Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne Shadow of the Almighty

HarperOne Shadow of the Almighty

This beautifully written and moving memoir of the martyrdom of Jim Elliot and four other missionaries at the hands of the Auca Indians in Ecuador has inspired Christians since its first publication in 1958. Elisabeth Elliot makes full use of Jim's revealing diaries to fill in the details of a life "hid with Christ in God." Her portrait of a man who was utterly committed is a timeless testament to the mercy and majesty of the Almighty.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadow of the Almighty
Review 1 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is inspiring, soul stirring, and demonstrates a great example of the life of commitment and devotion we as Christians are to live for our King. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brent Zimmerman
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far one of the best, if not the best, Christian biographies I have ever read. Jim Elliot was a real man of God. His life was a testament to his faith in Christ. This was an amazing book. I couldn't put it down. I have begun to read it for the second time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worthwhile to read about this extraodinary life.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Titus Caraway
Location:Delco, Nc
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent account of Jim Elliot's life being it is from his own journal and the experiences his wife, Elisabeth, and he had together. It is not over dramatized, it is a
simplistic account of a man that loved the Lord Jesus with all his heart and was willing to pay the supreme price for his obedience to his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. This is a heart moving biography of a child of God and his short life with his wife and daughter. This is truly an inspirational read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Johnson
Very good read. A heart stirring reality check for Christians in America. Elliot died to self, lived unto Christ. He didn't die in Ecuador. He died some years before that. It was Christ living through him. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin S. Smith
A must-read for all Christians, especially young men at the crossroads of life trying to find the path that leads to a life of eternal significance. It will change your life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
Shaun Price
An excellent book for both men and women. Jim was truly a man seeking God and is one of my heroes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
Steve Corbin
A classic work of a life abadoned to God. I have never read a biography that so stimulated my thinking. In an age when so much teaching focuses on what we can gain, here in these pages is the heart of a man who was willing to loose all that he might gain and proclaim Christ. Even if that meant laying down his own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadow of the Almighty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2000
Customer Avatar
Justin Childers
This book is a must for everyone who wants to experience God more deeply! Here is your chance to sit with Jim Elliot and to see the struggle, suffering, and sweetness of this great saint. "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot loose."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.