Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised

Tyndale House Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised

Find out what makes you tick. Who are you and why do you do the things you do? We are all born with a particular type of temperament with distinct strengths and weaknesses. In Spirit-Controlled Temperament, Dr. Tim LaHaye shows us how God can transform your natural weaknesses and make you a dynamic and effective Christian. Whether you are a Sanguine, Choleric, Melancholy, or Phlegmatic, you can learn how to live above anger, fear, depression, and selfishness.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Review 1 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good!

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aubert Rose
Location:Benton, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read the first edition years ago and was glad to get this new one and read it too! It helped me and my wife to understand ourselves and each other much better and brought greater harmony to our marriage!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most personally enlighting book ever!!!!!

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
HJKENYA
Location:Nairobi, Kenya
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has proved to be the best personal enlighting book I have ever studied. It helped me understand myself and other people so much better. It has even made me become a better manager, sister and overall learned to deal with myself and with other people.
This book also helped me learn my strengths - these I am now capitalising on and my weaknesses- which I am now working to strengthen. It has also helped me know which people I can work with most easily and most effeciently and which type of people I can assign to certain tasks.
Overall this book should be read on a regular basis, as a guide or script for day to day life
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read with biblical application

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tim LaHaye does a great job defining the different temperaments and giving Biblical examples of each. The strengths and weaknesses are given to show how the Holy Spirit can help each of us overcome the way we were created.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book really helped me.

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glen
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really helped me understand more about my strengths & weaknesses, and how to recognize them. More importantly, it has helped me understand how to really engage in the Holy Spirit. By strengthening my relationship with the Holy Spirit, I am confident I'll make some life changes and grow spiritually.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Kniskern
Excellent book we give them away and use in teaching about gifts and temperaments. The book helps people understand themselves and people in their lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelli Woods
I have read this book over and over for years.I am a biblical counselor and I recommend it to all of my counselees.The Spirit Controlled Temperament does an excellent job at helping us with a greater understanding of why we act the way we do.In understanding temperament strengths and weaknesses whether you are Melancholy,Choleric,Sanguine or phlegmatic it helps you to understand yourself better as well as those you come in contact with on a consistent basis.I encourage anyone who deals with people on a regular basis to purchase this book. It will open your eyes to what makes peolpe act the way they do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
EXCELLENT Book, I love this book and changed my life. MUST HAVE book not only to improve your strengths and OVERCOME your weaknesses (anger, fear, etc.), but improve relationships with others. Especially A MUST for those whose life verse is Gal. 5:22-23, Fruit of the Spirit. Basic message of book: God gave Christians the Holy Spirit to improve natural strengths and overcome our weaknesses as we cooperate with him (to effect lasting change in our life). Next to the Bible, this is my second most favorite book and I have LOTS of books. Oh, ever notice how (sometimes) wse can be more of a Christian outside the home, than at home. Well, this brings it to where you should be a Christian first, AT HOME. The rest all falls into place.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betty Rogers
This book is biblically grounded. It is not psycological junk. It is a tool not a means. It does not suggest its information replace the Holy Spirit in your life or how to deal with your weaknesses. It helps you understand yourself and others and thus live more fully by God's power and pray for others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2001
Customer Avatar
Doug
This is a very interesting book that helps you understand your own personality. It identifies what your potential strengths and weaknesses are and shows you how the Holy Spirit can transform your individual temperment into one that God can use for His glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spirit Controlled Temperament, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2000
Customer Avatar
Cyndi
This book changed my life as I allowed the knowledge of how God designed and made me to control my life. This book describes various personalities and temperments. It allows you the opportunity to clearly evauate your own strengths and weekness's so that you are able to understand how you function and why you do things different from lets say your brother, mom, or even husband. I was able to recognize my own personality traights and figure out the best way to grow spiritually and emotionally. I was also able to understand my husband in a new light and am much more able to allow him the freedom to be different than myself and love him all the more for it.The information in this book is so valuable. I recommend it to any and all personalities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.