perth, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had everything that you need to know about Theology. I am a Bible College student going for Biblical Theology, who orders from Christianbook.com for my studies. I like this book a lot. It has helped me in my studies for Theology. I love the way they separated the different subjects and they wrote the book for me to understand the different ways of Theology. Basically they put it in plain English for me to understand it more clearly. Thank you for such a great book!! God Bless!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrannyJ
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 'go to' reference guide when I need to understand something more clearly or where to find a biblical source for a subject. While I can't say I agree with everything in it, it has been a great help for me in studying the Bible. I purchased this one to give as a gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacqi
Location:michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book!! it is wonderful for those of every level of growth in the faith. helps build that firm foundation and helps strengthen that foudation on Christ!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value, size and format is perfect!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave Kehler
Location:Steinbach, Manitoba Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just a resource book, although it is that. I highly recommend reading this entire work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter j
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read and at the same time a detailed explanation of the various viewpoints of biblical scholars. I haven't changed any of my positions since reading this book, but I have shifted into a more biblical stance on some and have grown in knowledge and understanding in others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has detailed explination of theology

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Soccer49
Location:Kingsburg, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a treasured resource on all topics of theology.
As the title suggests, the author systematically explains theology from all protectiveness concluding with his own opinion. God has given this man great insight and the ability to communicate his understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Systematic Theology

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy
Location:Concord, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many Systematic Theology's books on the market that fits anyone fancy, or religion. As many know, if your theology is wrong, your doctrine is wrong, because doctrine is based on theology. I have four or five theology books for comparison. My all time favorite is Wayne Grudem's Systematic Theology. For this reason I ordered his Introduction to Doctrine. His books are clear and concise, easy to read and understand. His books have cleared my mind of many questions. To become better equip in the knowledge of God, there are no better books to own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
nana ama
Location:spain
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the information is accurate and updated, quiet enough for personal study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Complete and understandable

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonja
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This very in-depth book has 57 chapters on Scripture, God Himself, Christ, man, redemption, the Church, and the Future. You don't have to be a Theologian to understand it. The print is a decent size. My husband enjoys just reading through it for better over-all understanding and it is a good reference book for the classes I teach. I find Wayne Grudem to be a great writer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The is one of the best introductory systematics. Wayne has a knack for simplifying Bible truths without diluting them. Not only can this systematic be used in the classroom, it can also be used for ones devotion. He applies Biblical truth throughout the book. Though I don't personally agree with some of his positions, I still highly recommend this work.
God bless
Kali
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth the money spent.

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DHerson1971
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grudem's Systematic Theology is well worth the money spent. He does a good job in most areas he covers. The chapter on creation was not an accurate biblical presentation. Likewise, his chapter on tongues and prophecy needs a little work. Other than these two problematic areas I recommend it find its way into all theologians library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for lay people to study Theology

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Woodbury, Mn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book for the serious person wanting to study Theology and learn about all the basic tenants of our faith. Written for the average person to be able to read and understand the roots of our faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy reading, good explanations

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Colleen Millman
Location:Brick, NJ
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using the text for a weekly study. It is very reader friendly and well grouned in scripture.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

One Perspective

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimm
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Grudem's systematic theology tome presents a Reformed perspective on the essential doctrines of the Christian faith. I recommend Millard Erickson's "Christian Theology" instead of Grudem's ST. Erickson includes multiple perspectives and positions from different church traditions before presenting the position he thinks is most true to scripture. Plus he explores the philosophical underpinnings of thought in great depth. Erickson is more academically oriented, but well within the reach of anyone looking to delve into these essential -ologies.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.